petco
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Dec 20, 2007
Position
Assistant Store Manager
Work Dates
Feb 2004 - Dec -0001
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Work Environment

Strict,

Review

PETCO does not provide the resources necessary to get the job done at the store level. They keep the stores severely understaffed. This leads to poor customer service, animal care, upkeep, etc… If you visit a PETCO you will see what I mean. If you work at the store level in any capacity you must be able to work hard all day long while juggling many, many different tasks. Salary was close to $30,000.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 24, 2008
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Mar 2007 - May 2008
Location
Macedonia, OH
Work Environment

Disorganized,

Review

Never enough workers for the shifts. I was never able to leave on time or get my breaks when I was supposed to. I think you should not work here.

Pay

Started at $7.50 an hour and eventually got raise.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 25, 2008
Position
General Manager
Work Dates
Dec 2007 - Dec 2008
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, competitive, fast-paced, flexible schedule, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

To add to the comments about PETCO continues to provide very limited payroll hours to it's stores. As an example, I just ran my store on less payroll for the last two weeks than I normally got in a regular week (this is the two weeks leading to Christmas). All while providing quality animal care (to PETCO standards) and supposedly exemplary customer service (not possible)...PETCO is concerned about profit but senoir leadership seems to not "get" the connection between sales and staffing. More staff equals higher sales. I would definitely not recommend pursuing a career with PETCO.

Pay

Salary - below median for retail management in my area. Vacation time - generous but not staffed enough to be comfortable using it. Bonus - less and less every year. The only perk is a 20% off retail discount.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 16, 2009
Work Dates
Apr 2009 - Apr 2009
Location
San Antonio, TX
Work Environment

Hierarchical, casual, creative, open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I just got hired a couple of weeks ago, and I love it. They do training for about 3 days on the computer, give you 2 workbooks, and I learned so much! I love animals and though, I've had a lot of pets, I guess I didn't know as much as I thought. I learned a lot concerning what kind of food and care the animals should really get, how to train dogs, and what premium dog food really is. Maybe its just my store, but its really cool there. There isn't a lot of workers, it is understaffed, but that just means I get more hours! I don't have a lot of work experience and they started my off at $8.00.
The people that do work there really do love animals, and I was surprised how much they knew about animals, and what food is good for what condition, flea product better, etc.

Pay

Pro- very flexible schedule, good pay, VERY understanding. 20%-30% off even for your family, raise after 60 days. We also had a lot of free food provided by the restaurants near our store (I'm not sure why though lol)

Cons- some of the animals do stink!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 15, 2011
Position
mpt
Work Dates
Sep 2009 - Feb 2011
Location
Union, NJ
Work Environment

Bureaucratic,

Review

As the mpt I enjoyed helping the presentation aspect shine from store to store. As I progressed shifty things started occurring where write ups happened without my knowledge because overtime was occurring due to time for the work. Besides that also one manager had no use for me because p&p didn't matter to her. I would do a planogram next time I went in she put things that didn't belong and blame on me. All in All no one gives a sh** then why create this position. Oh by the way if their a storm of the century expect to be fed ex/ups whether rain .shine, tornado or snow your going to work because they dont care if you crash.

Pay

The pay sucks since cashier when I went to Mpt it went a little up but lousy because you get paid from home store so if your farther you screwed.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 30, 2011
Position
Department Manager
Work Dates
Feb 2007 - May 2011
Location
Houston, TX
Work Environment

Cut-throat, fast-paced, political, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Very low salaries for Managers. If you are hired as a manager from outside you will earn much more. Unfortunately no matter what your position you will not receive any more than an 8 to 10% raise if you are promoted. Some Store Managers who have been with the company long term earn less than $40,000 per year with only a $1000-$2000 bonus. This means that someone who is a cashier and becomes a department manager can earn as little as $9.00 per hour. Which translates into less than $19,000 per year. This is a keyholder position which is in charge of the store most evenings. The average keyholder position in most of retail runs about $30,000 per year.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 18, 2011
Position
General Manager
Work Dates
Mar 2010 - Jul 2011
Location
Tulsa , OK
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I worked at the Petco in OK. It was a very bad experience. There are too many reasons why I will focus on a few.

They plan their hours out by task. This impedes the employees ability to effectively work with a customer.

Point being if a customer is new to fish and they want the complete set up this takes time. Time to explain why and time to pull it all together. Petco does not give stores the correct amount of hours for this. Which leads to poor customer service and a rushed process for all who are involved.
Also they fail when it comes to on boarding new team members. This is another huge issue when it comes to payroll. For a customer who is a new pet parent and needs a entire set up for any animal this takes time and if it’s a new team member doing it who has no experience they don’t factor this into payroll either. i.e. my store had enough payroll for 3 people on the floor most of the day. You can see where when you have a rush and the new guy needs help how this could be an issue.

Petco also treats the animal better than their employees, which does not say much. I personally passed out in the office which I was expected to spend 20 hrs a week in. This is because they are too cheap to put an air-conditioning unit in there. It would get up to 85-90 during the summer time. I was told to by a $35 fan to help. Now this is in comparison to the kennels where we keep the dogs. If the temp get above 80 degrees the kennel has to be shut down and dogs moved out. So what this means is when I pass out in the office which I did, Petco says oh well, but stop everything for a dog or cat? Not so nice. I literally had to bring 4 shirts to work during summer time because I would sweat so much I had to change my shirt. They are cheap!

Here is the best part about their DM’s and HR’s representatives. I personally experienced this myself and assure you legal action has been taken which cannot be discussed. However anyone looking to work for this company needs to know this up front.

Before I started my DM demoted several GM’s to what is called an MPT team. These folks were not given specific measurable reason on why and what they needed to do to improve to move back up. They traveled around from store to store doing merchandising within the OK district. They were pissed and angry about this. They also had MGR access to all they systems i.e. payroll, back office and more. There are two of them who applied 3 times for store MGR positions after I came on board with the company. My DM did not tell them why they could not move up or what they needed to do to improve their performance. This made them very mad and everyone knew it except out DM because he lived in TX and was never around or completely out of touch with his people.

I ran a good store. My DM decided to move an assistant store manager to my store who he wanted me to “fire”. This person had been passed over for a GM spot 3 times just in the 1 year I was with the company. Oh did I mention this person was never told “Why” or “What” they needed to do to improve to get to the next level. Do you see a pattern here? This assistant had been around long enough and had build such good friendships with the MPT people that they bonded over a common enemy, Petco.

He moved this person into my store with these other two highly disgruntled team members on the MPT team. To make a long story short I went on a 9 day vacation with my wife and 3 kids. While I was gone these three people forged pages of time clock punches in an effort to say they were not getting paid right. So I come back from vacation and I lose my job because of a “probability” factor. This was the exact term used by the Texas based Petco HR rep I spoke with. It was more probable that these 3 disgruntled angry employees forged these doc. In an attempt to get more money out of Petco. Or did I who supports a wife and 3 kids really not pay my employees what they were supposed to be paid and jeopardize my family over this? Now I am only speculating that these individuals did this. It could have been someone else completely off my radar. My point is people should loose their jobs based on facts not probabilities.

Yes there are some more details that could take pages to lay out but the bottom line is there is no proof I did this, but Petco operates on a probability factor so they thought it was more probable that I did it. Why, because the Ivory tower bastard had no idea about how poorly my DM handled these 3 people and how upset they were with Petco. I’m not sure if they knew I would get fired or if they were just wanting more money. Either way this is a bad way to run a company. They had no regard to the human factor and how their decisions affect people and their families.

I guess it goes to show you get what you pay for and since they pay crap they get crap!

Pay

Starting pay was $25 hr
Vaccation pay (PTO)is done in a lump sum start of every year.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 20, 2012
Position
Asst.manager
Location
Kernsville, NC
Work Environment

Cut-throat,

Review

I was a assistant manger with Petco a few years back there never was any payroll to support the store an my Manager was a total cut throat. HE SPENT MOST OF HIS TIME LOCKED IN THE OFFICE AND THE REST UP THE DISTRICT MANAGERS ****.I know anything that went wrong was my problem and he loved to throw his employees under the bus. To make a long story short this company is disorganized no one has a clue and they love to cut throats unless you cant find a job dont climb aboard this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 10, 2012
Position
Aniumal care giver
Work Dates
Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Location
Burlington, MA
Review


I can not understand these people and there bad experiance I went to work for Petco two yeats ago and my experiance has been a great one! May-be I am just in a really good store. That could be! But I love what I do in taking care of the small animals cleaning out their cages, checking for the temps to make sure they are alright and other things to takeof the store before opening! I have great managers so nothing is really a problem!
I would recommend Petco to anyone as a great place to work!

Pay

Prohaps there could be a bit more organginzation in the store where I work. Like keeping the brooms out in the departments and putting the carrages where they belong. and some other things of that nature. Other than this there is not to much I can say on this matter!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 10, 2012
Position
Aniumal care giver
Work Dates
Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Location
Burlington, MA
Review


I can not understand these people and there bad experiance I went to work for Petco two yeats ago and my experiance has been a great one! May-be I am just in a really good store. That could be! But I love what I do in taking care of the small animals cleaning out their cages, checking for the temps to make sure they are alright and other things to takeof the store before opening! I have great managers so nothing is really a problem!
I would recommend Petco to anyone as a great place to work!

Pay

Prohaps there could be a bit more organginzation in the store where I work. Like keeping the brooms out in the departments and putting the carrages where they belong. and some other things of that nature. Other than this there is not to much I can say on this matter!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 10, 2012
Position
Aniumal care giver
Work Dates
Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Location
Burlington, MA
Review


I can not understand these people and there bad experiance I went to work for Petco two yeats ago and my experiance has been a great one! May-be I am just in a really good store. That could be! But I love what I do in taking care of the small animals cleaning out their cages, checking for the temps to make sure they are alright and other things to takeof the store before opening! I have great managers so nothing is really a problem!
I would recommend Petco to anyone as a great place to work!

Pay

Prohaps there could be a bit more organginzation in the store where I work. Like keeping the brooms out in the departments and putting the carrages where they belong. and some other things of that nature. Other than this there is not to much I can say on this matter!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 28, 2014
Position
sales associate
Work Dates
Nov 2014 - Nov 2014
Location
Elmhurst, IL
Review

From what I have seen, the GM and GSM and DM only care about their end of the-year bonus. The only concern is what dogs can be shoved into grooming with out the salon ability to handle them properly. No water, tied to a wall, "I'm not reallyhre" attitude from manager. The GM doesn't care, as long as $$ is being made.
The employees are not happy, but are being micromanaged. The pets are of the least concern.
In the overall store, there are some kind people.They try really hard to do their best.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No