Papa Johns Pizza
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Oct 18, 2009
Position
Delivery Driver
Work Dates
Jan 2006 - Oct 2009
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

I have worked for Papa Johns Pizza for approx. 3 years as a delivery driver. I have worked in the Food Service/Pizza industry for over 20 years, primarily as a second job. The experience I list here will be from the perspective of a Delivery Driver.

I would have to say that overall Papa Johns can be a good place to work, _if_ you are lucky enough to get into a store that has a decent and reasonably competent manager, if not, you are screwed coming and going. Unfortunately it seems most of the stores are managed and staffed by incompetent people.

Pros:
a. Easy work in general
b. Papa Johns is so lawsuit scared that unless you really are a major screwup, you could probably be there through a lot of BS.
c. better than average tips if in a store doing a reasonable amount of business in most cases. This is because Papa Johns is a more expensive pizza and therefore attracts people who can afford to spend a little more and tip a little more.

Cons:
a. Lack of respect to their employees even as the people who are being disrespectful demand respect
b. Threatening/combative work environment - manager complaints regarding employees performance are often laid out in public in the form of bitch messages posted in store with threats of cut hours and termination in all of them, making everyone fearful of their jobs/hours. Managers routinely schedule full time employees for 35 hours, then demand they stay late on shifts, then complain/threaten the employee with cut hours and termination if the employee goes into overtime.
c. Lack of understanding of Real Life issues. This is my biggest peave with Papa Johns. I beg my manager for more hours but he will not give them to me, claiming the store does not have more hours to give out, thus I have a second job. I had this second job when I hired on to Papa Johns and they knew it. They promise to be understanding of peoples schedules yet demand employees stay late on shifts because of sales volume. They then complain/threaten employees when an employee tells them they have to leave even when that time is AFTER said employee is scheduled to be off work, even if that time is SEVERAL HOURS past the employees scheduled shift. I was blatantly told by more than one manager/shift leader that I am expected to be there at my scheduled time and they will tell me when I can leave, no matter how long after my shift I have already worked, no matter I may have my kids to pick up or that it is already 3-5 hours past my shift and I have other responsibilities to meet so I can pay my bills.
d. No Benefits and no possibility for them
e. No possibility for advancement as a driver
f. No possibility of raises for drivers. In fact Papa John has now (09/2009) started paying drivers less based on the earned tips laws, allowing them to pay up to $3 less per hour if your tips show corresponding amounts earned.
g. A "locked in" workplace - if you are at the majority of their stores, the mis-managed ones, you are screwed because you are not able to transfer out to another store, no matter how much that other store may want you to come work there.

I work hard for any and every company I work for. It's a matter of personal pride and commitment to doing what I said I would do when I hired on. I am not asking for them to move mountains or for anything unreasonable, just to be treated fairly, something I have not seem from this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 3, 2011
Position
Driver
Work Dates
Jan 2010 - Apr 2011
Location
Concord, NC
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Never have I had a work experience so abusive and akin to slave labor like Papa John's. With rising gas prices we are still making 3.00 an hour in this area of the country. Typical work schedules are 2-3 hours a day and often more then not they expect 7 days a week for 2 hours. 100% of the time we have no clue what time we might be off work so employees have no life at all - for this 3.00/hr. In one year I was allowed to leave work at the time to end work as scheduled 3 times. Two of those times the store was closing due to weather. The Papa John company is riddled w customer complaints and I wonder why. Customers really don't give a shit if a delivery driver is a human being or not but when that goes for the company as well - why would anyone buy anything from this company?? In one year I have had 6 managers. I am 53 years old and have been working nearly 40 years and I have never worked for a worst place then this shit hole. Papa John is NOTHING but a money groveling human piece of shit who cares nothing about people. Treat your employees this bad - you will live to regret what this will do to your bottem line. How do the execs in this company sleep at night knowing what they do to the lives of people who work for them. I have been in this company long enough now that horrible conditions are embedded throughout the company. Its simply amazing they get away w it. With todays tough times - its only gotten much worse simply because its allowed and accepted.

Pay

No gas reimbursement, no tips with rising costs of living for my customers,
I average 3.00 per hour paying gas over 4.00 a gallon and insane wear and tare on my vehicle. This is insanity in the workplace at its worst

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 25, 2011
Position
St.Petersburg
Work Dates
May 2008 - Apr 2011
Location
Papa Johns, CA
Review

Do not expect a life. Or a future.

5-8 shift is normally about 50 dollars at my store, which is decent. Sadly, if you have school, or a family, do not expect them to bend at all, they mis-treat their employees so much with their managers special slogan "If you're here, you're replaceable." and "shut up." and my personal favorite. "You should be glad you have a job." Why so blunt? they're trained this way. To keep us so on edge that we take every light we can so they don't burn our flesh with jokes about us being retarded. Literally. They joke about it. The managers are FILTHY, they don't follow ANY inspection or health protocol I've seen the pick up dropped, filthy dough and use it, and "always fresh never frozen" is bull. They keep their "walk-in storage unit" about 3 degrees ABOVE freezing so they can legally use that slogan of theirs, I've been to 3 different stores and worked with 7 different managers and they are ALL the same. I hate my job, and it has made me hate life, I had to leave my school because I can't afford to be out of work. I have kids to worry about. I put off auto-mechanic because I couldn't go from 5-8 to 12-5, main reason being you don't leave at a specific time. If it's busy you stay until it stops final, this they do NOT tell you THE WAY THEY SHOULD in the interviews. Had I known "every now and then it gets too busy to the point where we need you to stay a little bit longer, is that fine?" If I knew that means literally getting out at 1 in the morning, SOMETIMES LATER. You think I would have signed up for those hours? No. I can't sign up for my next semester, you know why? I can hardly sleep at night because I work 7 nights a week. I love and appreciate the job, I just hate the management and disagree with how a LOT of things are run. Bad management, worse food, dirty, no respect at all, but I do work with very good people. That's my only plus side, my only reason I love it.

FYI any managers out there. If we're all replaceable, that doesn't mean you should treat us like garbage. We're human beings that work hard to make our living.

FYI+2. Tip your drivers folks. That 2.75 does NOT keep us happy since we only get enough to buy a soda, MAYBE. A good tip is a gallon of gas. Remember that. We make 4 dollars on the road so. Yeah.

Pay

Driver. 7 50 in store and 4 on the road. We get like a buck 20 each run for milegae but the delivery fee is 2.75 so customers almost always kick us a 1 dollar bill like it DIDN't cost me a gallon to get to the guys place. Douchebags. No bonuses, no vacation time, no perks whatso-ever. there is 0 flexibility and they refuse to even TALK about schedule changing, if you have a family or school to attend, or anything, do NOT work for this company, and if you can't take abuse, do NOT work for this company, final. And trust me I'm not just having a bad week, all of the drivers feel the same way.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 7, 2011
Position
driver
Work Dates
Apr 2011 - May 2011
Location
Roanoke, VA
Work Environment

Casual, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

I got hired for full-time and the first week got 38hrs.
The very next week it dropped to 12scheduled/9worked. Then next week 15scheduled/6worked, then 10s/4w, then 9s/2w! they even hired two drivers after me even though they had little hours to offer. its a fickle thing, my first check would knock me off food stamps but now i need them again. i got a job to not be depending on the government but even as a working man i still need help. God bless us poor ppj employees!

pros- easiest job i ever had, fun to drive and be out of store
cons-poor pay,bad hours, toxic atmosphere

Pay

Start-730hr, 4hr on road

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 5, 2011
Position
Driver
Work Dates
May 2011 - Jul 2011
Location
Tallahassee, FL
Work Environment

Strict, fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

$5.25 an hour for delivery drivers. They will abuse drivers as much as possible. Averaging

Pay

Pros: Cash under the table every night.
Cons: I pretty much listed them all above. Work for next to nothing, thankless job, that leaves you exhausted after every shift. There is no schedule, other then knowing when you will start work every night. You go home when the manager feels like cutting you loose. Oh, and I forgot to mention that should you happen to work a 10 hour shift on a Saturday, you don't get a break to even take a piss. Free food? LOL! Yeah, only if you have a bad order come back or something along those lines. Otherwise you can pay for your pizza at a 50% discount. Good luck in this thankless job.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 6, 2011
Position
Delivery
Work Dates
Jan 2011 - Jun 2011
Location
Mol, IL
Review

6.00 per hour and only .05 cents on the ticket order. So I'm running deliveries 6 miles one way half the time on specials they run with a 13.99 ticket order of which 2.00 is a "courtesy fee" which is basically Papa Johns Franchise owners quite literally taking the tip out of your hand, and then a 1.50 in tax. So you take your 12 mile round trip with a net ticket order of 10.00 bucks so you make .50 cents on the run with gas at 4.00 to 3.50 a gallon. If you don't average a 3 to 5 dollar tip on every delivery you can make as little at 3 to 4 dollars per hour. yes it's true. I don't know how they get away with it by the wage and hour division authority in the states we have. It's freakin robbery. total abuse of the drivers and chewing them up and spitting out their vehicles at THEIR expense. It's disgusting how little those drivers actually net after wear and tear and low wages and half the workin stiffs that don't tip. by the way folks.. i don't care how bloody broke you are. there is one rule to live by. If you can afford to eat out, or afford to get a delivery, you BEST be able to afford a fair tip! a FAIR tip. Not some measly buck. 2 dollars doesn't even get it done these days folks.

Pay

Easy work. a stoners delight, but good luck trying to suck up for tips at the door to try and bust your hump to get to a paltry 8 to 10 dollars an hour. and thats on a good night. Most of the problem was over staffing and only allowing one delivery per driver.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 20, 2011
Position
driver
Work Dates
Dec 2010 - Dec 2010
Location
London, KY
Work Environment

Fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I was told there was all kinds of money to be had with this company, good chance of promotion, and a fun work environment. The people who told me these things must not have known what such thing mean.

Pros: Out on the road so not standing around in one place, easy work, can get away with murder

Cons: Threat drivers horribly, don't make crap compared to expenses, forced to do store work at less than minimum wage so the managers can get their bonuses, 2nd dirtiest place I've ever worked at

This is the lowest paying, worst driving job I've ever had, and the second worst food service job I've had the misfortune to take. I'd take a job shoving manure to get out of this place if I had to.

Pay

No perks unless you count bad orders that sat around for hours you get to eat, no raises, false promises about raises

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 14, 2011
Position
Insider
Work Dates
Dec 2008 - May 2011
Location
Glassboro, NJ
Review

The Pros: Could get away with anything.

The Cons: Dirtiest place ever.

Promises of a raise and never got them. I got one raise the four years I've been there. 10 cents too.

The regional manager was sexist and racist, and wouldn't let me try to become a shift manager because 'I couldn't handle it'. He sent a text to another coworker calling a manager of mine a dirty n-word. I've been through about 8 different managers.

The managers I've dealt with don't do the work they are supposed to--they left it to the insiders.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 11, 2011
Position
Hourly Shift Leader
Work Dates
May 2011 - Oct 2011
Location
San Antonio, TX
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, fast-paced, high-pressure,

Review

I started working for this company my sophomore year of High School. I was paid just above minimum wage to work as a CSR and to make pizzas. I loved the first store I worked at, but in that position, I didn't fully understand the way my franchise was being ran.
I took a break from the company for approx. 1 year, and returned to a different store because I wasn't allowed to work with my husband who was a shift leader at a different location within our franchise. I was quickly promoted from CSR to Shift Leader because they needed someone who would learn quickly. I knew a good chunk of the manager duties and could handle make line/ driver dispatch by my self already, so I was their best candidate.
In my year absence, the franchise has gone DOWN HILL. During my learning period, I made minor mistakes. I forgot some things, and did other things great. I never heard any praises for the things I did well, and was yelled at for every single mistake I made.
My General Manager didn't train me completely before he threw me into my first solo shift. My husband was stuck coming to my store to bail me out because my GM was too busy to answer his phone. In the 6 months I have been a shift leader, I have been threatened that if I make this mistake or that mistake or don't highlight this with a yellow marker and this with an orange one, I will be written up or terminated.
My husband has been yelled at and cussed at by his Area Supervisor while the other Area Supervisor simply stood around and watched.

This franchise is a GREAT place to work if you need a part time job as a driver (in some locations) or an in store. However, being part of their management team is a complete joke. Expect JUST above minimum wage, after three $.50 raises, you will be capped out, and constant cruel criticism.
I love the drivers and in stores I work with, and the other shift manager I work with is great. My General Manager isn't the best, but I know I could have worse.
My dislike for this franchise is their attitude towards their employees. They in no way take care of their management team. Without shift leaders, there would be no papa johns for a third of the week because the GM only works 1/3 to 1/4 of the shifts per store.
I suggest this job for high school/college students who want to make some spending money. I strongly urge anyone who is considering moving up in this franchise to weigh the pros and cons. Someone who never lets anything get to them and enjoys being taken advantage of would make a great addition, because that's the position you will be getting yourself into.
I loved the environment, just hated the way ALL managers were treated. There are so many fun people and great times I've had at work, but it's difficult for me to get over being treated poorly by my superiors for no reason.
The job itself is a piece of cake. Once you get it down, it is monotonous work that never seems to end.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 22, 2012
Position
In-store employee
Work Dates
Nov 2011 - Apr 2012
Location
Cabarrus, NC
Work Environment

Casual, competitive, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

Pretty much it is a good job however i strongly believe that the make-line workers and Doe slappers are underpaid. I hate that the people running till which typically are the laziest people in the entire store can make tips. While you have the people who are making the pizzas sweating and exhausted you have the people on Till (cashier) texting, standing/sitting around, eating pizza, ordering food during rushes, and MAKING TIPS FOR THE PIZZAS THEY HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH. What really irrates me is that they make the same amount of money that the people making the pizzas are w/o the opportunity for tips. The people at my work are awesome other than the 10% that don't do anything. My manager is a good guy that does his best to help me with advancement and other work related tasks. I have gained alot of respect for certain individuals but I don't believe corporate cares about their employees anymore. Alot of drivers from other stores complain about pay but they make more money than the shift runners at my store.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No