Home Instead Senior Care
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Nov 19, 2010
Position
CAREGiver, Administrative Staff
Work Dates
Oct 2008 - Nov 2010
Location
Manassas, VA
Work Environment

Casual, creative, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule, high-pressure,

Review

I began my experience with Home Instead Senior Care as a volunteer with Be A Santa to A Senior, then worked as a CAREGiver and now work in the office as administrative staff. I have been with the company over two years. I know first hand the dedication our CAREGivers show to our clients; they are extraordinary people and while this job might not pay as much as I would like, there are more rewards than money to be had. If a person is just in it for the money, this is not the job for them.

I have NEVER worked in a more personally fulfilling job. I see the positive impact we have on our client's lives every day and I feel that we have a positive impact on our CAREGiver’s lives as well. I know that at our office, we strive every day to deliver an exceptional experience for both our clients and our CAREGivers but we cannot please everyone ALL of the time. We set high standards for our employees and our office might not be the best employer match for everyone. The work is challenging, fast-paced and changes from day to day and I love it. We take a team approach to customer service and problem-solving.

If you are seeking a job or seeking care for a loved one, it is important to know that each Home Instead Senior Care office is INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED. You need to judge your local Home Instead Senior Care office on its own merits. Personally, I would not trust the care of my parents with any company EXCEPT Home Instead Senior Care and I cannot imagine working for ANY other home care company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 11, 2009
Location
Chicago NW Suburbs, IL
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Thought this company was all about caring and helping seniors but found out it wasn't at all about anything except making money and treating employees less than dirt and paying them about the same as dirt. The owners were intimidating and demanding. Saw so much more that can't be listed hear due to your agreement. The concept sounds good but thats the only positive

Pay

Was not paid fenough for the position or the abuse. NO benefits

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 9, 2011
Position
home care attendent
Work Dates
Jan 2009 - Nov 2010
Location
Waco, TX
Work Environment

Unprofessional,

Review

Do not work for this agency!!!! MUCH better locally owned agencies with higher pay. Terrible office staff with no customer service skills- pay employees 7.25-7.50 an hour- LOL.

Pay

No pros except clients- but clients suffered from unprofessionalism and low moral of this agency.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 23, 2011
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
Jan 2008 - Apr 2011
Location
Milford, OH
Review

I enjoyed my clienst a lot, but found NO support from the staff. The handbood says around the clock support, but if you called after hours for anything, you got in trouble. You could not defend yourself against anything you did that they disagreed with. In the end, another caregiver was horrible to me, and my boss said I was competeing with her for the clients love. Come on! Plus the pay is lousey for what you''re expected to do.

Pay

Loved my clients but found that some caregivers were competetive and found no support from the office staff.Starting salary was $8.00. Ended at $8.75. It took 500 hours to get a raise.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 20, 2011
Position
CAREGiver
Work Dates
Sep 2009 - Jun 2011
Location
Auburn, NY
Work Environment

Flexible schedule,

Review

It is a very rewarding experience to help a person either come home after a nursing home placement, or to help them avoid nursing home placement. The work is per diem, and you can specify when you are available- this makes it very flexible. You can be asked to work more, but you can say no. The owners of the franchise I work for provide excellent support and training.
The only down side is that many seniors who need the service cannot afford it because it is non-medical care which insurance often does not cover. This means the clients are mainly upper class. I'd prefer to be able to serve people from a range of socio-economic backgrounds.

Pay

I think the compensation is fair. It is above minimum wage and less than $10.00 an hour. But you can call in if your sick and not worry that the person you care for and their family will suffer for it. The office finds people to cover for you. They also are good about offer extra shifts. If you had to take off certain days, you can make it up in this way. This is a well managed franchise office in Auburn, NY. That means I can take vacations and still make enough to supplement our household income. It is per diem, so the vacations aren't paid, but their is overtime for holidays and a little bonus around Christmas each year.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 24, 2011
Position
CAREgiver
Work Dates
Dec 2009 - Oct 2011
Location
San diegO, CA
Review

Office staff will try to give u clients that lives near your area. They know I
Will not go too far because the 2-3 hours of work in a father area is not worth my drive & it is just a waste of my gas.
I love all my clients and I've grown close to most of them.
If u need a day off they will can have someone cover you.
What I dislike is that the office staff are at times unprofessional, unfriendly and uncaring. Sometimes I feel they take the caregivers for granted & they dont take our situations & feelings into consideration.

Pay

I've been with the company for almosT 2 years. Started of with $9/hr. Now I'm making $10. It's oookkk. It can get better because I'm helping a married couple. I'm supposed to only care for the female client but most of the time I'm caring and helping the husband as well. I asked for an increase but I was ignored. No paid time off, no bonuse not even during Christmas, no medical/dental/vision what so ever, no sick leave, no tuition rebursement, no vacation, no 401k. NO BENEFITS AT ALL. Only workers comp since it's the law!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 24, 2011
Position
CAREgiver
Work Dates
Dec 2009 - Oct 2011
Location
San diegO, CA
Work Environment

Casual, flexible schedule, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Office staff will try to give u clients that lives near your area. They know I
Will not go too far because the 2-3 hours of work in a father area is not worth my drive & it is just a waste of my gas.
I love all my clients and I've grown close to most of them.
If u need a day off they will can have someone cover you.
What I dislike is that the office staff are at times unprofessional, unfriendly and uncaring. Sometimes I feel they take the caregivers for granted & they dont take our situations & feelings into consideration.

Pay

I've been with the company for almosT 2 years. Started of with $9/hr. Now I'm making $10. It's oookkk. It can get better because I'm helping a married couple. I'm supposed to only care for the female client but most of the time I'm caring and helping the husband as well. I asked for an increase but I was ignored. No paid time off, no bonuse not even during Christmas, no medical/dental/vision what so ever, no sick leave, no tuition rebursement, no vacation, no 401k. NO BENEFITS AT ALL. Only workers comp since it's the law!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 31, 2011
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
Dec 2010 - Dec 2010
Location
San Diego, CA
Work Environment

Disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

This company promises a lot and does not deliver. They only pay caregivers $9 an hour and I was told we don't get any kind of raise until 1 year. I always end up working extra shifts and they dont pay me overtime once I am over my 80 hours like they should, And I'm an hourly employee. I take on extra shifts in hopes of a little extra money but it seems the more I work the less I make. They don't list the hours worked on the paystub so you can't be sure how many hours you are being paid for. The office staff lacks communication skills and have on more than one occasion been rude or short with me for no reason.


I have never worked for such a horrible company in all my years of working, nor have I ever made such a low amount of money and felt hussled. I wouldn't recommend this company for employment or for people in need of a caregiver.

They don't keep communication with their clients either while they are ripping them off. Clients pay $20+ an hour for caregivers but caregivers only make $9?!?!?!?! WTF?!?! hardly seems fair. I'm doing all the work and they make all the money?!

Pay

There are no perks of any kind with this job! Don't waste your time!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 16, 2011
Position
Care Giver
Work Dates
Aug 2011 - Nov 2011
Location
St Augustine, AL
Review

Worst Company I have ever worked for!!!! Please if anyone thinking about working for them, don't waste your time and enargy, they are very unprofessional and unfair, they make their money through their care giver but don't treat them fair, they don't pay ypu on time like a normal company will, if you are relying on them to pay your bill, forget it!! They will pay you last, like third class citizen or something, you wait for your pay check and it won't come untill 8th or 10th of the month, beside they won't pay you all the shifts you work, and if you even clock in right they try to say , no you did not work that much, they says they are non medical, but they want you to do everything a CNA would do and only pay $8 or $9?? when thay say its a home maker assingment, although you were hire as a PCT, they client wants you to work as a marymaid, scrub their bathroom, spring cleaning etc. and at the end of the shift you will end up with hardly making $25, come on! if I want a maid job I don't need to go to school for my degree, even mary maid end up earing more than $50 one time, you don't need nurses,CNAs to work for you, please if any one from the company reading this be fair to your emplyee, pay then on time and fairly, we work hard, we are the one who are srving your cleint, not your rude and stupid office emplyee who call you 20 times , any time of the day and night and ask for go to a client right away, wtf?? I hate this comapy, many of their client told be they charge them too much and if I can work for them personaly, I refused but that wasn't a bad idea! lets all worker get together and sue this company for their unfairness.

Pay

No benefits, no vacation, I have nothing good to say about them only my good advice not to work for them

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 21, 2011
Position
Care Giver
Work Dates
Nov 2011 - Nov 2011
Location
Orlando, FL
Work Environment

Political, unprofessional,

Review

I interviewed with this company and thought they wanted an awful lot for minimum wage. Not only that, I would have to maintain a cell phone, pay for gas, pay to register with the state, pay for uniforms and ah yes be able to lift my clients out of the car. No benefits either. You can work as many hours over 40 and you still don't qualify for any benefits. FORGET IT!

Insane! I would love to work with seniors, but this was beyond what I thought was fair. I'll go another route thanks.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 26, 2011
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
May 2011 - Oct 2011
Location
Federal Way , WA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, disorganized, political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

This company will do anything to make a quick buck, even if it means screwing over there employees and clients. TO many illegal practices.....The lie and cheat and overcharge. For being a "Christian " company. I don't see them representing God at all.

Pay

There are NO pros to working for this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 26, 2011
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
May 2011 - Oct 2011
Location
Federal Way , WA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, disorganized, political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

This company will do anything to make a quick buck, even if it means screwing over there employees and clients. TO many illegal practices.....The lie and cheat and overcharge. For being a "Christian " company. I don't see them representing God at all.

Pay

There are NO pros to working for this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 20, 2011
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
Columbus, OH
Review

I went in to fill out an application and heard the owner trash talking one of the caregivers for all to hear! Then when I map quested the location of where I would be going I decided it wasn't worth the 30 round trip for 8.25/HR..I went to the office to turn in my shirt and the woman who hired me said I "wasted her time for hiring her" !!! I love caring for the elderly but come on people it's 2012 And times are tough! I can work at my local gas station for more than 8.25/HR and don't have to travel so far!! There is no paid time off, sick leave, vacation, nothing! People do yourself a favor and realize that you deserve better!!!

Pay

There were no perks to this position-- just stress and getting walked all over.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 22, 2011
Position
CAREgiver
Work Dates
Dec 2008 - Dec 2010
Location
Medford, OR
Work Environment

Hierarchical, conservative, competitive, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I heard a lot of bantering about "professional". My experience was a far cry from professional. The CAREgivers are treated like second class citizens and treated as though we are dumb, blind, and stupid. I heard alot of talking down to CAREgivers. The office staff appeared to "feed" on the day to day dramas of client/CAREgiver interactions, instead of being problem solvers. The CAREgivers are the representatives "in the field" and need to be compensated fairly. CAREgivers are caring and hard working people and we need to earn a living wage. I LOVE the clients...that is why I am in this line of work. Being in the business of caring Home Instead could start with treating it's employees with care. Happy employees that are valued, treated with care, will have more energy to share with the clients as their own basic needs are being met. Only work here if there is no other option!

Pay

They are charging the client $19- a hr for services and the caregiver is only earning $9-...something horribly wrong with that picture!The Medford franchise does have paid vacation after one year, but benefits to speak of.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 6, 2012
Position
care giver
Work Dates
Jan 2012 - Jan 2012
Location
York, pa, AL
Work Environment

Cut-throat, unprofessional,

Review

Most unprofessional company to work for out of all care giving institutios in Pennsylvania ! Do yourself a favor and make home instead of York your last resort when tryingto find a job. This company treats their employees like numbers and not people. If it were possible I would give this company zero stars. No professional ethics what-so-ever.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 14, 2012
Position
client
Work Dates
Aug 2011 - Mar 2012
Location
Monroe, NC
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

I was the client. The caregivers were kind, caring and more than qualified. They are the ones holding this company together and bringing in handsome profits for the owners. The owners are another story. Care givers are required to donate two hours of their time on a 12 hour shift, only being paid $80.00, thus $8.00 per hour. If you work a 14 hour shift you are only paid for 8 hours. If you complain about pay, working conditions, lengthy drives, quick shift turn-arounds, abusive treatment from the office staff, late paychecks, etc, you are told you can be fired. Serious problems are destroying this company but the owners bury their head in the sand and will not listen to the people in the field that are doing this work out of the goodness of their heart. No recommendation from me. Treat your caregivers with respect, give them more money to start, give them raises beyond the whole 25 cents per years you give and give raises more often. There is a limited pool of people you can pull from for new hires and as your reputation spreads as to what a lousy employer you are people will not be knocking on your door looking for work. Turn your attention to retaining the people you have and treating them fairly.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 26, 2012
Position
CAREgiver
Work Dates
Aug 2012 - Aug 2012
Location
Eugene, AL
Review

I absolutely love my job, yes... It can be difficult sometimes. But, who doesn't have a difficult day of work from time to time. I love my CL, and love my experience I am gaining. I have learned so much from this company, and it is really helping me for my future career. I am currently going to school to be a RN, and this job is helping me get a lot of expirence with things I've never done before. I really don't have any complaints about this job or office staff at all. Every CAREgiver I've met is kind, and wanting to help their CLs, and some people are just not cut out for the job if you have complaints about it. It takes a lot of mental thinking, and a big heart to do this job.
After working 500 hours you get a raise, and you have no uniforms, and you get paid training. Could it get any better? Yes its only $9 weekday/$10 weekends, but it's a job, and I enjoy what I do.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 1, 2013
Position
CAREgiver
Work Dates
Mar 2012 - Jun 2012
Location
Collinsville, IL
Review

I have never met the biggest bunch of fake people ever in my life. This office is ran horribly! No one seems to know what they are doing exactly except for a select few and it seems they choose favorite for promotions rather than picking the right people who know how do their job. I was cut out of mileage and wages from this poorly ran company and was actually going in debt trying to remain on the team! I do not think the office has proper communication skills... everyone seems to have a condescending tone in their voice and are not truly concerned with their clients or employees. They attempt at using a Godly approach to their business, but fail dramatically with their pride and arrogance. Do not work for this company... Do not waste your time.

Pay

I started off making $8.50/ hr and they boosted it to $9.00. I worked in an Alzheimer's home but was not given the extra $2/hr the company promises.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 21, 2013
Position
caregiver
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2012
Location
Eugene, OR
Review

Due to the way the office operates, this has been one of the most difficult work experiences I have ever had, though I do like the work itself and most of the clients. It is a rewarding job in itself but the employer does not seem to value you. I asked for 15-20 hours a week and eventually ended up with 3 regular hours and occasional fill-in shifts...although you are required to be available for 15, you may get zero. Other agencies do not always require such availability. I am available most of the time but it does not help me get hours.

They stereotyped my personality type after observing me do not much more than watch training videos for a couple of hours and because of that have decided I need a certain type of personality in a client. They call me at the last minute to cancel my shifts. They terminate a client without notice and without explanation. They expect me to spend unpaid time or postage delivering client paperwork. They have ignored some of my safety concerns. I have had more than one client encourage me to work for other agencies even though I did not complain to them about the company.

I would say I don't recommend this job unless you feel like you want to volunteer your time for the cause. Just know the company is taking $11 out of every $20 for themselves, and you could be doing equivalent work under better conditions. I have worked for another agency and found it drastically different.

Pay

$9/hr, no benefits

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 6, 2014
Position
personal care assistant
Work Dates
May 2013 - Feb 2014
Location
Savannah, GA
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

In the start it was slow keeping a schedule. They and you want to fill things out and how you fit in with the clients. I have had awesome experiences learned a lot. I can say that I have not had a problem with any aspect of my job or hire ups.

Pay

I received a bonuses, reimbursements. There was one time when I was starting out with the company so it was a transition I was called on short notice and was in between paychecks they needed me to go to a client which was a bit further than I anticipated they offered to full my tank so I would make it and back home again. I started at 7.25 a month or two went to 8.50 and now most recently 11.30 I look forward to my continuous work with the company and their clients.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 6, 2014
Position
personal care assistant
Work Dates
May 2013 - Feb 2014
Location
Savannah, GA
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

In the start it was slow keeping a schedule. They and you want to fill things out and how you fit in with the clients. I have had awesome experiences learned a lot. I can say that I have not had a problem with any aspect of my job or hire ups.

Pay

I received a bonuses, reimbursements. There was one time when I was starting out with the company so it was a transition I was called on short notice and was in between paychecks they needed me to go to a client which was a bit further than I anticipated they offered to full my tank so I would make it and back home again. I started at 7.25 a month or two went to 8.50 and now most recently 11.30 I look forward to my continuous work with the company and their clients.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 11, 2014
Position
Caregiver
Work Dates
Nov 2014 - Nov 2014
Location
St. Petersburg, FL
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

This is a toxic environment from the moment you open the doors of this plaza-storefront-office.
Sad to think... there are so many good people who would make outstanding Caregivers & sad to know there are so many seniors who need good, caring, trustworthy caregivers!
With so many folks looking for work this could be "THE" company to work for! But with such a condescending, toxic atmosphere this is the "RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN" company.
I'd rather flip burgers than work for this company.
By the way they expect employees to work O/T but state upfront that BY LAW (they claim) they DON'T have to pay O/T!

Pay

No pros - one big con.... nasty place to work

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 24, 2014
Position
caregiver
Work Dates
Aug 2014 - Dec 2014
Location
Tuscaloosa, AL
Review

When I started working with them the staff in the office seem so nice but after time and time they started to show their true self. we would get clients that would be far away and the staff would expect us to get off our shifts and drive to the office to pick up stuff to take back to the client house while we are off duty and dont pay any kind of gas money because they say it is to far for them to travel. they have the pick and chooses. you ask for hours they give you low hours. I went a whole month not working because they didnt guve me a client to work with. the people in the office are so rude. I feel like they are being discrimination towards me and some of the other caregivers. they call your phone and talk to you like your a dog or slave of theirs instead of a human being especially when your off of wrk. your not obligated to go to the office or do things for the job on your off day or when your off their clocks right? they be wanting you to come to the office to talk about the exact same stuff they tell you on the phone and when you tell them you cant make it to the office because you other stuff to tend to or you might not have the gas they will send you text and call you (harass) and tell you we are going to have to pull you off your shift until you can come in to see us. they dont pay us enough and then we have kids to tend to on our off days. they only pay 7.50 an hour. we dont get no breaks. they dont want to pay for o/t at all. the pro of the job was that I wanted to work in the health care field but this job being my first and im still going to college they make you want to give up. they gave xmas bouns out to certain people but had checks printed for everyone but they said we had to come to a meeting to be able to get them. I worked a shift that morning and had a dr.appt that evening after I got off. they said I should have been at the meeting and question me having an appt that last to around 430. some of the other caregivers didnt get theirs but people there at the meeting heard them call our names but when we called the boss she got a nasty attitude and said with a smirk in her voice you should have been there and said oh well maybe next year after I told her I had an appt she gonna say you should havw brought dr ezcuse for a meeting. but then said to its still to late because she had voided the checks out. I tell you some companys can be a grinch or scrooge during the holiday and I say this place is both of them. they want you to slave and dont try to help you out at all just as long as thier pocket is good.

Pay

7.50

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No