Crate And Barrel
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Feb 11, 2008
Position
Corporate
Work Dates
Feb 2008 - Feb 2008
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Casual, creative,

Review

The work environment and corporate culture is great and so are most of the people who work here. But there seems to be an arrogance in the company in that they feel you should be privileged to work at Crate and Barrel, hence work for less $. Salary is usually lower than what their competitors pay. This lower pay extends all the way down to the workers on the sales floor. If you do a good job, you just might get that .50cent raise at the end of the year. But thats only if you get a 100% on your review which usually never happens.

I started on the sales floor and am now at the corporate office. Again my pay is slightly lower than what my counterparts make at other companies in the same industry in the area. I'm looking to jump ship as soon as I find something better. I guess we are all just fools working for love. If pay isn't a big issue for you and you want to work in a great environment then this is the place. Otherwise, don't expect to be paid a fair salary.

Pay

Benefits is average and maybe even a little on they stingy side based on my experience, although management will tell you its way above average.
No vacation for 6 months, then 5 days for your first year.
2 weeks (10 days) vacation on your second year.
8 sick days, which I'm sure people abuse
6 observed paid holidays
Medical / Dental
30% discount on merchandise (which is nice), this goes up to 40% after 5 years of service.
No tuition reimbursement programs.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 13, 2008
Position
Assistant Manager
Work Dates
Oct 2001 - Oct 2008
Location
Forest Park, GA
Work Environment

Casual, team-oriented,

Review

A great company to work for but you have to pay your dues. Moving up takes time. That's the Crate & Barrel way. Both Customers and employees love our products. Target market is well to do women and moms so if you like working with those types of customers you will like it here.

Pay

Huge discount...$39,000 per year salary.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 20, 2008
Position
Sales Associate
Work Dates
Sep 2006 - Mar 2008
Location
Dallas, TX
Work Environment

Political,

Review

Pros: Discount on the furniture

Cons: Unfortunately management has no idea what they are doing and you'll end up quitting soon. Low pay and crummy hours.

Pay

$9.00 per hour.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 7, 2010
Position
Lower Management
Work Dates
Feb 2008 - Sep 2010
Location
New York , NY
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, political, unprofessional,

Review

If your a loser you'd love werking for this company, they only promote there "click", which is usely unprofessional gay men, or senior citizens whom bring nothing to the table. Corporate consists of 95% women, and all are 100% caucasian, now im not math expert but im sure you can draw your own conclusions! Futhermore, what happened to the so-called diversity they preach, in the #2 volume store in the company (soho-cable) theres only 1 black person in management and he's even been leap-frogged and lied to about a promotion. I made the most money for the store, trained everyone, had amazon customer service, and was less than 20 years old and was constantly lied to about upcoming promotions and salary increases. they went on these "freezes" every time it was time to give raises, but yet was always able to hire new staff. what store thats about 8000 sq feet needs a total of 16 floormangers, 8 department managers, 4 pacesetters, to run? No one even likes working there except for the overtime sucking losers that do nothing. I went to a competitor and im making a lot more money n0w because REAL COMPANIES EVALUATE REAL TALENT, AND REWARD YOU FOR HARD WORK AND TALENT!!!!!

Pay

Started off making 11$per hr, after being #1 seller in the company for housewares for a company record 28months straight was offered a measly laughable 20cents raise; i told them keep that sh!t and i quit 2 weeks later.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 6, 2009
Position
Department Manager
Work Dates
Oct 2007 - Apr 2009
Location
Chicagoland, IL
Work Environment

Casual, political, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: Good discounts, the stores themselves are a pleasure to be in. Good design and nice merchandise. Most associates under the senior management level are hard working and really share a sense of caring for the store.

Cons: Unprofessional Management. Employees at all levels are micro managed. There is no empowerment at the department manager level, job roles and priorities are continually changing. Political! You must be in the store's manager's 'click' in order to move up.

Pay

Salary: Low!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 19, 2010
Position
Management
Location
Chicago Area, IL
Review

Pros - The discount is all that is left of what made this company a great place to work.

Cons - This company is so inbred - way too many people have been there way too long. They have a very limited long-term vision, do not appreciate views that do not match their own. They do not solicit input nor place any value on the knowledge brought to the table from previous employment. They have totally lost sight of what the company was founded on - good quality product at reasonable prices with top-notch customer service. Although they never have layoffs they have managed to reduce the number of employees by a substantial amount which has greatly changed the service offered at store level. The frustration of the frontline workers is tremendous. Morale has never been lower. They have fired some of the best workers in order to keep long-term employees even if those long-term employees are only mediocre workers. Many young and talented employees have been so disillusioned with the way Crate and Barrel operates that they have left. Those who remain are very bitter and it permeates the entire store.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 23, 2011
Position
All Crate and Barrel
Review

Great place to work. Products and customers are nice to work with. Overall the management team works well together. The store designer thinks they run the store, the designer waste more company time than any other employee. Every employee at Crate is responsible for making the store beautiful but the designers gets all the credit. The designers gets every weekend off and they have no customer service skills, they walk past a customer as if they don't work at crate.

At my store, my designer spends more time eating her breakfast than the sales floor. I agree with some of the other reviews, the higher mangement from corporate does not give effect feeback to the store designer because they want to be their friends. The middle mangers are the one who do all the work from sales, customer service, design etc. I think corporate really need to look into the design position and make the designers work sales and customer service on the weekend to really know the business. The designers need to get off their high horse. Anyone can do a floor plan and put a room together. It takes talent to work with customers.

Pay

I love working at Crate because of the products and customer. Its employees like the designers that makes me question my job. The discount is great.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 23, 2011
Work Dates
Jan 2001 - Feb 2011
Work Environment

Cut-throat,

Review

Job title and job responsibilities are a joke. The assistant and middle manger are the people that make Crate and Barrel successful. The designers are a joke, because they deligate all their task to the rest of the staff. Too many chiefs and not enough indians. If eveyone follow their job responsibility and complete them it would be a better place to work. Again its a great company to work for.

Pay

Average sale for all the work you have to do

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 31, 2011
Position
Seasonal Sales
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
New York - Madison Ave, NY
Review

Lets yum it up - mostly women work at the store and act like a bunch of teenagers. I have frequently overheard all the "regulars" talking smack about new seasonal employees, and when confronted later laughed about it with the managers. You'd think this was a great and hip place to work. I've even talked with some regulars and they even feel like they are being mistreated. There are two woman managers in particular who act like they are holier than thou.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 31, 2012
Position
Furniture sales
Work Dates
Jan 2008 - Jan 2012
Location
Woodland Hills & Beverly Hills, CA
Work Environment

Cut-throat, competitive, old-fashioned, disorganized,

Review

Management is unprofessional and unskilled. Management does not follow protocol. They play favorites and make uninformed decisions.

Pay

Beautiful store. Physical environment is wonderful.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 1, 2012
Position
floor manager
Work Dates
Jul 2006 - Jul 2008
Location
Los angeles, CA
Review

The funniest part of these reviews...and working for C&B...is that people who move shelving around and set up 3 vases in a row are referred to as "designers". In my experience working there not a single "designer" had any education or experience in design. Most had a high school diploma and that was it. In most cases they were also devoid of any talent that might be considered creative or innovative. They were like Stepford people doing what they had been trained to do, after serving as sales associates, season after season after season. ( and that includes the regional "designers". They were all just complete and delusional idiots.

Pay

All bad.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No