wal-mart
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Mar 23, 2008
Position
Assistant Manager
Work Dates
Oct 2005 - Mar 2008
Location
Raleigh, NC
Work Environment

Fast-paced, old-fashioned, high-pressure,

Review

$42,000 a year base salary with a bonus based on how much profit we earn. We get a 10% off discount and 2 weeks paid vacation.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 8, 2012
Position
ZMS
Work Dates
Nov 2002 - Apr 2012
Location
Sandusky, OH
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

1628 Management team treats their employees horribly. They are a group of merciful taskmasters. They have no concept of Sam Walton's 3 Basic Beliefs. "Respect for the Individual" does not exist in 1628. The Management Team can lower your pride and dignity at the drop of a hat, and never give it a second thought. Even on the sales floor in front of customers was not exempt from the humiliation. The retaliation is fierce. "Customer Service" is only allowed after all "tasks" are complete. The best and most favorite part of my job was exceeding my customers expectations daily. Acknowledged by my Market Manager more than once.:) My store manager told me once I had to much passion for my job. I just wanted to create the best shopping experience possible. 1628 struggles with "Striving for Excellence" This struggle will continue until the 1628 management team starts leading by example. If they would become true role models (job requirement) the customers and employees would truly benefit.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 17, 2012
Position
Cashier
Work Dates
Nov 2011 - Jul 2012
Location
Citrus Heights, CA
Review

I haven't been working at Wal-Mart long. I was hired in November for the Christmas season as temp and got part time shortly before christmas. After achieving the highest IPH (Items per Hour) in the store, I asked to be trained in other areas. I begged for DotCom, I was trained in that after about 4 months of me asking. Now the CSMs are glad im trained there even though they didn't want me back there at first. I am also trained in Service Desk, after about 5 months of me begging to being trained, only to hear the same excuse. I need you on a belt. I have my own thoughts. The supervisors would much rather have females work in Service Desk at my store than males. There are absolutely NO males that are Customer Service and there are only 3 trained males. One being myself and another being a ex-CSM. On my 3 month eval I got strong performer on all counts. I then asked to move to electronics when i reached 6 months. I was told to keep checking back. When a position did open, the Ass. Manager of that dept informed me that an old employee who was coming back went to our Store Manager to get his old job back in electronics. And because the S. Manager liked him, he got it. The Ass. Manager also told me that the people who he asked about my performance said i was a so-so worker. So all in all, I would call my store frustrating and a little sexist.

Pay

Starting Salary - 8.40
no vacation time
employee discount
holiday pay (after 6 months)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 26, 2012
Location
Lincoln, NE
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Boy i tell yah, i have been with walmart almost 18 yrs and never have i seen such dis-organization in the field of managers and stores managers. i really think they should not put people in positions who r extremely bi-polar or polar. because if you work everyday and exceed your job and then all the sudden a assistant or co-manager- store manager comes by and says what r u doing and tell them notes from another manager that they just plain dont like it,start over or move it 5 times. the ones that do all the work r the dept managers that run 2-4 departs with very very few 1 or 2 part time people in them area's. no extra pay no thank you no job well done nothing.just did you get it done.so tell me who is the under paid people in the stores. i once liked it,but know, well what ever

Pay

Not enough

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 27, 2012
Position
Sales Associate
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec -0001
Location
St. Louis, MO
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I've been employed there for nearly a year now and like most underpaid jobs, they try and get the most work out of you for nothing. The management at the store I work for are all a bunch of lazy, rude, disrespectful barrel of pricks I've ever seen. None of them want to do their job and heaven forbid if they have to. If they do, they bitch and moan to the employees about how they shouldn't have to do what is asked of them.

Most of our equipment is in dire need of repairs and nothing has been done about it because management doesn't want to do their jobs and rectify the issues along with the company not wanting to spend money for the repairs. So, how are we suppose to do our jobs with nothing to do it with?

Managers do not want to help with customers AT ALL!! Instead, they push them over to the associates to deal with them. Even if we're already trying to help with more than one customer at a time. Here's an example; our department manager will ask someone to help with a customer, even if we're all busy and this person is not doing a damn thing. From what we've been told, our department manager is not to help his/her department but can assist other departments. Now, where is this so called teamwork attitude that they preach to us about? Sure as hell not at this company.

This company has a huge turnover rate, employees are in fear of losing their jobs and it is an anti-union organization. If you're hired, they will have you watch a video in orientation that explains how bad the union is. If you're for the union, better watch your back cause chances are, you'll be looking for a new job pretty damn quick.

This company does not pay good, piss poor hours, horrible management, the most crappiest of training and high expectations of the employee. To sum it all up.....this place is a joke. However, if you're like me and in desperate need of a job, it's better than nothing. Hell, I'm still looking for something better so I can escape this nightmare I call a job.

Pay

Pros.....It's a job, a shitty underpaid one but none the less, it's a job.

Cons......Where do I even begin. Get hired on and find out for yourself.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 26, 2012
Position
cashier
Work Dates
Aug 2009 - Aug 2012
Location
Redhawk, CA
Review

The starting pay in any department are about the same and only vary by about 10 to 25 cents unless you are considered to be in a skilled position such as cake decorating...in every department your starting salary is around 8.20 per hour and if you are lucky and stay the cource you will be lucky to get a .40 cent per hour raise only once per year. And there is the bonus employees get 9 months after working there it is a bonus share meaning we get a percentage of profit but based on hours worked. Problem only some people have a fulltime status and 90% are part timers so they have this habit of reducing hours starting 2 months before bonus which greatly reduces your bonus!!! The only benefits are a employee paid health program which is very expensive and againg for the majority of employees which are p/t the only vacation comes 2 years after your start date and is based again on accumlative hours worked. That become based on who likes who. If i am lucky as a single mom I get 20-29 hours per week. I have been a employee of the month and have never been written up ever...I started at 8.40 per hour and more than two years later I make 8.80 per hour. Unforturately you can plead all you want but bottom line is it' the only job i could get and because your schedule is N E V E R the same you can even get a supplemental job. If you don't have 100% open availability (as i do) your hours will be reduced to as low as 12 hours per week. I have no cush to fall back on whil i search for another job and so I feel stuck. I am just applying for food stamps as much as i hate it!!!!!!!!!!!

Pay

8.40 per hr over two years later 8.80 bonuses vary from 50.00 to 211.00 and come every three month once you qualify no reimbursements for required clothing and can not deduct on taxes

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 27, 2012
Position
MBC
Work Dates
Aug 2012 - Aug 2012
Location
Bryan, OH
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Here is a list with what is wrong with this company, better yet, just think of anything stupid shitty or just plain retarded it sums it up.

You have:
Fraternization : No chance on moving up in the company. They say there is but you are stuck in your position.

Favoritism

under-staffing

Fat bitches (Not saying fat girls are bad, but shut the f up and do something and dont bitch and you wont fall into this category)

Retaliation (open door policy is a joke - Market will lie to your face and demote or fire you for "wasting their time" instead of addressing the issue)

Do not get me started on rumors or the drama
The people praised are the lazy ones and the hard workers are left in the the position. Also the setting of standards is set in this while tubby cant keep up with a skinny so that person has to pick up the slack permanently.

Insurance claims to cover, but doesn't cover anything.
Miscommunication by far the worse i seen. i could run a business in Africa by mail and still bet they can keep up with standards better then any walmart store

rule books are out the window. rules are set by managers standards. and some rules only apply to some people. ie dress code, attendance, promotions.

All in all, do not seek walmart for employment.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 17, 2012
Position
Stocking Associate
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Dec 2011
Location
Quincy, WV
Work Environment

Hierarchical, open-door, competitive,

Review

My experience with Walmart, has been neutral, I don't feel I have been asked to do anything above my pay grade. The managers range widely from mouth breathers, to being model management examples.

The task management system is ingenious. You can quickly see what you are supposed to be doing, and how long it should take. Those monitoring the system, however, have not found the full potential of data they are being given. Instead of using the system to assess problems occuring, they are using it as an end all performance evaluation tool for each individual. The task management system, is a diagnostic tool, not an evaluation tool.

The cons I do have, stem not from walmart itself, but from my co-workers. Often I am left the responsibilities of others. From cleaning up boxes, fixing incorrect mods, and fixing plugged holes, to binning overstock and reworking items labeled as overstock, that actually go on the shelves.

Management have been responsive to feedback I have given in a timely manner.

If you are the type of person, who takes pride in your own work, and don't need praise from others, then Walmart is a great place to work. If you don't like structure, or can't take initiative to go beyond your job requirements for your own self pride, then you may want to look elsewhere.

To put things short, lazy need not apply!

Pay

Starting $8.70 hr, other perks are employee discount 10% on certain items in store, various discounts through mywalmart.com for other services, ability to move up. (ability to move up is solely based on each individual and their capabilities)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 22, 2012
Position
overnight stocker
Work Dates
Oct 2012 - Oct 2012
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Work Environment

Cut-throat, fast-paced, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

10 pm meeting started like this : We are bonusing for the qtr.,
the only smart associate there with the same frame of mind responds
so we cut 500 hours so we can bonus?, response from the manager thats walmart what can i say... walmart the place that says their is no need
for unions, more like the place that needs a mandatory union.
Im sick of getting hired for a job being lied to and decieved,
on the starting postion, and a few days if not the 2nd day they
show you your real position which is the shitttiest position that
no one in the whole facility wants to be in, and thanks to the all
mighty seniority rule YOUR NEW JOB IS THE WORST JOB so
WELCOME HIGH TURNOVER RATE PERCENTAGE ^_^,, oh btw that job was you guessed it overnight stocking for toys department,i got hired for grocerys where the other new employe was training at, i.o.w,,, 8 return carts 3 pallets full of new freight to be stocked, and no one to help you because no one likes toys dept.,and bad training, so your stuck by yourself despise the manager saying she will send help soon,mostly lazy associates who sand bag their assignments so they wont have to help, yeah as if.
And im sick of getting hired for a job being lied to and decieved,
on the starting postion, and a few days if not the 2nd day
showed your real position which is the shitttiest position that
no one in the whole facility wants to be in, and thanks to the all
mighty seniority rule YOUR NEW JOB IS THE WORST JOB,
WELCOME HIGH TURNOVER RATE PERCENTAGE ^_^,,
-underemployed is a great show on MTV, thats todays world
underpayed and overworked for little to no pay,living wages dont exist no more it seems.

Pay

Starting salary 8.85, an appropiate salary for toys dept. should be 11.00 an hr atleast,there is no bonuses, due to being new, bonuses are irrelevant due to associate hours being cut for the benefit of Manager bonuses.
p.s I told the manager that toys was not the dept. i got hired for, her respond well thats where i need you at. LOL REALLY. OK.., anyways i quit and left a note ontop of the 8 return carts full of toys, god bless the person who decides to stay and make a career out of it, because xmas is coming soon LOL and toys dept. will be a burning living hell.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 23, 2012
Position
Sales
Work Dates
Jun 2012 - Oct 2012
Review

Ok, I took this job as a recent college grad to hold me over while i look for a career, however well im still searching, anyways, I work in electronics and let me tell you, there will be days when i am by myself from 4-1030 pm in electronics connection center and photo, and i am expected to cover toys too? well when the phone rings in photo and electronics at the same time i cant get both so i get blamed..customers yell at me for being the only one here..hows that my fault? I run around the departments helping people as i am by myself closing on a weekend. I work my ass off but i dont mind working hard, but for the shit pay and the random changes of hours and days each week? ill work 6 days have a day off work 6 have a day off, but only work 33 hours so i wont get that full time shit. then we have this one zone manager who literally walks around and tries to yell at you for shit. I was hired and 3 people left the depeartment and they have yet to replace. i am tired of opening and having 5 pallets of frieght that needs to be done by 8 am? ok so i have an hour to do overnights job since those pallets gotta "get off the floor" doesn't help that the night before who ever closes leaves it a mess and its my fault.. i feel targeted cause i actually have an education but i shut up and deal with it cause i need to pay back my loans and bills..i am so close to rage quitting but in times like this you gotta take anything, unfortunatly im going insane and i may scream at someone who gets pissy at me that theres no one in photo. hey guess what i cant be in 4 places at once even tho i do the job of 5 people for my 8 bucks. god my jobs at college were better organized than this, and they are run by kids.

Pros- job, money,
cons- dont work in electronics, the rest of the workers just walk aroudn by us all day and dont do anything, for more pay

Pay

I am part time so there are no perks.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 31, 2013
Position
Inventory Control Team
Work Dates
Jan 2013 - Jan 2013
Location
Weatherford, OK
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

No pros.
All I got for working circles around the rest of the team in the back room is coached because they hired me & my boyfriend for the same job, same shift, and they didn't like that...and I TOLD them at my interview we were significant others...and the open door is bullshit...all they do is nod and then do NOTHING even when your being called a dumb fat-ass to your face by your direct supervisor...my boyfriend and I pretty much supervised the team while the managers were off doing GOD knows what and were never seen or heard of...and yet WE are the bad employees...going BEYOND our job description...getting paid 7.65 which is NOWHERE near a living wage...getting multiple injuries because they can't replace and/or repair their equipment that we NEED to do our job...OH! and be FIRED for doing your job like you were TRAINED to do it? Not accepting reasonable accommodations paperwork with definitive proof for severe asthma? yeah...real classy... 792 in pasadena,tx was NOTHING like this...

Pay

Salary: 7.65/hr
vacation: none [til 1 year]
bonus: none [til 6 months] (prorated for partial quarters)
No reimbursements.
No "perks".

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 5, 2013
Position
Maintenance Associate
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - May 2013
Location
East Fredom, PA
Work Environment

Creative, open-door, conservative, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, entrepreneurial, fast-paced, flexible schedule, old-fashioned, high-pressure,

Review

I just started working at walmart and I have no problems. Management is very professional and excellent. The pay stinks but call me old fashioned I work hard bust my ass. My pap taught me to always work hard, These Managers are right DONT BE LAZY WORK HARD DON'T CALL OFF

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 6, 2013
Position
Maintenance Associate
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - May 2013
Location
East Fredom, PA
Work Environment

Creative, open-door, conservative, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, entrepreneurial, fast-paced, flexible schedule, old-fashioned, high-pressure,

Review

I just started working at walmart and I have no problems. Management is very professional and excellent. The pay stinks but call me old fashioned I work hard bust my ass. My pap taught me to always work hard, These Managers are right DONT BE LAZY WORK HARD DON'T CALL OFF

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 2, 2014
Position
overnight stocker
Work Dates
Mar 2014 - Jul 2014
Review

Not that bad. I make 9.70 listed pay an hour. Even tho its more like 6.60 after taxes. So i cant imagine other peoples checks. I am put wherever mgmt needs me.bdespite showing consistent dedication to be put in dairy even tho 3 nights a week dairy workers find themselves with 28 hours of freight on a 3-5 hour late truck. But i go in every random day im scheduled cuz i picked open hours, and i work till its time to go home. My back feels like a broomstick and my feet are bleeding but i keep my head high and dont complain esp not while at work. If i could stock dairy every day till i have to quit to move out of state id have 0 complaints. U deal with lazy employees in other departmdnts every day but thats not your job. Just do yours the best you can and ull feel good every morning when u clock out mgmt works just as hard. Even stocking with us when we have a 4000 boxes grocery night.

Pay

Doing some labor for somewhat decent pay.
Work feels like work and not some desk job.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 9, 2014
Position
Overnight Stocker
Work Dates
May 2013 - Oct 2014
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, fast-paced, disorganized, bureaucratic,

Review

The work is not too difficult, although I'm older and it takes it's toll. The pay rate is inadequate and the benefits are meager. The real unemployment rate exceeds 20%, so companies like Wal-Mart can practice intense forms of exploitation without concern for the well-being if its employees. We are fungible commodities. They are always hiring.

Internal communication is a problem. The company makes it's employees review company policy and SOPs for the roles they fill. Yet, this training fails to specify the actual performance goals which will define the jobs. Often that's because stable goals do not exist. So one week you will be expected to accomplish one goal and then another goal the week afterwards. The goals may contradict one another, but this incoherence will only enable the unscrupulous manager to 'coach' you for doing something and then for not doing something. Fill the shelves; follow shelf caps. Don't roof or plug; don't send partial cases back to inventory.

Wal-Mart has become notorious for understaffing its stores. This management strategy annoys customers and makes work harder for the associates who serve them. I do not doubt that rent-taking shareholders and upper managers prefer this arrangement, but no one else involved benefits from it. Wal-Mart would pay its 'Associates' penny a day if it could. But it can't. It sells product on the cheap. But it could care a damn about its customers. It exists to enrich its shareholders and top managers.

Pay

Starting pay: $9.65/hour. Current pay: $9.65/hour.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 27, 2014
Position
Electronics Sales Associate
Work Dates
Aug 2014 - Oct 2014
Location
Brandon, FL
Work Environment

Hierarchical, casual, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I started working at a Wal-Mart in Tampa, FL a few months ago. I am male, 19 years old. I was hired to be an electronic sales associate. I love the job.
My Department Manager is a sweet young woman who treats everybody like one of her kids and never expects too much of you.
Over her is my Zone Manager Supervisor, a woman of about 40-45 years of age who is playful. She can have a temper - but only when provoked. She loves me because I do my job and she sees me working and says that she wants to keep me around.
My Assistant Manager over her is a middle aged man who is very likable, always jokes around. Whenever I have any scheduling concerns, he takes care of them on the spot and does to my schedule whatever I want, within reason.
The Co-Manager over him is a middle aged woman who is also willing to boost me up to 40 hours. In fact, my DM, my ZMS, my AM, and my CM for electronics happily offer me extra time without demanding that I work it (but I always do because I have bills and need 40 hours).
Oh, and our store manager is great too. He keeps my supercenter immaculate and is not afraid to get down and dirty himself. One morning I came in at 5am to do some mods and rebuild some aisles and shelves in new locations. I worked alongside an associate and my ZMS. [That's another thing I love. Managers here don't think they are too good to do physical labor.]
Speaking of which, my store manager walked by us and started helping us build the shelves! I thought it was strange, that someone of his station would just stop to help us. He had to literally get on the floor and slide underneath a shelf like a grease monkey and told my ZMS to take a picture for the Family Wall! I laughed for a good 5 minutes.
Everyone at my Wal-Mart is so friendly, even when I was new, associates I didn't know would greet me when I came in and smile at me. My Department Manager is working on getting me promoted as we speak. Everyone always says I'm on the right track to really "go up" in my store and that reassures me that Wal-Mart CAN be a career and not just a dead-end job.
As an Electronics Sales Associate, I'm expected to stock freight, do mods, build aisles and endcaps, answer electronics questions, ring up customers, unlock high-ticket items for customers, etc.
But my job does not really end at being an Electronics Sales Associate. I also have to do Layaway, Photo Center, Site to Store & Pick-Up Today's, and more. This means that I have to cut fabric in the Stationary Department, mix paint in the Hardware Department, issue licenses and sell ammo in the Sporting Goods Department, do things for the Toys Department, and even go fishing for customers in the Pet Department.
The reason for all that is because all those things are part of my "Zone" (the region of the store my ZMS is responsible for). Most of my other associates hate doing anything outside of their job description. I love it. I love having the opportunity to learn something new. I feel as though being willing to work other departments makes me a more attractive candidate for a management position because my managers do have to run around and do a little of everything.
Of course, no one (manager) is perfect. I'm not saying that it's impossible to have a bad experience with management. But it hasn't happened to me, and I feel as though continuing to do my work and providing the excellent customer service I do (which brings customers back who ask specifically for me) will take me higher in this place. I really do believe that working at Wal-Mart (honestly, working anywhere) - is what you make of it.
If you have any questions or want some advice with an issue you're having at your store, feel free to drop me a line at

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 9, 2015
Position
Cart Pusher aka Courtesy Associate
Work Dates
Jul 2011 - Aug 2015
Location
Conover, NC
Work Environment

Strict, fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Pros - they work with your schedule to an extent, they are lenient when it comes to calling out a lot compared to most other companies, and they occasionally give a "thank you" for a job well done.

Cons - Sometimes schedule you outside your availability, have you do other associate's jobs without even training you, too many managers, one manager will tell you to do one thing and then another manager will tell you to do something completely different and you get in trouble no matter what, they require you to do CBLs but don't give you time to do them, management will fuss at you and make you look stupid and act unprofessional in front of customers, they work you way too hard for very little pay and raises. If you don't know something ask management, management gets pissed off because they feel like you should be able to read their minds and know everything with very little to no training.

Overall - I have actually had worse jobs and worked for worse companies than Wal-Mart; however, I still would only recommend wal-mart if you are truly desperate for money. Management is very disorganized, unprofessional, and rude. They use to work with my schedule since I had another job but lately they kept changing my schedule at the last minute without telling me, causing me to quit two days before writing this review.

Pay

Starting pay = $7.25/hr
Pay when I quit = $9.25/hr
10% discount on everything except food...

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No