costco
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Jan 18, 2008
Position
Supervisor
Work Dates
May 2004 - Jan 2008
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Open-door, team-oriented,

Review

Pros: Very high pay compared to other retailers, great benefits, closed on holidays, you can transfer around the world , company is growing quickly so there are many chances to move up.

Cons: Constantly changing work schedule and you will be worked very hard.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 12, 2008
Position
Information Technology Analyst
Work Dates
Jun 2003 - Jun 2007
Location
Issaquah, WA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Coscto IT is full of incompetent individual who are unable to find a job elsewhere. So they settle for far below market rate pay. The politics have some people become outcasts due to politics, while manager favorites get away with everything.
Rampant discrimination against minorities from white managers. Favorites are often promoted with no merit and the jobs are not announced. One manager was promoted after returning from a 6-month medical leave of absence. Prior to that she has worked for a few months and just passed her probationary period. The icompentenet managers find scapegoats to blame for project disasters.

Pay

Your bonus is a frozen turkey for Christmas. Salary is low. raises are barely cost of living.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 12, 2008
Position
Information Technology Analyst
Work Dates
Jun 2003 - Jun 2007
Location
Issaquah, WA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Coscto IT is full of incompetent individual who are unable to find a job elsewhere. So they settle for far below market rate pay. The politics have some people become outcasts due to politics, while manager favorites get away with everything.
Favorites are often promoted with no merit and the jobs are not announced. One manager was promoted after returning from a 6-month medical leave of absence. Prior to that she has worked for a few months and just passed her probationary period. The icompentenet managers find scapegoats to blame for project disasters.

Pay

Your bonus is a frozen turkey for Christmas. Salary is low. raises are barely cost of living.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 16, 2010
Position
IT Analyst
Work Dates
Mar 2005 - Jul 2009
Location
Issaquah, WA
Work Environment

Political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Costco although on the outside has a reputation of being family friendly, with nice people working there. That was not the case. The managers try to cover up race and sexual harassment complaints. The IS Division has had multiple EEOC complaints for race discrimination and sexual harassment retaliation. They lie to the EEOC, attorneys and coherce witnesses to lie to keep their jobs.

Pay

Nothing good but a steady paycheck. Worse place for race discrimination

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 15, 2011
Position
Cashier Assistant
Location
Brandon, FL
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, supportive, fast-paced,

Review

First of all, I will say that the position I had was really hard work. However, I love this company because they pay their employees real wages, and they really reward loyalty. Some of the women I assisted for had been there for 10+ years and were making great money for retail ($20/hr). I knew a woman who worked at Oreilly auto parts for 20 years and still makes less than $10. I know this sounds corny, but I really liked how much they focused on the customer. I really grew to love my coworkers, even my supervisors and managers. Everybody was really down-to-earth and didn't have a happy face plastered on just because that was expected. I'm not saying this place was perfect.. there were some management issues and I had issues where they worked me way too much even when I asked them to cut back my hours because I was going to school full time. That was my biggest issue.

Pay

$11/hr and increased 25 cents after probationary period. Time and a half on Sundays and holidays. Automatic enrollment in benefits after 6 months.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 3, 2011
Position
Assist/cash
Work Dates
May 2011 - Aug 2011
Location
Toronto, Canada
Review

Pros: many opportunities for growth with hard work and a great attitude

Cons:Physically challenging but you get fit in the process

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 23, 2012
Position
Stocker
Work Dates
Jan 2009 - Dec -0001
Location
Charlotte, NC
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Pros: Cool co-workers
lots of excercise (keeps my fat butt in shape :)
Opportunities to move up if you pursue them

Cons: Hours can stink and you can expect to have no energy after work

Pay

Free membership and great starting pay $10-12 per hour.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 8, 2012
Position
Merchandising Manager
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Pros: Outstanding benefits. Above average pay.

Cons: The job requires lots of manual labor - expect to be worn out!

Pay

Salary in the low 50s

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 24, 2012
Position
Stocker
Location
San Antonio, TX
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Okay so don't get me wrong, Costco isn't some horrible place but some people think it's retail heaven on earth. Guess what? It's not! Scheduling is a mess and benefits for part timers are atrocious. Having a life outside of work is practically impossible when you can't schedule a day off.

There are some pros such as free membership, decent pay, and low maintenance customers.

Pay

$14.00 per hour

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 1, 2012
Position
Stocker
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
Manchester, MO
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

The pay is decent for the job. The bulk of the management has very little education. And no respect for the workers. They may schedule you to be in at 5am for several months and then with no notice they may schedule to work nights. And youre always expected to be available around the clock. Our managers like to pretend that they run around saving babies all day. If you have any other employment prospects do not work at Costco. It sucks.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 22, 2013
Position
Cashier Assistant
Work Dates
Jan 2005 - Jan 2013
Location
Toronto, Canada
Review

Personally, I'm at the top rate which $21.85 for my position which isn't bad.
Also, when I'm on cash they add an addition $2. Therefore, you're making just under $24 an hour. Furthermore, Sunday pay adds $4 an hour plus regular pay which comes to 26-28 an hour which is good.

Overall, i'd say the work environment and people are ok, but there are plenty of other opportunities out there where you can make even more.

Total salary with bonus's are roughly $48,000 / yr
cashiers > $51,000 / yr

ps. hope this helps.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 26, 2013
Position
general
Work Dates
Jun 1993 - Feb 2013
Location
Boise, ID
Review

This is a very good job. Hard at times, but there are a lot of opportunities for those that seek it. It is difficult to get on as few leave. Good wages and some wonderful people to work with. Great combination!

Pay

Topped out at over $20 per hours. Sunday pay is time and a half. 5 weeks vacation and 9 personal days with my tenure. I also get 2 extra checks each year, they used to be called bonuses.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 26, 2013
Position
Wrapper in bakery
Work Dates
Oct 2008 - May 2013
Location
Tucson, AZ
Work Environment

Casual, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, entrepreneurial, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure,

Review

I started during the Thanksgiving holiday in the bakery and it was CRAZY but being that I was trained to cook in the military, it's not that bad...but be prepared to be sore, tired, and completely worn out after your shift. I was hired on after the season was over as a perm part-time and have the benefits which are great...I deployed to the Middle East and kept in constant contact giving them my orders and was injured so I was unable to return to duty for 4 years while my medical board adjourned. They held my position and even increased my pay while I was gone! This IS a great place to work!

Pay

I earn $14/hr in the bakery which compared to other retail jobs is quite well!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 29, 2014
Work Dates
May 2013 - May 2014
Location
Redwood City, CA
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, disorganized,

Review

Starting out at Costco is very hard if u have a life.you will not get sat and sunday off in a row. you could or will be called to work at 5am and 2 pm the same week.
many stockers have left because they start work at 4am for very low pay.
If u can hang out for 10 years u could be making $20 a hour and could have
better work hours.It could take years i guess before thing could get better.

Pay

Very good medical coverage union to back u up i guess

crazy hours very hard to get a day off u want from the Managers
Alot of union rules

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 7, 2014
Position
Stocker
Work Dates
Sep 2012 - Jul 2014
Location
Union, NJ
Work Environment

Disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

If u want your hair to turn white his is the job for u.only the lazy move up so if u suck at life this is the job for u.

Pay

Nothing good! takes more then ten year for $20 unless ur full time but to get full time u have to work five to ten year so if u have time go for it

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 12, 2014
Position
Supervisor
Work Dates
Sep 2012 - Sep 2014
Work Environment

Strict, creative, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, high-pressure,

Review

If you enjoy working in fast paced, high pressure situations daily, then Costco Wholesale may be for you! A true American company which thrives on its merchandising. No day is typically the same. You will hear the phrase Clean, Neat and Straight which means Attention To Detail. This is not a "grocery store". Through hard work and consistency management positions arise, especially with the expansions going on.

At times hard work goes unnoticed. Most likely you will work weekends. May not get the hours you would like to work.

Pay

Started at 11.25. No vacation the first year. Vacation is usually the amount of hours you averaged per week for your first round of vacation. Currently a supervisor at 23.5/hour plus time and a half on sundays. You are allowed the opportunity for overtime at times. 2 weeks vacation. 72 hours of sick/personal which you may choose to cash out on at the end of the year.. Excellent benefits. Eligible for benefits at 6 months ( obviously passing 90 days probation) Bonuses once a certain time has been reached.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 8, 2014
Position
stocker
Work Dates
Oct 2014 - Dec 2014
Location
San Diego, CA
Review

The great part is that you can make some good friends and people with awesome soft skills. However managers they quick to blame and take your credit. Yes, it sucks hours sucks because its retail, they don't care if you go to school or have a degree or anything like that. There are some cases of EEOC violation also some OSHA that involves with hazardous waste and environmental concerns. They express that everyone has a voice and team environment. Its not expect to cover your butt and get ready for a cut throat industry.

You have to either kiss up to move up. I believe this is where all the university students who really didn't study well in school have very sub par gpa go to; to become a dept manager. They tend not to hire people with talent or any soft skill under their belt.

Pay

I wouldn't work here I rather work at walmart since I did before. No vacation, no bonuses nothing. People stay there for a long periods of time because they have another income from a spouse or such to put up with crap. If you are single with kids beware and good luck. My advice if you decide to work at Costco, keep your mouth shut, do the work and go home don't try to make friends because they will rat you out to get ahead.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 31, 2015
Work Dates
Dec 2014 - Dec 2014
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, competitive, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I mean it. Especially if you are a college student, don't expect anyone there to care. They will not give you days off for classes and will overwork you to death.
You will never have weekends off unless you've worked there for 10+ years, and the ones that do get those weekends off are not willing to give them up.

The only pros I have are:
- Pay. For a student, the pay is better than a regular $7.50/hour job
- Benefits after your 90 days

Cons:
- Absolutely no free time. You will literally not see your family/friends.
- You have a 20/80 chance at getting time off requests. If more than three people are off that day, you will not get said day off.
- Awful management, very disorganized.
-Vacation time is non-existent. You get a week your first year but they gave no more than that after that.

Do not work here if you are a student. It's not worth the time or stress.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 16, 2015
Position
cashier
Work Dates
Mar 2002 - Mar 2015
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

This company looks great in the public eyes but is a lie. Management takes credit for everything good and blames employees for everything bad. unless you are related to someone in the company or really "in" with someone making advancement decisions you will never get beyond rank of entry level management. All good promotional opportunities are reserved for family. PERIOD. You will always feel as though you have a target on your back or are doing something wrong. The company does NOT back up its employees and will allow outlandish behavior towards them by shoppers. Unprofessional and uneducated management are rampant. Good pay and vacation after awhile. great benefits....but deal with a lot of stress, blame and favoritism. to voice an opinion or point out any shortcomings in any dept. is slitting your own throat. Robot employees are seeked after in this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 18, 2015
Position
Wireless Advocate
Work Dates
Apr 2015 - Aug 2015
Location
San Diego , CA
Review

The workers on the floor are making you money!
Stop cutting the commissions of those that labor to make this company what it is!

Don't cut our pay 30% unless you cut your pay by 30%

My commission was cut by 30% but I have exceeded my sale GDPs by more than 40% every month for the past three months.

Stop cutting our pay. Ok.

I'm not asking you !! I'm telling you. Stop it !!
Did you get that. Stop it. !

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No