k-mart
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Sep 4, 2008
Position
Cashier/Sales Associate
Work Dates
Sep 2007 - Sep 2008
Location
Torrance, CA
Work Environment

Open-door, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

When i started working at K-Mart, I was 17 years of age and had just graduated highschool. The paychecks i recieved were very low im talking four hours a day low. It was easy to live off of for a while until I hit the big 18 then i had to start buying books and paying for my own cell phone bill not to mention buy my own food and help out with the rent.

Now don't get me wrong, K-Mart is a great place to work. The co-workers are a blast and even the managers and supervisors have stand out personalities. Any work enviornment where you can crack a joke with your manager in between working is worth checking out. You may call it unprofessional but im young so i call it cool. Managers don't ride you too much about not reaching sales goals but you will hear some words if you are a slacker. Promotion chances aren't THAT great though. There's this girl who started like three months before me and now she's supervisor. I heard rumors about me but im currently job hunting cause of the money so i probably won't find out. The raise for supervisor is only 50 CENTS! And they have to do double the work! It's not worth it...

All in all recommend K-Mart to any teen or young adult looking to pursue school aswell or a nice little second job!

I wish I could stay but I needs cash and K-Mart can't give me that.

Pay

Starting: 7.50
Current: 8.00 (California minimum wage law went up but im due for a raise soon since they will move me to another department.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 3, 2009
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Aug 2008 - Apr 2009
Location
Billings, MT
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Good work environment, great co-workers and supervisors, and overall great customers. Worst management I ever dealt with. No communication whatsoever. They do not recognize their workers for the hard work they do. They do not inform their workers of any improvements needed, or any mistakes they made. instead every little detail of every little mistake is documented for months at a time, then when you get called in you find out just how bad of a worker you are to them. My boss has threatened me because I didn't ask the District Manager for a March of Dimes. then I got called into the office, I had a till overage(which I can say is my fault) along with a till shortage two months ago I wasn't even aware of. He then brought up a mystery shopper reported me as unfriendly which is not true because I know even at my worst times I've greeted every single customer, and have said "Have a nice day." so that to me was the biggest insult. He then brought up that I didn't ask the DM for a Sears card(which at first was a March of Dimes donation). I told him I can't bother these customers with so many questions. He said It's a federal law to ask for sears card applications. So if I want to keep my job(or obey the law because heaven forbid someone might get fined) I have to ask for their e-mail address, offer a warranty on every little item (including cheap toys, video games, whatever) ask for a donation to the March of Dimes, and then...would you like to apply for a sears card. I have to do all of this JUST to keep my part time job, as well as greet customers, tell them have a nice day. A lot of this I've been working so hard on, but was not even acknowledged for it. What K-Mart is doing is wrong, and I'm starting to question these so-called charities. Where is the money that's donated to March of Dimes going? If it's so important to ask that I almost lose my job over it, how much of the share is K-Mart getting? I absolutely do not recommend K-Mart as a job, and I wouldn't even recommend it to customers. What they're doing is sick, and I would choose Walmart any day before I choose K-Mart.

Pay

$8/hr starting/ending, I doubt any raises. New hires I understand are being hired at Min Wage now. No vavation time. If there was I wouldn't even work another day just to qualify for it. No bonuses, very small commissions on smart plans and credit card apps, if you even get any. the 10% discount card is ok. I never tried the benefits.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 17, 2012
Position
service desk
Work Dates
Nov 2011 - Feb 2012
Work Environment

Cut-throat, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

This company is horrible , the managers are two-faced and they don't pay enough . I was working in service desk , doing things what manager should be doing cause they are lazy. They were paying me 7.81 hr . Company does not care about their co workers, managers are lazy to deal with people. A lot of people come and go in this store. I know people in sears and Kmart company that have worked for the stores and managers are all the same they are BULLIES! The managers are, it seems to me they hire anyone for manager position. They also, cut off your hours if they don't like you.

Pay

No pros

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No