Progressive Metal Manufacturing
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Aug 27, 2009
Position
Clerical
Work Dates
Jun 2002 - Jun 2009
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, conservative, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

PMMCO is a pit. Don't even waste your time interviewing with them. They will tell you exactly what you want to hear at your interview and then never keep a single promise they made you. I wasted 7 years of my life in that rat hole and I regret every single second of it now. The day after my 7 year anniversary the "H.R. Manager" called me in her sad little dump of an office and said, "Yeah, so we're gonna go ahead and lay you off too". I kid you not that is exactly what she said! One would think that after 7 years she could've come up with something a bit more professional than that. No severance package not even a goodbye from the owner and his wife who had been at my WEDDING just 4 months earlier! Oh yeah, did I neglect to mention that? The so called "owner" LOVES to act like he cares about you as a human being but please trust me on this; you are nothing more than a slave to him and he will turn on you and dump you just like you were a piece of gum on his shoe. He didn't even have the courage to come out of his shabby little rut of an office and say goodbye. They never gave me the amount of money that they promised they would pay me. In addition to the fact that they never gave me the raises that they promised me they gave everyone a 10% pay cut in January (for those of you still working there; you don't REALLY believe that you'll ever get that back do you?) which meant that I was making less there after 7 years than when I started. The benefits are pathetic the building is filthy and probably a serious health hazard. It's just an awful, evil, nasty place. Stay away from it if you value your soul.

Pay

Perks? Are you kidding me? They change insurance carriers every single year so every single March you have to re-enroll with a new company and pick new doctors etc. They stopped the 401k match and there is no such thing as sick time. The only people who get bonuses are whoever happens to be their current favorites at the tacky little holiday party they force everyone to attend every year. They hand out these awards called, "The Presidents Award" and we're all supposed to nominate people and the MANAGEMENT TEAM votes on the winners but no one really knows what it takes to win one so the same people win every year and they all happen to be their little pets. Yeah, don't count on bonuses or anything else. Oh, there is free coffee in the front office but it's horrible. Maybe you can call that a perk.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 2, 2010
Position
Supervisor
Work Dates
Dec 2007 - Dec 2009
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, political, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Although the review of Progressive Metal above is a bit harsh, the facts seem accurate. And I would agree with the conclusion: Run away! They gave no notice of termination or other changes; they just spring them on you one day, no matter how long you've been there.

Work conditions, even in the so-called offices, are horrible. Offices look like something out of a 1970's movie, with dark panelling and yellow chairs. Men and women share the same dirty, ugly bathrooms in the offices. I couldn't believe they don't have a Men's bathroom and a Women's bathroom!

The turnover rate at that company seemed to be like McDonald's. If you get an interview here, please ask them how many people have been hired to do the job you are interviewing for in the past 5 years. If they are honest, it will be at least 3 people. Average stay for most jobs there has to be only about 1 or 2 years. They couldn't keep most of the last 10 people they've hired for office positions.

Pay

Salary seemed ok. Vacation was ok too, as long as you negotiate up front. They do try to keep you with random bonuses from time to time.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 17, 2010
Position
Beast of burden
Work Dates
Jan 2009 - Jan 2010
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Strict, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

After reading the two reviews here, I feel compelled to post my experience. Both reviews are harsh, but I must admit I felt the same way after working there a year. Rumors spread quickly there. (I heard rumors that there were lawsuits against the company and that they were being investigated for employee abuse--may not be true, but was scary to me!) I can confirm that the police were onsite three times during my time there.

Overall I had a decent experience, but it seems that was only because my job was separated from the main work at the company. I too was disgusted by the bathrooms and shabby office environment. One office was completely redone recently and is quite nice though.

They have indeed lost many (over 10 by my count) professionals within the past 2 years. Professionals with positive attitudes don't last long there, especially if you tick off the family members who work there (many employees are relatives of each other!) I felt betrayed from day 1 and should have turned around and left right away. So I feel I must warn people to be careful about this company and research it very well. But I stuck it out for a year or so due to the economy. The physical, emotional and mental environment is dark, dreary and very very negative. I felt my profressionalism was in jeopardy within a few months.

Pay

Salary was decent, but seems like everyone was treated separately; if parts get behind everyone even in the office, are demanded to work Saturdays. The end of the year "perks" can be quite embarrassing. If you are chosen by management, you might get a president awared as a perk, but then other employees feel snubbed because there is no rhyme or reason as to who gets the award (which I heard is quite generous). But if you make a mistake or two, you will get a buffalo award and be made fun of in front of the entire company as a joke. Bonuses are good however and generous. So if you can put up with the garbage and withstand being unfairly treated by other employees and sometimes by management, the pay might be worth the suffering. Oh and another perk is that porn is often shared on the shop computers because there is no one taking care of the computers!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 23, 2011
Position
Grunt
Work Dates
Mar 2011 - Mar 2011
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Strict, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Being vague is the thing i guess, to "protect" people. They don't deserve even one star or dollar. They want IMMEDIATE adjustment of your ablity to perform beyond optimum at EVERY second, jumping straight into a 10 and 12-hour/day work schedule, which they will change start or finish times from week-week, even as a new employee of only a month. Even if you clearly demonstrate the ability to learn, do things properly, and even the willingness to move at an extremely fast pace continuously for hours at a time, it doesn't matter. No time to work up to speed when working on a new part. Supervisors in one area are apes and chest-beaters, not very helpful, and display no patience when asked questions, yet think they are the best the industry and world have to offer. They can mention quality as part of a company statement all they want, but quality and caring are not on their list, only production. Grinding burrs off parts as they are produced, is preferred to sharpening tools. If you are an honest, hard-working individual who only commands so little as just some respect and cooperation, and are willing to put up with the other garbage, (yes FILTHY bathrooms, and strictness,) I definitely do not recommend this place as an employer.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 25, 2011
Work Dates
Sep 2010 - Nov 2011
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure,

Review

I read the reviews before I started working here, and have to be honest I was scared about the workplace but needed the job. After being here less than a year i recieved 2 raises. (the old timers got their wages restored after the start of 2011 too) The place has seen many improvements including a new lunchroom and now they ordered new machines for thier laser area.
There were some supervisors that didnt know how to treat people but i have watched them leave or be asked to leave, one after the other. There is a pretty new team here including managers that really seem to be making a change. The pay is pretty good too but still working a lot of hours.
I just wanted to share my experience and would reccomend this job to a friend (I have)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 24, 2012
Position
welding
Work Dates
Aug 2011 - Aug 2012
Location
Ferndale , MI
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, conservative, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I have worked here over a year and have only recieved a sorry pathetic raise of 43 cents. They are extremely uncaring in the fact that they do change start times and hours on a whim with no notice. I personally have had my hours changed 7 times in 2 weeks time. Also there attendance policy is a joke no sick time at all no difference between a excused absence or unexcused. If u miss a day u have to work that day the following year to get it removed off of ur attendance. I know some one who was in the hospital n still received a point oh and by the way 6 points and u are fired. The owner is a piece of garbage who cares nothing for his employees. The above review is correct when they say that they will tell u what u want to hear n then never follow threw at all or even make an attempt. The owner does reinvest into the company a little bit but that is as far as equipment goes. He is a stubborn ignorant person who does what he wants despite have been recommended other wise by his management.

Pay

I would personally say it is a steady job as of right now which is more than a lot of other places can say eight now. But there is a whole lot of crow n garbage u must choke sown to deal with it. All in all I'd say if u are desperate it beats McDonald's but as a serious long term job it is not

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 2, 2012
Position
Laser Operator/Setup
Work Dates
Aug 2008 - Aug 2010
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

I stared as a laborer. I worked my way up fast to a operator. I did get a pay increase for that. I learned the machines well. I was setting up the machines and eventually running the department. But I was still classified as a laser operator. I was told we are not giving pay increases at this time. Not only was I doing the duties of the department leader, I was also given keys and was locking up at night. They laid off the second shift supervisor as well as a number of employees on second shift. But the work load didn't change. I was the only person working in my department. I was given a temp employee with no experience to run four machines. Machines were not maintained properly and it showed as they broke down all the time. Guess who was expected to fix them? The Maintenance person? wrong, it was me. My pay was $10.70 per hour plus $0.90 shift premium. I got a write up also for doing a job I wasn't classified to do. Attendance policy is a joke. No sick days, nope not even unpaid. Points system of 6 points and your terminated. I went to the doctor and was instructed to take three days off. Well Progressive didn't care, I got three points. Benefits? $150.00 Christmas bonus, a week paid after a year. Insurance was terrible too. You are better off finding your own as you will probably save some money. Human resources was also another joke. Apparently H.R. wasn't able to add because i constantly had issues with my pay. After working there over a year I discovered she had my ssi number wrong and when i asked for a new W-4 form she gave me a letter that said it was corrected and refused to issue me a new W-4 form with the correct information. I went to Human Resources to complain and my job description and was told I should be happy to have a job. I also agreed to work a split shift to accommodate the company and train a new employee, and was promised in writing that i would still receive my shift premium. Well it wasn't on my check and I was told that if they gave me the shift premium that they would have to do the same for other employees. Never got it. So I quit over forty dollars. That was best choice I ever made. Oh btw, if you got points you would be stripped of your quarterly bonus. Not really a big deal because those were rare. I did get one in two years I had there. $46.00.

Pay

Sundays begin the week, so If you have a holiday on Monday you might have to work Sunday for straight time. Plus was a dump. Bathrooms we disgusting to say the least. equipment was breaking down all the time. Safety and quality was no concern for HR. And having temps do skilled labor only put more a work load on the people working in the department.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 31, 2013
Work Dates
Jul 2012 - Jan 2013
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Competitive, fast-paced,

Review

I saw this page, and was a bit nervous to take a position here. I was out of work and saw their ad, so I decided to give it a shot. The lady at the front desk was awesome. Always pleasant, very good at getting back to you when you need something. Just a peach. I have been told by some of the folks here that things have been real disorganized in the past. There's always ways to be better but most complaints I hear are just general growing pains of business. I really haven't had much trouble with anyone. I was actually surprised because usually when you work in atmospheres like this one, everyone keeps to themselves and out to get someone else's overtime. People are actually very nice here. Like genuinely nice. Most of the time, you work at a place and people are pleasant or tolerant, or even indifferent. These people here are actually nice. The HR lady walks out in the shop to us. I had no idea where the HR reps office was at my last job. All I had was an email address. The owners are married to each other and everything. Don't get me wrong. You work hard and they keep you honest. But if you do what you need to do, people notice. The only thing, I do wish is we had sick days. But we get paid vacation days, and a lot of spots don't give you that in this economy.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 6, 2013
Position
sales
Work Dates
Apr 2003 - Feb 2013
Location
Ferndale , MI
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, team-oriented, entrepreneurial, fast-paced,

Review

I want to share my experience at PMMCO because I feel they have been unfairly represented. I have enjoyed my job here. They have had problems in the past but are always striving to fix them and to improve. The people who are here work together very well and the atmosphere is pleasant. Most of the people who have posted on this site are the ones who no longer work at PMMCO. In fact, there have been several people who have asked to come back to work after they quit for other jobs. It is a small family run organization that has had growing pains, but they do try to address them. Not always as timely as I would like. The pay is OK, I would say in line with other companies like this. Attendance policy is strict but the attitude is you need to be here in order to get parts out on time.

Pay

The company does profit sharing when they make a profit which is nice, although there hasn't been one every quarter. Most of my friends do not get any profit sharing at their jobs.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 15, 2013
Position
Design Engineer
Work Dates
Jan 2013 - Feb 2013
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, team-oriented,

Review

Engineers are burdened with the reputation of being stand offish during interaction with other people. Like tech guys. My background is project management, primarily as a project lead with release responsibilities. This team is professional, qualified, and to the point. The specs come over and we get together to make it happen, by deadline. The ages vary, but I appreciate competent people on the team. The company seems to be in a season of growth. I am one of several new hires, with new client PO's coming over every week.

Pay

Manufacturing is a different industry than automotive or construction. Deligation is a relic of corporate giants, and serves little purpose here. You have to be ready to move, to solve problems, to take feedback, and make adjustments. Profit-sharing is used to give you a piece of the pie, on top of your salary. Vacation, benefits, and reimbursements are as expected. The expectations are clear. Communication with management is daily, scheduled or impromptu. I don't have any suggestions just yet, as I'm new, but when I do, I'll post again.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 21, 2013
Position
Sales
Work Dates
Feb 2013 - Feb 2013
Location
Warren, MI
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

The company has picked up several new clients recently that seem very promising. New marketing techniques are being implemented bi-weekly, with results charting now, in response to direct input requesed by company owners. Supplies are ordered upon request without much hassle. Each team member is responsible for their own client portfolio, respecting personal preferences regarding networking style and sales techniques. Unsolicited calls are filtered, and new quality measures are being implemented to fortify our pipeline. Goals are discussed frequently with clearly defined expectations. Overall PMMCO is a solid employer choice. I see the models for improvement, and they appear to be effective.

Pay

Pros: mileage, profit sharing, vacation days, retirement, benefits, understanding of personal time. Cons: Small office, some individuals can be resistent to change.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 26, 2013
Position
hourly
Work Dates
Mar 2013 - Mar 2013
Location
Ferndale , MI
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

After working here n then reading the first couple of reviews I feel the need to clarify for possible future employees. As a salaried worker maybe u do get profit sharing ..... Hourly employees have not gotten one in 2 yrs. Yes the attendance policy is strict but only on the hourly ppl. Salary ppl are free to leave when needed to or show up late with no repercussions. Not so with the hourly ppl who are stuck dealing with a rolling calendar yr as far as ur attendance points are concerned. So if u are a hourly employee and ur kid breaks his arm n u leave early u will receive a point that u must work THAT day next yr to get it off ur points. Oh and 6 points n ur fired.

Pay

All lot of pro's it looks like if u are a salary hire but to the rest of u serfs like me find a better place to work for than this.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 12, 2013
Position
floor employee
Work Dates
Jun 2013 - Jun 2008
Location
Ferndale , MI
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, conservative, fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I have drank the company koolaid long enough. Over the past year I have witnessed many things that I consider to be morally wrong. The differences in treatment can not be over stated at how salary is treat with much more respect and leeway. But it is the loss of a supervisor of great stature amongst the work men and woman here alas he is leaving to work for one of the big 3. Without so much as a second thought the owner has not tried to retain this person. His arrogance in the sense that he seems to think anyone can do the job. This is not something I have heard him say at all but the actions speak volumes as to his ego. It seems as if every month some key person is leaving for another job half have left for less money but a better environment. It seems as tho I might soon have to add my name to the list as well.

Pay

There are many other places that are.far worse than this place. It is incredible the amount of stability that they have had considering the economy. But they could be a much better company than they are they just act like imperialist to the hourly workers and it is causing the dissent to worsen. The attendance policy is rigged and skewed against ALL hourly employees and is undoubtedly the most offensive policy I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Profit sharing seems to be only for salaried individuals. There will be only one supervisor left in the whole company after this week and he is not highly thought of by his subordinates. I can only hope the owner will learn from the past year and understand his errors just as he asks of us to do.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 12, 2013
Position
floor employee
Work Dates
Jun 2013 - Jun 2008
Location
Ferndale , MI
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, conservative, fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I have drank the company koolaid long enough. Over the past year I have witnessed many things that I consider to be morally wrong. The differences in treatment can not be over stated at how salary is treat with much more respect and leeway. But it is the loss of a supervisor of great stature amongst the work men and woman here alas he is leaving to work for one of the big 3. Without so much as a second thought the owner has not tried to retain this person. His arrogance in the sense that he seems to think anyone can do the job. This is not something I have heard him say at all but the actions speak volumes as to his ego. It seems as if every month some key person is leaving for another job half have left for less money but a better environment. It seems as tho I might soon have to add my name to the list as well.

Pay

There are many other places that are.far worse than this place. It is incredible the amount of stability that they have had considering the economy. But they could be a much better company than they are they just act like imperialist to the hourly workers and it is causing the dissent to worsen. The attendance policy is rigged and skewed against ALL hourly employees and is undoubtedly the most offensive policy I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Profit sharing seems to be only for salaried individuals. There will be only one supervisor left in the whole company after this week and he is not highly thought of by his subordinates. I can only hope the owner will learn from the past year and understand his errors just as he asks of us to do.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 21, 2013
Position
Stamping
Work Dates
Jan 1993 - Aug 2013
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Competitive, supportive, fast-paced,

Review

People can say what they want, but the people that have been here 10+ years, we know the whole story. This shop has been running steel and aluminum for 50+ years. The number of boots on the shop floor reflects the times. We grew as this area grew. When we were laying off, the whole country was laying off. Plain and simple. I know exactly who wrote some of the comments below, and its a shame. People shouldn't be so bitter on the internet. They might still have a job. If you are thinking about working here, come to work. We are a family, and you feel the weight when a slacker joins the team. Our orders come from the same big corporations you people are dying to be associated with. As other shops go under, we're still here running two plants.

Pay

The best part of this place is the people. Hands down. I'm in production. The starting pay is ok. Not great. Not terrible. Standard hourly situation. Your money is in the overtime. We have plenty of it if you want it. One thing I can say, show interest and dedication and this place will pay to train you in new skills. Shops just don't spend money with you till they know you are going to be here. Insurance is expensive everywhere. I was upset with how much was coming out for my group insurance until I looked up individual plans. Always research for yourself. If you think you can do better and have the time to try, have at it. If you need a stable job, that will be here as your bills grow, I'd recommend this place.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 21, 2013
Work Dates
Oct 2011 - Aug 2013
Location
Ferndale, MI
Work Environment

Competitive, team-oriented, fast-paced,

Review

The way people view work has a lot to do with your situation. I made more per hour at my last job. But PMMCO is much closer to home and I end up keeping more money in my account here after gas is accounted for. Some shops are hard on women and minorities. People here don't care about what you look like. Men help women. Women help men. Everybody laughs and works together. Every shop has career haters, but at least here there's only 2 or 3 in the whole company.

Pay

Pay is cool. I have gotten several raises since I've been here, so they do promote. People have moved up internally. After 6 months it becomes more comfortable than most hourly jobs, as long as you come to work. We get allowances on work boots, we got a bonus this year like I said before, and we do get paid vacation time as hourly people. I'm not sure what others are looking for, but PMMCO fits me and my situation.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No