randstad
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Jun 22, 2008
Position
Agent
Work Dates
May 2005 - Jun 2008
Location
Houston, TX
Work Environment

Strict, conservative,

Review

I enjoy what I do but Randstad is so very strict with everything. An example, if you put a picture of your family on your desk it has to be in an approved picture frame! That's nuts!

Pay

$38,000. Very happy with the compensation!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 29, 2009
Position
Agent
Work Dates
Dec 2008 - Dec 2008
Work Environment

Strict, conservative, competitive, high-pressure,

Review

Very hard sales driven. "Good to know you" is not really the goal anymore. It is very much "good to get your business." Required to make a certain number of sales calls and visits to prospective clients that you have not met with yet. I sometimes feel like a telemarketer.

Pay

$37,000+, quarterly bonuses, reimbursed for mileage and expenses

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 19, 2010
Position
Staffing Consultant
Work Dates
Sep 2010 - Sep 2010
Work Environment

Cut-throat, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

Great job to get experience to move to a better company/job. Great training in place to allow you to be successful...however the CEO and upper management are clueless to how to be successful. All employees are completly over worked and underpaid. I'm jumping to the first opportunity I get to get away from this company. I would rather ride on a garbage truck than to be a pawn for this company. Sales goals are to high to reach because staffing consultants have to many jobs to do at the branch level. As a staffing consultant you will be responsible to make sales calls, visits, presentations, proposals, compliance, HR for employees, pay roll, admin work with in the office, filing, recruiting, interviewing, all the while the phones are ringing constantly, people walk in constantly, and they wonder why you haven't made any calls for the day. The business model that they have is completly flawed. A salesperson should sale, a recruiter should recruit, and a receptionist should act as a gate-keeper to protect others and advise. The offices are leanly staffed, my office has/had 2 people managing 85-100 employees....on top of that we recieve 100+ calls a day, 30-50 walkins a day, and with all this we are expected to make sales calls while managing all this. Upper management is a joke, they are completly out of touch with their employees and reality.

Pay

Pros--pay is ok. Benefits are great. You will get much experience in sales, recruiting, HR, and how to run a business.
Cons---where should I start. You will work long hours
you will never be compensated for your hard work(they find ways not to give you your bonus.
The phone never stops ringing, the only way to move up in the company is to be a branch manager and this is the hardest job in the company. They will shit on you time and time again. As a branch manager you will be responsible for the numbers and managing the office and also you will act as an agent. So you are playing both as a manager and agent. Completely not worth it. I believe in work, however one should be rewarded, don't expect it here.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 17, 2013
Position
Technical
Work Dates
Dec 2007 - Jan 2011
Location
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Review

Randstad and Yacht are the worse company I have ever worked for. The company is full of sneaky managers that only think how to make their own success. They don't care about their self, not about the company and not about the people who are working under them. Those managers make promises they never follow up or they are replaces by other managers. They don't care about sustainable business, because after a short period they are gone. Working for Randstad and Yacht do suck big time for me!

Pay

There are only cons working for Randstad and Yacht.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 15, 2015
Position
Corporate Drone
Work Dates
Apr 2010 - Jan 2015
Location
Atlanta, GA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Pros:
During the Spherion and Randstad merger, a lot of innovations were carried over from Spherion to Randstad
Back Office technology tools are some of the best in the business, with constant updates and new tools added
Randstad US has borrowed the good reputation of Randstad Holdings from Europe (if it can keep it)
So many internal company divisions and departments, one feels like they are always learning
Large and varied client base makes working for Randstad fun at times re: client engagement
Impressive promotional swag and professional publications available for clients
Good opportunity for young professionals to try to work for a large corporation
Randstad owns a Clipper Ship and race car!
IT Department is skillful and expedient
55 year anniversary!

Cons:
Randstad is so heavily metrics based, it has completely forgotten the people element of the people business
Employees at VP level are promoted rapidly while managers or below wait years without promotion
Ridiculously high percentage of internal turnover at every career level, due to unattainable metrics
Turnover causing overwork, loss of bonus, and eventual quitting of most experienced employees
Bonus structure heavily based on factors outside an employee's direct control
Toxic and immature management who rule by finger-pointing, fear, and blame
Micro-managed workplace breeds frustration, discontent and paranoia
Zero communication or strategy from senior "management"
Only company-sanctioned items may be placed on desk
Extremely bureaucratic and inflexible organization

Pay

Lower salary than competition and few perks. Bonuses are carefully designed to be unattainable.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No