State Farm Insurance
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Mar 17, 2008
Position
Claims representative
Work Dates
Jan 2005 - Nov 2006
Location
Bakersfield, CA
Work Environment

Fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, bureaucratic,

Review

State Farm gives you to much of a workload. It's also very bureaucratic. I will say though that they have excellent training. It’s a good place to learn the business but I’m not sure if you would want to stay long term.

Pay

Salary in the low-mid 30's

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 13, 2009
Position
Claim Adjuster
Work Dates
Oct 1999 - Mar 2006
Location
Dupont, WA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, conservative, fast-paced, old-fashioned, political, bureaucratic,

Review

State Farm is what you make of it. The Insurance Industry has dramatically changed with regard to Cliams over the last ten to twenty years. This change has gone hand in hand with technology and resulted in a much diminished personal approach. This has been bad for employees and customers alike. It is very difficult to accurately assess the circumstances, scope and coverage of a claim when the only contact you have is by phone. What is even worse then the limitations of "phone claim handling" are the metrics used to evaluate the poor bastards trying hard to properly handle the claim. Management wants numbers, customers want your time, you can't provide both. The folks who do this job have my respect. If you can disassociate yourself from normal feelings you might have a future here. I didn't.

Pay

Benefits with large Insurance companies like State Farm are pretty good, but promotions and plum opportunities are too often based on who you know, not what you know. State Farm will often promote someone from a different department to manage a Team with responsibilities he/she has no experience with. This may "round out" the person being promoted, but it almost always leaves the Team under served by the Leader. To end on a good note, State Farm tolerates a lot of marginal employees. Many, including myself, left because we had to do others work.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 19, 2009
Position
Claim Adjuster
Work Dates
Mar 2006 - Jan 2009
Location
Ballston Spa, NY
Work Environment

Hierarchical, conservative, supportive, old-fashioned, political,

Review

State Farm has a family kind of feeling. Unfortunately unless your family experience with State Farm is at least two generations long it is hard to feel a real part of the organization. People are nice enough in general, but selection for promotion and better jobs usually go to family members or those with the State Farm blood line. Work pace varies depending on the job. Claims has become a call center operation so I am busy, but other departments appear more relaxed. You don't find employees trying to get into Claims from other jobs, but Claims folks try like crazy to work other places. Don't know why upper management can't comprehend this other than they are using Claims as a way of eliminating those they don't like, but will not fire. Reviews focus on numbers for the most part. Make your numbers they leave you alone. I believe more attention on customer satisfaction would help keep our best insured, but what do I know. State Farm does provide pretty good training so if you are new to the Industry it is at least a good place to start.

Pay

Benefits are pretty much the same across Insurance Companies. Employee contributions have gotten much higher in the last few years but I suspect this is a trend throughout. Although it is tough to break into the "Legacy" promotion group at State Farm they do allow mistakes and endure marginal performers much more than I would. You will not get rich doing this, but unless you really, really screw up, you can be here a long, long time.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 27, 2009
Position
Claim Representative
Work Dates
Sep 1999 - Jul 2004
Location
Tacoma, WA
Review

Not a bad place to work, but not a good one either. State Farm folks are friendly in general, but it is difficult to feel a real part of things unless you have family members working for the company either in Agency or Operations. Employment and advancement is most often based on family, not experience, education or ability. Many, like myself leave after a few years simply because there is no place for us to go.

Pay

Pay and benefits are about normal for the Industry. They seem to reorganize every few months so an ability to adapt is important to maintaining your sanity. If you are just looking for a job, this is not a bad choice, it is just one without much personal growth potential.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 28, 2009
Position
Senior Claim Representative
Work Dates
Oct 2002 - Sep 2009
Location
Bossier City,, LA
Work Environment

Conservative,

Review

State Farm is a good, solid company that is just not too exciting. I've been with State Farm for several years and have been treated fairly and for the most part enjoy my job. Folks are friendly and as I spend most of my time in the Field I don't have too much office nonsense to put up with. Think I deserve more pay and better benefits, but who doesn't? My boss is pretty good and seems to care about me and the others in our group. Only real downside is advancement. I'm not part of the inner circle State Farm family so I'm not really considered for greater responsibility.

Pay

Job security. If you don't cause too much trouble you can be here forever.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 29, 2011
Position
Claim Represetatuve
Work Dates
Mar 1990 - Mar 2011
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, competitive, fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

As you can see, I’ve been with State Farm for several years and must say that it is not the company it once was. I am in the Auto Claim Central operation, which is environment wherein you devote every moment of your life to, as you are subjected to rotating, weekly shift Monday through Friday that run from 7AM till 7PM. In addition, you will also be expected to work rotational Saturdays, rotational holidays and strongly suggested overtime.

The work environment is a matrix style wherein you are micromanaged by multiple managers, supervisors and other elite peers. It is extremely difficult to get any time off from work, as your requests for time-off and vacations are often denied. Promotional opportunities are limited at best and hard work does not necessarily equate to reward.

To be honest, this is not a job for a recent college graduate unless you’re just stopping by to gain some experience. Be careful you’re not sold a bill of goods and neglect to move on before it’s too late. Working here is a lifestyle change and they will own your soul for a few dollars.

I’m not saying it’d the worst job in the world, as these are difficult times out there; however, please do your homework and make sure this is the right job for you, as it will change your life. If you’re an adult with children, you family life will be drastically changed!

Pay

Bonuses are limited, salary if fair, benefits are costly and the work is boring!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 28, 2011
Work Dates
Jun 1998 - Jun 2011
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, competitive, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

The fellow workers are above average. The management practices and styles leave a lot to desire. First, there is a lot of micromanagement. Customers are not really valued as much as leaving on time is valued so no one can claim overtime. It is often management by intimidation--keep self image low so the employees will obey without question. Don't think outside the box seems to be the watchword.

Pay

The pros are the other people you work with who are generally caring, but jot all of them. The cons are the management styles of many of the management. They may care deeply for the good of the employee but do not show it. I feel it would help the morale very much for the managers to make sure they catch the employee doing good and not seem to be trying to catch them making mistakes. Salary is OK, I guess. My job is so hectic and rushed that I seldom take all of my vacation time. Bonuses are for managers, I guess. Don't expect many reimbursements--you are contributing to the good of the company. Benefits are OK but not outstanding.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 4, 2011
Work Dates
May 2005 - Jul 2011
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

This place gets worse as time goes on. Promotions are never done fairly and upper management gives them out to people they like not people who are truly qualified for the job. Everything is micromanaged and good workers never get recognized. Instead of having solid teams they let below average people still work there. If this is a pit stop the training is great but get out. I'm currently looking for new work but tough times in the economy

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 25, 2011
Position
Senior SFPP Rep
Work Dates
Sep 2007 - Dec 2010
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Work Environment

Casual, conservative,

Review

Very little chance for promotion. You have to have a bachelor degree or be best friend's with the supervisors. Even with a bachelor degree you will be waiting in line for someone else to move out of their position and usually there are many waiting ahead of you. The job itself is challenging at first, but then after years of talking to the agents you get so sick of it. It is basically agents calling to blame you for a mistake they made in their office. They have no clue that doing something wrong, like not take down payment for example, will make the system bill the customer wrong. So they are mad at you for their mistake and some of them are very rude. So you have to educate them on how to do things right but half the time they don't listen, they just want you to fix it so the client isn't mad at them. The benefits are about like any other company. About $128/mo for HMO with no deductible. They have tuition reimbursement after 1 yr of emplyment but it must be in the line of work that you are in, such as a business degree. Some of the supervisors are nice and some are micromangers. You have to just hope you get a nice one. It is a mutual company so it is owned by the policy holders. The CEO makes about $10 million/yr. so I didn't appreciate not being compensated for my differential pay being dropped. But that is what happens when you work for conservatives.

Pay

I started at about $12/hr plus 10% differential pay for working a late shift. They decided to change the operational hours and take away our 10% so I lost $200/mo of pay right after I had signed up for health benefits which were about $100/mo. So all together I lost $300/mo in pay which was a hard hit on me. Then State Farm decided they now had enough money to install new revolving doors, a new Verint system, and new lanscaping. It was a slap in the face.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 2, 2011
Position
PCT
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Work Environment

Casual, creative, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

Great Atmosphere, pay, benefits and the only insurance company I would work for!

Pay

16 years and counting!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 12, 2012
Position
Auto Claim Representative
Work Dates
Jan 2000 - Apr 2012
Location
Ballston Spa, NY
Review

This place will systematically suck the life out of you. My work life is horrible. It's like a bad joke. This used to be a great place to work but those days are long gone. You are treated like cattle. Employees have no value. There is no advancement or development.

Management is a joke. They are hardly ever there. Even when you are a manager, not working the hours you are supposed to but being paid for it is stealing. They spend their time flirting with the young female employees because they don't realize they have reached an age where they are now just creepy. Some of them spend time cheating on their wives. Some of the creepers actually have nude pictures on their State Farm issued cell phones.

The job isn't difficult. There is no accountability so do it right, do it wrong, it doesn't make a difference just make sure you do a lot of work. There is an expectation that you work overtime every week. There is no end to it. 20+ hours of training for a new computer system had to be completed on your own time in addition to the mandatory overtime.

Pay

You gets lots of vacation time but you can't actually take it.
If you a want a personal life, stay away from State Farm.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 28, 2015
Position
Business Analyst - Systems
Work Dates
Jun 1991 - May 2015
Location
Bloomington, IL
Work Environment

Casual, creative, open-door, conservative, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I had a very positive experience with State Farm. Great company to work for. I started in June 1991 and my salary basically increased up to five times what my starting salary was. True, the values are changing but aren't they everywhere? None of my managers micromanaged -- not one in my whole Systems career. I don't get where those comments are coming from. True, it is stressful and things are changing rapidly, which contributed to my retirement last May. I am only 58 and am starting to rethink my decision. I am seriously going to try to return to work there, because I miss the rapport and structure.

Pay

Starting - $14,400
Ending - $67,200
Vacation time: 25 days
Bonuses: Approximately $6,500 per year
Very casual and flexible atmosphere.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 28, 2015
Position
Underwriting production
Work Dates
May 1987 - Apr 2015
Location
Charlottesville, VA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I've been with this company 30 years & the current environment is micromanaged to death---everything. Even when you go to the bathroom! They promote it's about the customer philosophy now. That's a joke! I'm not unhappy or hold a grudge and for the most part the people are great. This company uses the "excuse" we are so big all the time!!! I'm not kidding for 30 years it's been the same theme. Constantly trying to catch up..Technology they are so so out of touch with. They are so behind it's not funny. There computer technology is so 1990's....this is a fact. They are relocating the bulk of the business auto and fire to mega hubs....production employees are like factory workers; it is there top priority. Your a number that's it!!! Employees with less than a year or two are offering reviews thru rose colored glasses. Team managers are----do as I say not as I do mentality. IT IS THE MOST UNETHICAL COMPANY I HAVE WORKED FOR; but they like for you to believe otherwise. There are a few caring managers but there's nothing they can do about this work management environment!!! I'm about doing quality work and having a strong work ethic. State Farm as a whole has lost touch with that. Wait until there is a mega CAT loss and see how there mentality changes! State Farm has become a machine it has no tolerance for nothing but production numbers! If you are desperate apply; but in today's environment I would run away as far away as possible! If your in good graces or your managers pet your fine. That seems to be a common theme for reviews on here. Take warning don't fall into the trap....managers for the most part don't have a freaking clue about a normal day for the common employee! No empathy from 95% of them, so be warned. There so called open door policy is a JOKE! If your a manager and not a low level employee your little hiccup is swept under the carpet; moved to another manager position but for regular employee your terminated! All I'm saying is for the manager and up positions your fine do whatever but for the normal employee....proceed with caution. It's not the company it advertises itself to be! It's become a wolf disguised as a lamb....the company as a whole has lost touch....it's become too micro managed. They might be on fortune 500s list of fiancially strong but they are on the bottom of the list when it comes to technology and employee satisfaction.

Pay

Micromanagement is absurd, technology is behind today's standards, and management is for everyday employees is a joke.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 20, 2015
Position
Life Underwriter
Work Dates
Dec 1986 - Dec 2014
Location
Greeley, CO
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I am a long term employee. State Farm has turned into a company run by management people who have no clue about how to do the work!! They promote young newbies who know nothing about the insurance business. Employees are treated like cattle. They must account for every minute of their work day & notify their managment on the system whenver they have to leave their computer. It totally obliterates the trust factor! Obviously management feels none of their employees can be trusted. Middle managment protects their first line supervisors and will even ignore Human Resource notifications regarding sexual harrassment and situations where the supervisor is having an inappropriate affair with their employee. It is not "What" you know at State Farm but "Who" you know, especially in the Life Company. The Life Executives & upper managment have no background in life insurance so their decisions are poor. Oh, and don't attempt to use the Human Resources Open Door Policy because the Human Resource person will rat on you to your management and then everyone will retaliate against you. The company is also unethical and knowingly reports inaccurate data to outside agencies. I was involved in a situation involving nude photos in the past as the other person mentioned about nude photos on the company cell phones. The employee was just given a slap on the wrist and is still employed there. Of course it was a male employee. This Good Ole Boy mentality is very unhealthy and needs to change. Life employees cannot wait to retire and get out of the demanding work environment. Your life becomes your job and management expects you to give blood. There are a few leaders who truly do understand and care but they are afraid to support the employees. The Metrics Tool that they use is a JOKE!!! They tell you to log your activities to your best ability since this tool is not realistic and then they hammer you and interrogate you about your entries!!! You spend more time during the day worrying about where to record your work rather than just doing the work! RIDICULOUS! Finally, the quality of your work is not considered. It is all about the numbers. There are employees who are rewarded for their productivity but their work is unacceptable and wrong. Other employees follow them and have to clean up or fix their work. This information has been reported to management but nothing is done about it because these people are friends or buddies with managment. So, does this sound like a Good Neighbor? I would stay away from this company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No