Adt Security
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Mar 10, 2012
Position
Small business sales rep
Work Dates
Oct 2011 - Jan 2012
Location
Chatsworth, CA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Huge hassle to get hired, manager lied to me and told me that if I accepted the job offer that they would be "giving me my own business" to run. This of course was a lie since they do not have any protected territories and were in fact selling systems in my town while I was trying to get trained. Getting trained was a total and complete JOKE.... Training consisted of being sat down in front of a computer to do "modules" prior to being sent to some place called the ADT University. Manager stated that I would need to come back to the "home" office one time for training and that he would be able to finish my training over the phone. That was an outright lie, he NEVER offered to do any training of me over the phone, and in fact the office territory was split up and they brought in another "manager from the fresno office to take over half of the reps. This manager proceeded to tell me I needed to get on the phone and start setting my own appointments, no training was given on how to do that either-of course when I started trying to make calls people were all telling me to pound sand. Then of course every day at 4:15pm the reps were made to call into a conf call where we were badgered by the manager as to "whattttaya got for me" may God have mercy on your soul if you didnt meet your quota of appointments or sales because you would be made to feel useless on this call in front of all your coworkers.

Finally after being left to sink or swim on my own I got called by this joke of a company and told that the only way that they were going to be able to complete my training was to drive 175 miles each way-two days a week to the main office and then 175 miles round trip one day a week to the field office in santa barbara to complete my training and be sent to the almighty ADT University. I was told if I would not agree to this that they were going to fire me for being insubordinate lol lol lol lol lol. I resigned and moved on and would highly recommend that you do yourself a favor and not waste your time going to work for this joke of a company.

Pay

Chances are you will make more money selling ice cubes to eskimos than working for these clowns

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 4, 2011
Position
Residential Sales Representative
Work Dates
Dec 2008 - Feb 2011
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure,

Review

Pros:
Good benefits

Cons:
Very deceptive in the interview process; you will not know the true requirements of the job until a few weeks after you start. Astronomical turnover. You will be a number, not a person. Very unrealistic sales goals. Product is extremely overpriced. If a customer is allowed to shop around they will almost certainly choose another company, which means you will have to put tons of pressure on the customer to close the sale on the first visit, and virtually nobody likes to make snap decisions like that. Managers tend to be unintelligent and cold. If you do not produce 1 self-generated sale per week you will be cut off from company leads. It sounds easy enough to produce one sale on your own each week but it is not. Every single person that works in this role struggles with generating their own sales. Roughly 10% of the sales force achieves their goal on a monthly basis, far fewer on a yearly basis. Pressure from above is immense. Sales reps are actually at the bottom of the ladder throughout the company, despite the fact that by ADT's own admission new sales are what keeps the company afloat; it isn't enough to rely on your existing customer base in this industry. You must always generate new customers, hence the importance of the sales department. Despite this, sales reps are treated with the least respect of any employee. There number of policies - both written and UNwritten - is mind boggling. If a particular address has ever had an ADT system in it in the past, or even a system installed by another company that ADT bought out years ago, any sale at this residence will NOT count as a self-generated sale. You prospected the customer, YOU sold to them, they DID NOT call ADT security, and you do not get credit for the self-generated sale. Instead they call this a "resale" and you get cheated out of pay and out of eligibility to receive leads from the company. This is a truly awful job. Run as fast as you can in the other direction.

Pay

Pay expectations are almost accurate - IF you meet ADT's ridiculous quotas. Vacation pay is a joke. Gas reimbursement is not terrible, but they're planning on changing (decreasing) that soon.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 22, 2012
Position
Small Business Sales Rep
Work Dates
Mar 2012 - Mar 2012
Review

Every company has their pros and cons and working for ADT has been an up and down rollercoaster but I enjoy working for them. Corporate America has its bureaucrats but in the end it is what you make of it. I have flexible hours and can take vacation when I want. I have put my time in and am reaping the benefits financially. Most people don't understand that this is not a 9 to 5 job. To be successful you have to put in the time and hours and most importantly be good at sales. I am in the top 1% of the company and just came back from a company paid awards sales trip in the Bahamas. Most people don't like the company because they fail and are not good at sales.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No