Farmers Insurance
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Feb 1, 2009
Position
Senior Special Investigator
Work Dates
Apr 1999 - Feb 2008
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I started with Farmers as a Claims Rep (4/99-2/02) which was an enjoyable job. Great Supervisor etc...The unethical behavior licked in when I moved over to the Special Investigations Unit. I began working for a manager who actually made announcements to his team that he "definitely plays favorites with you guys". He based raises on who he like the best (His Golden Children). He advised us in a meeting that he terminated an Investigator based on poor job performance (She had cancer). He then said " She's going to be hurting for money now that I fired her. She won't even be able to afford her chemo treatments". The next moron I worked under was (One of Chuck's Golden Children). He advised me that if I had no plans of going away while on vacation, I had to work. This inexperienced "manager" makes policiies as he goes. I had a medical condition I need to address. When I advised him of my daignosis, he told me I was lying (I didn't mention he was an M.D., did I?) I offered him medical reports however, he "didn't need them". When I asked for an ADA accomodation he refused and "We don't have to do anything for you. If you can't do your job, that's tough". This guy doesn't know his ass from is elbow.The two of them lie through their teeth, laugh about it and get away with it. Human Resources is advised about the circumstances but, turn a blind eye. The seem to not only condone theis behavior but, encourage. Their as corrupt as the 2 clowns I just mentioned. If anybody needs a hat with a propeller on top, it would be the management and H/R at Farmers Insurance.

Pay

Company car (To cover 2 states), Vacation time in which, you are told you have to work while on vacation, profit sharing has been talken away (I'm told). What's a bonus? Reimbursements: travel expenses however, my manager would take 3 weeks to aprove an expense report because he had to "study" and $30.00 gas receipt. Nomal time for reimbursement was 2 days.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 5, 2011
Position
Claims
Work Dates
Apr 2011 - Apr 2011
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, high-pressure,

Review

I worked for Farmers for several years. Their motto should be "management by fear". Their goals are ridiculous and largely unachievable for many. They treat their claim rep's like children and remind you how fortunate you are to have a job in this bad economy. They dumped their pension for many employees after it was used as a selling point to hire people. They also trashed their employee bonus program even though their parent company Zurich rakes in billions in profits yearly. If you like being micro managed to death and being told how bad you suck, you'll enjoy a job with these ****.

Pay

The pay sucks. They're one of the lowest paying insurance companies int he industry.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 6, 2013
Position
Agent
Work Dates
Jan 2005 - Dec 2012
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Disorganized, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

The management at this company is clueless as to how to price their products. So they lie and cheat their agents until the agents are left in financial ruins. The also screw their insureds....with price gouging, lying about discounts, etc. Do NOT do business with this company. Morale is very low....everyone walks around bitter and are NOT happy. This company that once used to be a great company to work for has become sooo disgusting it literally made me sick to my stomach. I've seen so many agents file bankruptcy, divorced, financially ruined etc because of Farmers management and Zurich. The management at this company are definitely going to hell when they die.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 26, 2013
Position
IT Manager
Work Dates
Dec 2009 - Dec 2012
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Review

Never saw a company of this low standards in work ethics. So much of favoritism, abuse, kickbacks, lies and unprofessional bunch of senior mgmt. sick place. Complained to HR and then starts the witch hunting.
I don't think they ever went through a professional work experience.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 28, 2014
Position
Claims Supervisor
Work Dates
Jun 2002 - Sep 2009
Location
Novi, MI
Work Environment

Cut-throat, conservative, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Management was nothing but a revolving door of morons (with a couple exceptions). Real bright was axing all the experienced Reps in favor of the "happy people" from Enterprise Rent A Car. The Regional Management were total idiots without a collective brain amongst them. Shitty reviews on files because you had a comma instead of a colon in a letter so the whole file was deemed unprofessional. Nothing but a lot of pressure, constant negativity about your work product. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

Pay

Not a damn thing positive about their entire time I was there except some of the people I worked with and I pity them now.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No