Home Depot
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Mar 10, 2008
Position
Department Supervisor
Work Dates
Jul 2006 - Mar 2008
Location
Chandler, AZ
Work Environment

Fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure,

Review

Home Depot is very rough around the edges. You will get yelled at and pushed very hard. Diversity it good but it is definitely a male oriented environment. It's a physical job and you work until you’re sore. Home Depot runs understaffed stores so you are going to work more than you expect. There are opportunities to get promoted but the heavy workload causes many to burn out.

Pay

I make $17hr. There is range that I think goes up to the low 20s. It all depends on many things. You can negotiate your pay if you are new to the company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 20, 2009
Position
Cashier
Location
Orange County, CA
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

Pros: Very casual, fun, lenient on dress code
Cons: No discounts, store hours were 5am - 11pm, If you're female, pretty/decent looking and young, you will definitely be hit on several times a day by old, fat, dirty and ugly construction men.

Pay

Start $9.50 end $10, you build up paid time off hours quickly so i got to spend a week in Hawaii during my short year there, did receive a 20% discount during the holidays

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 18, 2012
Position
Sales associate
Work Dates
Jan 2012 - Jan 2012
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Home Depot certainly isn't perfect but the pay and benefits are good, I've learned a lot about home improvement, tools, and a bunch of other stuff.

Pay

You'll probably make $10-11 per hour.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 7, 2012
Position
Master trade specialist
Review

I have a rare position, but I make $23/hr. If you are an experienced professional, the potential is there. I love my job, work hard and am treated well, and I don't have the headaches of being management. In this economy, you won't find another company that still gives raises, is still growing, stock value is rising, guarantees 40 hrs. a week, won't lay you off, gives good bonuses, and truly has the values they claim.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 19, 2012
Position
Department Supervisor
Location
Peoria, IL
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Home Depot does a good job giving the freedom to really own and grow your business. Technology is now finally a real tool for us to do our jobs. We are now back to a real focus on the customers and the leaders of the company have done a great job taking us back to our roots.

Pay

The pay in this positions is going to vary based on many different factors but will usually fall between $11-17. Of course the longer you're in the role the more you'll earn.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 19, 2012
Position
Department Supervisor
Location
Peoria, IL
Work Environment

Team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Home Depot does a good job giving the freedom to really own and grow your business. Technology is now finally a real tool for us to do our jobs. We are now back to a real focus on the customers and the leaders of the company have done a great job taking us back to our roots.

Pay

The pay in this positions is going to vary based on many different factors but will usually fall between $11-17. Of course the longer you're in the role the more you'll earn.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 8, 2012
Position
Lot Attendant
Work Dates
May 2004 - May 2004
Work Environment

Disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I grabbed flatbeds out of the parking lot. Have to admit, it's better than being inside of a dark store. It was full time, so that was something good. But my bosses claimed I was rude to customers (people who came up to me in the parking lot with merchandise asking me for prices, and I didn't know and had to tell them), so they fired me. I got fired before I got my first paycheck.

Pay

I worked there only 16 days, but I'd like to think that the check I got was a good one for the time there.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 1, 2013
Position
cashier
Work Dates
Mar 2004 - May 2004
Location
North Kingston, RI, AL
Review

I worked there for a few months then they accused me of stealing money and putting it back the guy who came from security said they had me on camera and if I admitted to it they would give me the tape but it does not leave this office needless to say i never got the tale nor was i arrested cause they had nothing on me i should of sued this shitty company

Pay

They say 10.00 an hr nope try more.like 8.50

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No