American Management Services
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Aug 20, 2009
Position
Field Services Manager
Work Dates
Jul 2009 - Aug 2009
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Unprofessional,

Review

Pay-Straight commission. Company's practices make it very difficult to earn commissions. Employees are required to pay all expenses up front for training in Orlando offices. Reimbursement takes up to a month, IF employee makes it through training! I learned that they have ongoing (monthly/weekly) training, as so few survive. Although company has been in business since 1986, at the time I was in training, they had 5, that's right 5 in 23 years, Field Services Managers working successfully. Training classes, incidentally, include anywhere from 5-15 unsuspecting new hires!

Benefits are not offered until 6 months. I couldn't understand why they didn't want to review benefits in training, until I learned that they don't expect anyone to make it through training, let alone 6 months!
Job security: A joke!

The whole business philosophy and therefore training and M.O. is based in the belief that buyers are liars and so, you must be a craftier liar (through evasion, deception and outright lying) to be successful. Pre-set appointments (made by an in house telemarketing staff) are based on confusion, at best, and outright deception, at worst. Prospects are overwhelmingly confused about the purpose of supposedly "pre-qualified" appointments. More often, they're so pissed off about feeling misled; they're not receptive to any conversation, let alone presentation.

Respect- Uh, where do I begin? Management seems unable to convey a thought without the most foul of expletives, belittles employees in front of other staff, has absolutely NO interest in hearing ideas, input of feedback from employees (in fact, attempting such seems to be a main reason for dismissal).

Work/Life Balance- Plan on waking up at 5am to begin driving to 8am appts. that are scheduled hours away from home. Plan to receive next day's appointments (which require company research, mapping for directions/not provided and other details)and doing various paperwork until 8 or 9 pm!

Career Potential/Growth-Seems they have about a 99% attrition rate. To make it through the training is a major career accomplishment.

Location is good, if you enjoy working from home or in the field with little supervision, other than calls/emails/reports. You will NOT spend time at home, other that to collapse in exhaustion after a 15 hour day.

Coworker competence-Staff is very cordial, much like children in an abusive home environment. My negative rating is based on senior management, which is unprofessional in the extreme.

Work environment- Again, negative, fearful, unsupportive, and unprofessional. If you enjoy being cussed out, hung up on, belittled and stressed to the point of a breakdown, this may be the job for you.

My comments are based not only on my own experience, but on what I observed in virtually every interaction around me. A fellow-trainee, a male in his 40s, was reduced to tears describing his level of stress to me during the training. Another co-worker called me and said he couldn't handle another negative appointment, caused by the lying telemarketers.

I am awaiting reimbursement for out of pocket expenses (just those I am being reimbursed for are nearly $1000) for nearly 30 days. In addition, I spent nearly another $1000 on requisite expenses for which I will not be reimbursed!

There are 5 people out of 100s or possibly 1000s who have survived and are still working as Field Sales Managers. So, apparently it's a job for someone.

In closing I would like to add that prior to accepting this position, I have worked as a consultant to dozens of companies of all sizes, revenues and in myriad industries for over a decade. I have NEVER seen anything as professionally appalling in all those years or in years of corporate sales prior.

Pay

Straight commission, very, very difficult to make a dime! I have been a top-producer in sales/sales management throughout my career. Very difficult to get reimbursed for the expenses incurred during training. No one is expected to survive the job for any duration, so benefits aren't even explained in hiring or training process.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 28, 2012
Position
Inside Sales
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Unprofessional,

Review

I lasted longer than everyone else in my training class and I only lasted a few months. The other review is spot on! If you work there for more than 3 months, you'll be the last one in your class too. They have classes that run back to back for both - inside sales and outside sales - continuously because no one wants to work there once they're suckered in. But that's not the worst of it. The last check they wrote me bounced. Yes, it bounced! AND I know for a fact that mine was not the only one. If you read George's book, you shouldn't be surprised - it's all about cheating the other guy so that you can make money. I should've guessed it would happen but I didn't think anyone could be that shady. I was mistaken. I guess their point in letting the checks bounce is that if we don't come after them for it, they only owe their bank the overdraft fee. Who knows what they're thinking? Not me.

My story is too long to tell it all - and too irritating to want to repeat - but suffice to say that it was a sad and disheartening experience. You owe it to yourself NOT to work for them. You'll regret it.

Pay

Pro's: The co-workers are nice.
Con's: Don't expect to make any money. They'll cheat you if they can. All the paperwork you sign is NOT to protect you. It's to make sure that anytime they cheat you out of what they should be paying you, they can legally do so. Go check out George's book at the library & then ask yourself, "What would it be like to work for a guy like this?" That should give you a fairly accurate idea.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 30, 2015
Position
Inside Sales
Work Dates
Jan 2015 - Mar 2015
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Flexible schedule, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I had resigned due to not making my quota because the leads are at least 20 years old. It's nearly impossible to set an appointment. When you go for the interview they promise $14.00 an hour and you receive that for about 3 weeks. When you do not make your quota they drop your pay to $8.05 an hour. I live 50 miles away and it's not cost effective for me to drive 100 miles per day for $8.05 per hour. I went to get my last check after I resigned and one of the managers asked me why I resigned and I told him because of the pay rate drop. He tells me that if I come back I will receive the $14.00 an hour so I agreed to come back. At the end of the week the manager told me that they were letting me go. I go to pick up my check on that following Friday and my pay rate was $8.05. This company is very shady and a revolving door. Do not waste your time, it's impossible to set appointments due to the leads being nearly 10 years old. 15% of the people you ask for have passed away etc. I once asked management why we cannot get new leads and he stated the owner of the company didn't want to spend any more money!!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 15, 2015
Position
sales
Work Dates
Sep 2014 - Mar 2015
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Cut-throat, old-fashioned, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

All of the other reviews are spot on. The management here could care less about employees or people in general. Employees are made fun of right in front of peers. Total disrespect. Training is a joke and boring. The 3-5 days of training could be completed in 1 day. When I started they even changed the training days and times. I got different times from 2 different management people. Massive disorganization.

They also want us to use wise butt remarks to people we call on. If the gatekeeper gives us a hard time, we are told to give them a hard time back and even insult them. If they say we heard you are a scam, we are supposed to say we heard the same about you. If they say we never heard of you, we are supposed to say we never heard of you either. If they say where did you get our name we are told to say from chamber of commerce or some other b.s. thing. They bought a list.

When we call we are supposed to lie and tell the gatekeeper that we are returning their call. That we are a friend. It sounded important etc. Total lie. If the dm is in a meeting, we are told to call him out of the meeting this is more important, it is urgent and we are calling long distance. Needless to say, clients are not too happy with us when they come out of the meeting and realize they don't know us, never heard of us and have no interest in our services and are missing out on a important directors meeting or whatever.

LEADS are old. Like 10 to 15 years old at least. They have been called over and over and many were former clients who were very unhappy or agreed to a prior meeting and saw through the crap. Getting appointments is very difficult.

About 99.9999% of hires quit in frustration. It is not a lucrative position. At best you will be making barely above minimum wage. There is also a disparity in what they promise to pay and what you get. They advertise $15 a hour. When you start you are told it is only $12 and when you get your check it turns out to be only $8 an hour.

The big commissions are just a myth. Either as a appointment setter or outside sales rep (RD) the pay is abysmal. Oh, they promise benefits but will never see them. And even if you do, they are nothing to get excited about.

Pay

They promised $15 in their ads, then said it was $12 in training actually turned out to be $8. Wasn't there long enough to get a vacation. Qualified for bonuses and commissions but never received them.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No