ikea
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Jan 25, 2008
Position
Sales co-worker
Work Dates
Mar 2007 - Jan 2008
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Work Environment

Casual, team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

Ikea is a great place to work. They care about there employees. The company has a relaxed vibe but the stores do get very hectic when they’re busy.

Pay

If you work at least 20hrs a week you are eligible for health and dental insurance. Pay is $16 an hour.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 9, 2008
Position
real work life
Work Dates
Nov 2008 - Nov 2008
Location
Tempe, AZ
Work Environment

Casual, team-oriented,

Review

Pay is just okay but there are good benefits including 401k and tuition reimbursement. Ikea has a very flexible scheduling system which works out very well. Probably the best thing about working here.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 20, 2009
Position
Sales
Work Dates
Dec 2004 - Dec 2005
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Work Environment

Casual, team-oriented, flexible schedule, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: Benefits and discounts, they have a staff cafeteria with an all you can drink soda station
Cons: Closing sucks, they close too late and if one department lags then the whole store has to help out.
Unstable management, they kept moving around to other stores and most were unappreciated.

Pay

Starting $8.50, ended at $9 something...they did allow me to take 2 separate vacations during my short year there and i think i got paid for only one of them...discounts went as high as 40% one time, usual 20%

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 6, 2009
Position
Any
Work Dates
Jan 2009 - Jan 2009
Location
Clearwater, FL
Review

I applied at the new location opening in Tampa, Fl in January. I didn't get hired. I can tell you about the interview proses. They call you and you have a phone interview and make an appointment for a group interview where there were 30 other applicants. They tell you about Ikea and ask you if you where a furniture which would you be. Then they make you change seats for the second activity where there are four people in each table. You have to build a building for twenty minutes with some paper. There's a manager for every table taking notes. Then they tell you to change tables again so you can work with different people and you have to read the activity and discuss it with the group, again there's a manager taking notes. The managers leave. When they returned they called some of us to follow a manager and she took us to a different room and told us that to take a catalog and chocolate and that they would call us back. I got an e-mail after 2 weeks telling me that I haven't qualified. They tell you if you work at the register one day you don't have to do that everyday you can ask a manager to change departments.
The Ikea Tampa location is opening May 6th, 2009.

Pay

They asked me on the phone how much I would start with, but also said that they would start you off with $8 hr. Part time if 20 hrs and you can get benefits.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 23, 2012
Position
varies
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
Burbank, CA
Review

As a cashier you start at 8.50. return and exchanges stat at 12.42. warehouse and sale coworkers start at between 8.50 and 9.50. the person who mentioned gettibg 16. 00 an hour has either been in returns and exchanges for at least 3 years or is a lead coworker in a department. Assistant managers start at 42,000 to 55,000 depending on store annual sales volume,department size.

Pay

If you become a manager yes you will be very well taken care of. if u make it into upper management you will make over 100,000 a year and are held leas responsible. As a manager you can get one months salary as an added bonus every year. More than enough tine.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No