sears
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Jan 17, 2008
Position
Assistant Store Manager
Work Dates
Feb 2003 - Jan 2008
Location
Denver, CO
Work Environment

Strict,

Review

I would avoid taking any sort of position with Sears right now. Same store sales have been sinking for years. The information systems and inventory management systems appear to be decades old. Sears is simply being poorly managed. They do not seem to have a path to retail success. Sears has a storied brand and they still have a chance to turn things around but they need the right leadership in place. When this happens I do believe there will opportunity for a fulfilling career with Sears but until that happens stay away...

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 11, 2008
Position
Corporate
Work Dates
Feb 2008 - Feb 2008
Location
Hoffman Estates, IL
Work Environment

Hierarchical, old-fashioned, disorganized, political,

Review

Worked at their corporate headquarters and lived in Chicago. Getting out there was a nightmare. What where they thinking when they moved out of the Sears Tower in downtown!? They built the new HQ in the middle of nowhere, not even near a Metra station (commuter rail). Even if you have a car, you will sit in rush-hour hell. Forget about even thinking about working at this place unless you live nearby.

Pay

Salary was good, management was ehh...just OK. The gleaming headquarters is a huge contrast to their dingy Sears and K-Mart stores. Morale at the store level is at an all time low and the news about their poor performance will only cause the Titanic to sink even more. And think about it, how cool does it sound when you tell somebody that you work for Sears/K-Mart?

Benefits is average, standard 2 weeks vacation. Store discount sucked, 10% off non-sale items at K-Mart, 20% off Sears soft goods, 10% for everything else. I shopped at mostly at Target the whole time I worked at Sears.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 20, 2008
Position
Assistant Store Manager
Work Dates
Feb 2003 - Jun 2008
Location
Denver, CO
Work Environment

Strict,

Review

I would avoid taking any sort of position with Sears right now. Same store sales have been sinking for years. The information systems and inventory management systems appear to be decades old. Sears is simply being poorly managed. They do not seem to have a path to retail success. Sears has a storied brand and they still have a chance to turn things around but they need the right leadership in place. When this happens I do believe there will opportunity for a fulfilling career with Sears but until that happens stay away...

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 1, 2011
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Dec 2010 - Jul 2011
Location
Manchester, CT
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, competitive, old-fashioned, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Sears is a very "old" company. Not in that the employees or customers are elderly, as there is nothing wrong with that. In that everything they use, sell, and utilize is out of date or on its' way out or just plain obsolete.

The computers use Windows NT still, the inventory system is archaic, the registers look like they need an entire room with a punch card to operate, and there is no way to "streamline" any process. If you need to do something over, you have to start ALL over. No starting from where it screwed up...and this is simply on the mechanical end. The management ranges from over-worked, under-appreciated, and stressed; to completely apathetic with the Store Manager being the worst of all.

In short, it is a very hostile, very unfriendly (behind the scenes), and very competitive environment based around selling credit card applications to people who can barely make ends meet in a struggling economy.

Pay

I get no bonuses, and I am paid minimum wage (8.25 an hour at the moment). Reimbursements include $4 for every credit application after the fourth, including all past applications ($16 minimum).

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 17, 2011
Work Dates
Oct 2010 - Nov 2011
Review

I am currently employed at sears. I worked out on the sales floor and in the warehouse. Current starting pay is minimum wage with no raises because of the wage freezes. They offer part time and full time insurance. I am part time and 95 percent they hire are part time. Hours vary from 5 to 30 each week so you cannot plan anything financially. Full time employees are only guaranteed 30 hours a week. Not 40. If you are lucky enough to get a lead position you will only be making 10 dollars an hour. I work with a woman who has been there for 19 years and she is not making over 9 dollars an hour. That is because when they would continue to raise minimum wage law that was considered her raise for the year. They have an automatic scheduler now that schedules you in 3 and 4 hour shifts instead of a normal 8. So if you have to pay daycare or above average gas costs you are paying to work here. The cheapest part time health insurance plan costs over a 100 dollars every 2 weeks for 2000 dollars worth of coverage for an entire year. I don't know about full time insurance. You can only enroll in insurance one time per year so if your hired in after October you have to go until the following October until you can sign up for it. But they did offer PET insurance midway through the year. My managers and fellow co workers are for the most part enjoyable. Probably the reason I am still here... And the economy. After the holidays are over they cut hours terribly. Almost non existent. I've went almost two weeks without work last year. If you get hired on as a cashier watch out.. If you do not keep your credit applications to par youu will be fired or your hours will be cut until you quit. A few times a year they will have incentives for cashiers to earn 4 dollars per credit application they get in a MasterCard not regular sears card. You can plan on working every weekend as it is retail. The company spent tons of money on inspirational videos, bracelets and pens for us to wear to try up increase our morale for sales. I think a RAISE would suffice. I am thankful to have a job at this point but this is the reality of sears as if right now.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 7, 2012
Position
Cashier
Review

I started at sears not too long ago. At first I loved it! Then they started get extremely pushy with selling credit apps and now I dread going to work everyday! I know I shouldn't complain because I'm not forced to work there. It's just that I am not satisfied with my job anymore. I think I am going to quit sometime soon.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 16, 2012
Position
Associate/Photographer
Work Dates
May 2010 - Feb 2011
Location
Coon Rapids, MN
Work Environment

Disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: You get to take photos and learn more about portrait photography.

Cons: On the days you don't work you are almost always on 'flex' (on-call) and the manager(s) will call you in on those days just so that they don't have to work or because they don't want to have to close the studio. They will get away with this by saying that they thought it was going to be too busy for them to work the studio alone.
You get a low pay (around $8.50-$9.00), which sounds okay EXCEPT for the fact that you are constantly on-call, you have to run the studio solo very often, and you practically have more responsibilities than the manager does.
Customers will at time complain about you. NO MATTER how well you actually take photos. The manager(s) will take this as an opportunity to be able to criticize you for things they themselves don't do well with.
You are expected to sell a LOT of photos, but you hardly ever get commission for any of it.
Your hours change a LOT from week to week. One week you might work 30 hours and the next you are working 3 hours. And despite what they might say, it is NOT based on how well you do in the job, its based on who the favorite/friend is of the manager.
This job is not worth it, trust me, if your desperate for a job go work at a McDonalds (it would be better than Sears Portrait Studio... anything would be better than working at Sears Portrait Studio).
Sears Portrait studio does not appreciate their employees, they don't pay well enough for how hard this job is, and they hire the absolute worst managers possible.

Pay

Starting: $8.00
Ending: $9.00

No bonuses. No vacation time.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 4, 2012
Position
Sales
Work Environment

Strict, flexible schedule, disorganized, political, bureaucratic,

Review

First of all, I was nearly desperate in this ongoing recession, to pick up some income - to bring anything but welfare to the family budget. Looking back at my hiring process, it went all too easy. I have made more than double the income Sears offered to pay me, but for this reason I took it. Have worked for 2 years now and have not received any review or salary increase for the stated reason that the company is doing poorly and sales are down.

Management is highly political and non-supportive, communication is non-existent, and the sole purpose of Sears is to make sales and sell customers extended warranties, which they push like a bulldozer. Customers are constantly asking me when they're closing their doors, and I dissuade their thoughts to the positive. However I've lost faith in this company and am desperately looking again for another job.

If I could move heaven and earth, I would advise you to RUN the other way from even considering this company as your employer.

Pay

Under $9
No change

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 13, 2012
Position
cashier manager
Work Dates
Oct 2005 - Dec 2010
Location
El cajon, CA
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, old-fashioned, political, high-pressure,

Review

Sears was a place to move up the ladder quickly if you have drive to sell sell sell. The pressure for the sales floor and the management was intense. It is an old company that has yet to move into the future with product and technology. The basis of driving profitable revenue is Credit Card applications. Constant threat of write ups to the cashiers for not meeting daily/weekly/monthly quota's with credit card applications and customer service surveys. It was a constant push on the customers and high-pressure on the team. I was constantly told "Your only as good as the day!" I would not recommend to anyone to work for this company unless you want the experience to appreciate other company's. The advise my store manager gave me was "be the velvet hammer" and build "a rhino hide" ...if that says anything about the mentality of the company and its management.

Pros
First in the company was like a honeymoon period. Quick and praised and then reality of selling hit quick. Being driven it was a challenging and a fast paced environment.

Pay

Pay $10.00 hr. with vacation time and credit application bonuses.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 6, 2012
Work Dates
Sep 2012 - Oct 2012
Location
Canton, OH
Work Environment

Disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I got to work not even close to 2 weeks and they let me go because I was "not fast enough or ready for the Christmas season" to come. They were thrilled in the beginning to hire me but within a couple of days they started getting nasty with me and cutting my hours back. There was no communication or "hey pick up the pace" or reviews in these past two weeks to see what I could improve on. Sears is a big company with a lot of product in so many places. It doesn't just happen over night that one should know where everything is at and how to do certain things. That will be the last time I ever step foot into a Sears/Kmart store. They didn't train me well enough number one and then they expect me to memorize the user name and login to clock in just like that--not going to happen especially since it was a 14 digit number.

Pay

Minimum wage which is $7.70 and if having a customer purchase instore online-little commission for that and getting them to take out credit apps.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 10, 2012
Position
Farting
Work Dates
Nov 2012 - Nov 2012
Review

It seems we're entering an era in human industry where employees expect to slack off for $10 an hour. Sears is like any job in history - it has expectations. I have been a cashier during Christmas seasons and slow seasons, both of which I did successfully. My store has a nice environment and I appreciate the help I'm receiving from the management. The company provides about 5 different ways to add on to your paycheck in the form of credit applications, shop at home, and free consultations. A cashier normally making $8.00 an hour can expect to make much more when these benefits are taken into account.

Tip: if you don't like your job then quit. I have read reviews about almost every single company in the country being a "terrible" place to work. By this logic, no one should work anywhere. I suppose it's just the mentality of a work force filled with people expecting to get paid $12.00 with two hour long lunches and an opportunity to play grab ass with the management.

If you have a work ethic, you should be fine. Getting a customer to apply for a credit card is not difficult, and the quota is only like 1 a day (you can get 40 or more customers in one day.) ontop of the fact that they will usually want to since there are some benefits. If you want to keep your job, be willing to work. If you don't have the motivation to do the minimal amount of tasks your employer asks of you, then do the world a favor and keep out. We're tired of putting up with lazy workers.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 13, 2012
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Sep 2012 - Nov 2012
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

I love sears. Everyone is friendly there. It's like a second home. Sears offers competetive salary. I've been there about three months now. Cashiers are required to get credit apps and emails. For ever thousand dollars you are required to have a credit app. I usually get about 8-10 per thousand. Some cashiers do horrible on credit. It all depends on how good of a sales person you are. Sears pays $2 per app. Some months it's $4. I'm getting $4 per app this month. I have 101 apps so far for this month and i still have two more weeks to go. My goal 200 apps for this month thats a lot of extra money to my pay check!

Pay

Stating Salary: $8.25
Credit Apps: $2-$4
Comision on Online Orders (Store to Home): 3%

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 13, 2012
Position
MCA Merchadise Pricing Associate
Work Dates
Mar 2012 - Dec 2012
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Casual, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Well I've worked for sears for about 7 to 8 months now. When I started I was doing sales. I did sales for about three weeks and then my manager came to me and asked about being an MCA. I was hesitant at first because I thought maybe he thought I was not doing a good job doing sales. Anywho he told me to think about it. I said sure. Then he switches me to MCA without hearing my answer. I did not get upset I just ok thats cool. I just felt so blessed to have a job. Up until now I like working there. I got along with my co-workers and everything was all good. Holiday season comes around and all of a sudden they cut hours. Now I do work part time but with the hours they gave me for the next pay period sucks. How can they cut hours during the holiday season? I thought it might have been because the regular associates are splitting hours with the seasonal associates but then I find out that the managers play favoritism towards particular people and deliberately give one person more hours than the rest of the team. If the hours don't pick back up after the holidays you will find me working for another company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 26, 2012
Position
Asst.Shipping/Receiving Mgr.
Work Dates
Dec 1976 - Mar 1989
Location
San Antonio, TX
Review

Started as a teenager in school...partime..old "D" catalog store..advanced to "A" store near home.When I first started Sears had the rep of really being a nice place to work.Oldtimers were still getting matching money from Sears for their stock investments..and depending on length of service that would match in multiples..depending on years of service..x2..x3 and x4 for those with over 25 years..I remenber talking to truck drivers who had been with Sears since after WW2..who were paper millonaires..and this was common.They did away with the x3 x4 and even x2 sometime in the late seventies.Always hard to get a non-selling fulltime job with Sears.The benefits were extra holiday pay.."personal "..6 monthes of paid full pay sick leave if needed per year.I finally got a FT job..1979..then sucessive cost-cutting over the next ten years.retired/canned/incentives took out the best FT managers/workers...they started to farm-out everything..drivers-repairman-deliveryman...I saw the writing on the wall after 13 years and gave one years notice..they understood...I was making $7.60 ..when I left..which equates to $16.10 in real value comparison to 2012...They let Wal-Mart get ahead ..by just not doing ANYTHING ...But the people were fantastic to work for..

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 27, 2012
Work Dates
Dec 2009 - Dec 2012
Location
Redding, CA
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

This is the worst company to work for. Ive been there for a few years now still making minimum wage. The only review ive ever had was about 3 months after I started there. As for a pay raise, forget about it. I work in merchandise pick-up so I dont get the luxury of having opportunities to make extra cash like getting credit apps or making commission off sales. Hell, I cant remember the last time a manager walked up to me and said "Good Job" or "Keep up the good work". I enjoy the people I work with, as for the people I work for, they are the most clueless group of individuals ive had the displeasure to work for, with the exception of a couple. One assistant store manager, K. M., will act like she is your best friend until she decides to have a little bi-polar episode and treat you like a useless piece of shit because your not able to figure out any work problems on your own and the only way to make her happy again is to kiss her ass. As for favoritism goes, the managers dont give a shit, they'll tell you to your face who their favorites are and how they give them the most hours. Needless to say, I am desperatly looking for a new job where the people will actually care about the work you do instead of Sears who criticizes everything you do but never praises you. My best day there will be my last day there and I can tell that company how I really feel about them. Until then I will bite my tongue because even though I hate every time I have to walk through those doors, I still have a son to take care and cannot afford to let my personal feelings get in the way of being able to provide for him.

Pay

8.00/hr

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 12, 2013
Position
Merchandising and Customer Assistant
Work Dates
Oct 2012 - Apr 2013
Location
La Crosse, WI
Work Environment

Creative, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule, high-pressure,

Review

Pros: I've worked at Sears for over a year and it definitely has its moments. My management team is amazing! Our store manager is very active in the day-to-day business, even though she doesn't have to be. All of the Assistant Store Managers are there to guide their departments, but are very helpful to other departments. We all have those few co-workers we don't get along with, but usually it's because they have a poor work ethic and they don't stay long. I started off at Sears as a part timer, and I'm thinking about trying to go to Hoffman Estates (Headquarters). I love merchandising for Sears. Another great thing, they are a very member (customer's to most stores) focused company. There has been a big shift in how we train in new people and that's for them to focus on how great of a member experience we can give. The company is definitely heading in the right direction with merchandise and member service. They have a network for associates to communicate, which can be really helpful and help the company, instead of individual stores.

Cons: There are a ton of technological issues. Getting issues taking care of can be quite frustrating, *but they do get fixed and Sears always does the best it can*. I just wish Sears would move forward technologically, but keep the great member service approach they want.

I've wanted to quit many times, but each time it was from a bad customer experience. I got over it and I realize that I wouldn't mind working more for Sears.

Pay

I started at minimum wage of 7.25 per hour at part time *15-29 hours per week*. I now make 8.58 per hour (I think) at full time hours *30-40 hours per week*. I have accumulated approximately 8 hours of vacation time. I understand how to get the best deals with Sears Vacations, Shop Your Way Rewards, and I work with a great community of people.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 21, 2013
Position
csr/sales
Work Dates
Jan 2013 - Jul 2013
Location
Winter park, FL
Work Environment

Casual, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

the experience there was terrible. I can't get into the details, but I can say that, the winter park call center is a nightmare. I was a good associate, and randomly mistreated by managers and others for no reason. If you are not ghetto fat dumb ugly strange or weird you won't fit in. Worse, the managers are corrupt and unethical. On three occasions my managers did not warn me that I was on a final warning for being terminated--this is their job! because of THEIR incompetence I almost lost my job once, and then lost it because my manager chris did not tell me I was on a final warning. somehow, this is my fault and they fired me anyway? worse, I was interrogated, mistreated bullied by chris and another manager, for something very minor which they made a huge deal out of and treated me like a criminal. they treat good decent honest hard working people like criminals and its a really bad place. I was a very good associate, worker, and did my job well and was not loud or obnoxious, but they love the obnoxious rude people and will reward and favor them and like to pick on and bully good nice associates. They will take people aside claim they are coaching them just to chat with them about women. I hear some of these 'male managers' are sleeping around with the women that work there. The entire place is terrible and a circus. one manager would come and rub up against my chair from the back (huh sexual harassment)??? another came and banged my chair really hard...physically hurting me many times. The minute I complained about this, I was fired, no joke, but really I was fired because of something my manager didn't tell me but I found it ironic all of it. This place is very corrupt dishonest unethical beware that's all I can say. if you are a ghetto loser, dumb weird have an IQ of 2, you will fit right in and get treated well but if you are not that and better they will treat you like dirt and make sure to make your experience there a living hell....

Pay

Pros: its a job, money

cons: everything else

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 1, 2013
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Sep 2013 - Dec 2013
Location
Falls Church , VA
Review

It does what it is suppose to do which is for extra cash but if your looking for a permanent position your out of luck because the pay is not that great! In fact i was suppose to get 7.25 but was raised to 8 probably because they saw how pathetic that was. Seriously 8 is still little luckily they have credit. Credit was the only thing that helped in this job. Managers were really friendly and staff as well! Loved the people their. Especially hate there online training that is unending and Rewards.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 2, 2014
Work Dates
Jul 2012 - Jul 2014
Location
Cupertino, CA
Review

Sears is the worst place to work at ..the store in cuprtino is orst of them all.store manager is the worst. Very rude.since I been working there, people been quiting left and right everyone from Receiving to Sales to department managers to cashiers, everyone.....I worked there and after 2 yeare they told me I was getting my hours cut.not reason given nd was told that it will be oncall from now..1 year passed by and they still havent called me back...sears just close down your store for customers and tell people that work there go home, we will call u if we need u.Sears Cupertino is worst of them all....

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 18, 2014
Work Dates
Jul 2014 - Jul 2014
Location
Portland, OR
Review

There are no cons at this jobs, it is absolutely great! The location might be far but the pay is completely worth it! It is set at the minimum wage of the whole city. Compared to most states it is worth it!

Pay

I started at 8:95 but when the minimum wage was increased, it became $9.10! And that is way better than most other states. So I thank Sears for this opportunity given to Oregonians!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 22, 2014
Position
Hardlines MCA
Work Dates
Sep 2013 - Jul 2014
Location
Clarksville, IN
Work Environment

Hierarchical, casual, creative, conservative, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

I started in sales because it was the first job that came along that let me plan my own schedule. I have Aspergers and ADD, but I am good at customer service, so I went through the motions doing sales. I never asked anybody to sign up for credit cards, cause I think credit cards are dumb. Alot of times I wanted to quit, because I made too much money.. all my bills are based on my income, and they kept scheduling me full time hours and I have kids I take care of by myself. But I stuck with it, and learned alot about tools and yard equipment, and eventually switched to the position I like, Hardlines MCA. Here I can focus on resetting planograms and making the tool department look nice. My managers really like me.. they call me "the A team". I havent bothered to check how much I make an hour now, and they basically let me work whenever and however I want. The inventory system and website is maddening, but If you have a good work ethic, you can usually find ways to keep from going crazy. They still want to schedule me full time hours, but unfortunately I can't.. I have a disabled son to take care of. Its not the best job, but you can build valuable skills for a future job.

Pay

$1400 gross when I made commission . I probably make minimum wage now. I havent bothered to look into any benefits.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 17, 2014
Position
MCA
Work Dates
Aug 2013 - Aug 2014
Location
Savannah, GA
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized,

Review

The pros of the job are that you have a great group of people to work with except some of the managers who only really have to work if one of their employees isnt there.THE CONS We have a store manager who only worries about impressing the district manager and other people above him. He doesnt care about planograms or creativity of anyone even his leads. He does a walk through and explains how he wants things done. You dont get trained like youre supposed to and no one has time to do any game on or level up training unless they have down time (never happens unless youre a sales consultant with slow foot traffic in your area.) The job is like being a maid/butler except you get paid wayyyy less. The customers add into the frustration as well. Our leads and managers want us to make sure everything is folded or hung but thats hard to to when not even the customers have any repsect for putting things back to where they got them even if its right behind them. you have no specific job if your an mca. youre pretty much doing anything they ask of you from working in a department you didnt apply for to running cash registers. you have people (visual) who practically do the same thing you do and get paid more. It doesnt help to discuss the earnings of the stores previous day during the morning meetings because out of the 10's of thousands we make in a day we cant even get a pay raise but the store can go digital by having wifi routers installed through-out the building. minimum wage is nothing to live off of when your hours get cut randomly. As for cashiers, theyre stuck in a pyramid scheme so to speak. if you dont make a certain amount of credit apps your hours get cut. but no one wants to understand that customers complain about the credit apps with high interest rates and if someone has credit already we can force these people to apply for credit. hell thanks to previous years no one is trusting credit because they already have plenty of debt to pay off. And as i was informed , for any employee that does credit apps the first 4 dont count towards any commission which is no more than 4% at some times. which as a cashier or mca is the only thing you can rely on to get a decent pay check. To sum it up the store caters to a specific group of customers and only care about whos making them money. The store hires from outside before they hire from the inside. They try to put employees into competition against one another or bribe them into doing better with offers of food parties and gift cards for whoever makes the store more money via credit apps. Horrible place to work.

Pay

Started at minimum wage for the state and still at minimum wage.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 29, 2014
Position
floor associate
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - Nov 2014
Location
Chula vista, CA
Review

I love the people I work with, the only people I have a problem with are management! They don't care about us they only care about themselves and what their managers say. They're rude! I'm done with sears and I recommend it to no one! You're better off flipping signs for a better pay!

Pay

Minimum wage pay and you don't get a raise ! Cheap place to work at!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 11, 2014
Position
MCA
Work Dates
May 2013 - Dec 2013
Location
Austin, TX
Work Environment

Cut-throat, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Pros - Most of the coworkers are the best, everybody I've worked with was great (your experience may/have differed)
Cons - Many managers I worked with were the most laziest people ever. This many have been my first job (with no experience), after only working a week as an MCA, a coworker wanted me fired. She wanted me fired for my hours, and to get a raise. Then my manager would give me loads amount of tasks to perform, and when one of those tasks weren't completed she would yelled and undermine me in front of customers. Then the coworker who tried to fire me became a lead in no time, and now the two sit all day in the office doing nothing and complaining on how no one does any work.

Pay

Started minimum wage and got .50 raise, They say flexible schedule, but I let them know i can't work a certain day... DENIED!
friends were in desperate in need of jobs and in good faith wouldn't let them apply.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 28, 2015
Position
front end associate/cashier
Work Dates
Dec 2007 - Dec 2012
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Review

HR makes work sched & abuses it by a reward/punishment system that is based on who happens to be best/least liked by HR, regardless of employees work ethic/productivity/etc. Seniority doesn't exist at the store. Need min of 1000 hrs worked in 1st yr in order to even qualify to begin ACCRUING vacation hrs your 2nd yr. Employees all hired in on premise that company is "currently on wage freeze", which has been ongoing since about 2005! So regular associates get no raises at all. $2.00 commission for each credit app is a joke since front end is so understaffed that the checkout lines extend into clothing dept & customers don't want to spend more time at check out & are miffed to have waited so long already. Previous mgr was boinking a floor associate whom got promoted afterward & relative of same mgr fired for stealing. P/T only & 4-6 hr shifts usually, means they can & do sched you to work every day for wks on end & you don't get any O.T.. If you request a day off in advance, they sched you anyway & if you challenge it they take you off the sched altogether for a wk or more as punishment. They under appreciate good employees and favor druggies & thieves. No wonder they are losing money!!

Pay

No raises unless gov't mandated or promotion of personal favorite of mgmt. No bonuses.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No