walgreens
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Jan 18, 2008
Position
Assistant Manager
Work Dates
Jan 2006 - Jul 2007
Location
Cleveland, OH
Work Environment

Hierarchical,

Review

An assistant manager is where you start off if you're a recent grad. You’ll primarily be stocking shelves, handling cash, watching over things, and following the store manager’s directions. Expect to work 45-50hrs a week and all holidays. Expect heavy lifting and being on your feet all day. This is not an easy job by any means. The long hours and hard work continue as you move up along with high stress as there is pressure to meet many store goals.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 29, 2008
Position
SBA/OVERNIGHTS/BA/CASHIER
Work Dates
Dec 2007 - Dec 2007
Location
Champaign, IL
Review

If you enjoy working for an hierarchal system, in an environment full of rumors and drama, this is for you. There have been rumors spread by the STORE MANAGER, to OTHER stores about me. I started when I was 16 years old and in high school, and I would be working 30-35 hours a week. This is insane, and I believe it breaks some labor laws for minors. When I was working overnights, while in college, I worked an 11 hour shift, and on days where I was sick, the Store Manager told me that overnights do not get sick days like all other employees. Nor do they get vacation time, unless there is coverage. As an SBA I was verbally abused, and expectations were horrendous with what duties they wanted me to do.

Pay

I started at 6.75 and I got up to 9.00 after two years, but that was after a lot of influence and noticing when to put my voice in for promotions. Bonuses weren't always given like they were supposed to, and I should have been around 10 dollars, when I left.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 4, 2010
Position
EXA
Work Dates
Dec 2006 - Dec 2009
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, fast-paced, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

IF THERE IS A POSIOTION UNDERPAID TRY BEING AN EXA. iN CHARGE OF EVERYTHING LITERALLY. eMPLOYEES, CUSTOMERS, PAYROLL ,SCHEDULE AND MOST IMPORTANT SWISS (FOODORDERING,ALCOHOL,CANDY,FOOD VENDORS, TOBACCO, AND DRINKS) WITH THIS GOES ADVERTISING, MERCHANDISING,OUTDATES, SMART COUNTS AND A BOSS WHO WILL COME DOWN LIKE THE TITLE EXA MEANS CNA'T MESS UP OR FORGET.yOU HAVE NO CONTROL OF WHAT IS BEING ORDERED YET YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF FOOD.
ALSO, YOU ARE LUCKY IF YOU GET A RAISE BECAUSE IF YOUR BOSS DOES NOT GIVE YOU A GOOD PERFORMANCE YOU ARE STUCK WITH THE SAME PAY. FOR ME IT'S BEEN NOT A PENNY IN TWO YEARS WHILE 85% GOT A LEAST $.50 IN EACH YEAR. POLITICS RULE AND GOOD LUCK GETTING A GOOD STORE MANAGER i'VE HAD 10 IN 8 YEARS AND AND 4 OF 10ARE GOOD BUT THAT LASTED JUST A FEW MONTHS.

Pay

EMPLOYEES TRUST AND ARE CLOSER THAN TO THE STORE MANAGER

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 30, 2009
Position
MGT
Work Dates
Nov 2005 - Aug 2009
Location
San Antonio, TX
Review

Walgreens can be a very good company if not for the EXTREME matter of favoritism. Im sure not all situations are the same, but the drama that goes on at store level is so ridiculous. It would be great to say that had work will get you everywhere in this company, but not here...its all about who you know or who you are related to. Now that the economy is what it is, its even more pathetic. If your plans are to find a company to move up in and make a future of, then this is probably not for you unless you have connections here.

Pay

Salaries to my position got cut anywhere frome 5,000 to almost 10,000 for some long termed employees, while store managers continued to get their larg bonuses created for them by lower level mgts. It's unfortunate to say, but most store managers, Not All, decide to spend most of the time in the office talking on the phone all day...while many EXAs, which are not bound to the time clock, take advantage of that to come in late, take extended lunches, and leave early at thier convenience. AGAIN NOT ALL MANAGEMENT AND STORES ARE LIKE THIS, but for the most part it is. GOOD LUCK.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 27, 2010
Position
Beauty Advisor
Work Dates
Mar 2008 - Jan 2010
Work Environment

Unprofessional,

Review

I work in the cosmetics department. Even though we are the first 3 aisles of the store, then people head to the rest of the store to finish they're shopping, we are expected to ring up a third of the days sales at our register. This is something managment hounds us over. At the same time we have stocking, cleaning, resets, showing customers to other areas of the store and helping them with their selections there, helping at the front registers if there's more than 3 people in line, demonstrations to man, price changes to do, etc. Many of our customers are there to get perscriptions and/or photos, and they don't want to pay at 2 different registers. Walgreens also has "suggestive sales item" for each department that they demand you push. Most of the time these items aren't so easy to sell. For example sunscreen, in March, in Michigan, in a down economy. Or body wash that they've had on sale for the last 3 months. But MGT will still hound you to get those sales up. They promise you commissions on the make-up you sell, but you only get that money if you can get the customer to pay you at the cosmetics register. If they're waiting on a perscription, say good bye to that $ you just worked to earn. ALso, no matter how hard you work, how much you get done, never a thank you, or job well done. Just more pressure to get more done.

Pros-Overtime pay if you work over 10 hours in a day, but they never let that happen. 5 days vacation pay after a year, 10 after 2 years, 1 personal day, and 6 sick days, and 6 paid holidays a year for full time employees. Oh and benefits if you can afford them. If your an adult living on your own, not part of MGT, without a second income, you probably can't.

Pay

Starting wage-Minimum wage, my 20 years of previous experience meant nothing. Then look forward to a $.25 raise (if store manager approves) every 6 months. So after 2 years you could be making $1 more per hour. After another couple years you might catch up to what the kids flipping burgers are making. From what I'm told, it's not this bad all over the country. Walgreens is just taking advantage of the high unemployment rate in Michigan. Oh and don't believe when they say that they promote from within, and that you don't need a degree to be an assistant. I don't have a degree but have 20 years in the field, 5 years of it being a store manager and 7 assistant managment experience, but no degree. Last year they hired many new assistants in the area a few had no retail or customer service experience, but did have degrees. My store manager even recommended me, and I was interviewed, but passed over because I didn't have a degree. Which I was informed of at a later time.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 5, 2010
Work Dates
Aug 2007 - Apr 2010
Work Environment

Hierarchical, fast-paced, political, unprofessional,

Review

Walgreens has COMPLETELY taken advantage of the bad economy expecting more for less. Our store is completely understaffed and at least 80% of my coworkers either have a second job or are looking for another one as a way to get out! The only way the manager shows appreciation for a job well done is by ignoring you(even though it makes you feel stupid and worthless its better than getting yelled at). Managers are always playing with their phones and joking around but when you stop working to catch your breath (not being on the phone or talking to anyone) you will get yelled at and interrogated as to why YOU are not doing anything. Most managers at this store tell customers we are out of items when they don't want to go in the stock room and look for them. If there is an open position that you want, you better believe they are going to hire someone with absolutely no experience for that position instead of you. The people that enjoy working there are usually the ones that hang out with the manager outside of work, most likely have 5 children and happen to mysteriously get promoted to the head of their department.

Pay

Pros: close to where I live. not much mental energy wasted.
Cons: very stressful from customers as well as management and coworkers, low pay for the amount of work expected, unprofessional mgmt

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 21, 2015
Review

Worked for Walgreens a lot of years to have my pay frozen for 2 years now. Now my position is going away and they are forcing me into an SFL position or a demotion of pay. Longevity means nothing. Don't work here.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 21, 2011
Position
asst manager
Work Dates
Dec 2010 - Apr 2011
Review

Started off as a BA, after 4 years of being number 1 PM earner (from $30.00 to $170dailyin PMs)in COS got promoted to MGT.
we are understaffed for the amount of work our store manager wants us to complete with a day. As a closing manager i have about 3 hrs less than our morning shift manager do the same amount of work.
i would say i lack training in photo and pharmacy because i really dont know how to troubleshoot photo when it breaks down and it happens every other week. I also happen to be a COS SWISS but unfortunately my store manager doesnt include cos swiss resposibilities into his daily notes so i kind of have to run cos department in between completing his assignments.

Pay

Cons: understaffing, lack of training, daily notes staffed with too many assignments.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 1, 2011
Position
BA,PS, PT
Work Dates
Jan 2007 - Jun 2011
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, open-door, fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

This is my first job. started as a BA, then at 18 i got transfered as a PS. i wouldnt call it a promotion since it was only a .50 cent raise and with that position comes with a lot of stress. im a hard worker and did everything i was asked to do and later on i learned to do other things without being asked. as years pass by i watched employees come and go, yet i was still there. on warehouse, smart fills days i try to make sure all totes and full cases are done before i leave (i actually cared and wanted to make sure our store manager will be glad the next day. ps all managers always try to please him). when our EXA was gone for 3 months its usually me and the store manager running the store(+reg 1 clerk and BA). we didnt always have an asst manager and floor person because hours are cut. every pages for a manager from reg 1 to cos to rx to vendor check in i would try to get because its usually stupid pages like a price check, item location, rain check bla bla bla.and the only reason why i would go out of my way is to ease the stress level from the store manager(which im not even appreciated for). unlike other emp who doesnt care about this place i actually did.

all employees gets along for the most part, we are all from different ages and we are all friends but yes theres always drama here and there and everybody have their own little group, managers always have their favorites. i am a favorite of some of the asst managers but thats because im a hard worker. some employees are favorites because they are sexually appetizing! it disgust me! this place pisses me off bec. theres a couple emp that doesnt punch in or punch out and when asked they will just lie on what time they came in and yet managers believe the person without checkiing the tape!! some asst managers know of this and reported it to the store manager yet he would say maybe the emp is forgetful. oh fuck really? how can somebody forget to punch in or out 3-4 times a week? yet Lost prevention hasnt noticed anything? there are so much more going on in this store. emp are spoiled and gets away with everything! even stealing!

im so tired of the store that i asked to be transfered to the Rx. trained and scheduled 1 day a week as a PT but no PT pay because walg rule is you have to work in a certain dept 3times a week before they could give you a promotion.. its been 5 months now and decided to leave this company for good, but finally got offered to get the PT pay. we'll see if theyll actually give it to me (since it took them 7 months to raise my pay from BA to PS)

Pay

2007 started at 8.25 BA
now at 10.00 PS

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 7, 2011
Position
Head Photo Specialist
Work Dates
Jun 2009 - Sep 2011
Location
Keller, TX
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, political, high-pressure,

Review

Where do I even start!?!? Well, I have been working for this company for over 2 years now and have had nothing but problems since day 1. I just now FINALLY got promoted to HPS (Head photo specialist) after all of the bullsh*t I had to endure just to only get 9.50 an hour! I have to say for the ridiculous amounts of stress and way too high of expectations on a daily basis, thats not NEARLY enough! Most management dont give a crap about their employees and it shows by hounding them constantly to meet impossible deadlines and receiving nothing but criticism for one little thing that was done wrong. The employees themselves for the most part are nice and friendly because we all have the "were all in this together" mentality, but you can tell if you walk into any store by the looks on their faces that they don't want to be there. The pay starting out is a JOKE and doesn't get much better. Now being a HPS i get called by the idiot managers on my days off and time off because they're too f*cking stupid to figure it out or take the time to learn when shown! (Which happened today) There are politics just like at any other job and the boss is very quick to throw you under the bus when sales goals aren't met. because hey, people just jump to buy dove candy bars and batteries that have been sitting in the stockroom for months when they're getting their pictures developed! Overall, in a nutshell, this place will suck the life out of you and kill your morale on a daily basis. I know because a negative aura seeps over me as soon as i walk in knowing the crap i will have to suffer from be it stupid customers that clip a thousand coupons and hold up your line or aimlessly trying to meet impossible deadlines that everyone KNOWS can't be done! Like I said at the beginning...I wish that I could get out!!!

Pay

Pros-Vacation time is reasonable, employees are nice and friendly (but raging on the inside)

Cons-Crappy holiday hours, mgmt doesnt give a crap, ridiculous work loads, constant pressure, not enough staff, NOT ENOUGH PAY (minimum wage starting out) unrealistic expectations, EVIL!

(Advice to anyone who gets a job here: GET OUT ASAP!!!!)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 22, 2011
Position
Senior Beauty Advisor
Work Dates
May 2009 - Sep 2011
Work Environment

Supportive, fast-paced, flexible schedule, old-fashioned,

Review

A lot of the reviews on here seem to come from people who think Walgreens is absolutely horrible, but I beg to differ. I've worked at 3 different Walgreens over the past 2 1/2 years, and I have to say, I like the company. I like what we stand for, and the way we treat our customers. Of course there are some things to be desired, but I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that we're a HUGE national company, and sometimes the things that look good on paper to the corporate offices don't work so well in real life at a store level. Thankfully, management within the stores tends to be competent. Of course sales are important, and though sometimes expectations are high, I've never known anyone to get fired for not reaching sales goals. I started out as a Beauty Advisor one summer, and had to transfer to a different store (because of school) which was very easy, since Walgreens is everywhere, which is a big perk. I worked part-time while going to school, and the management was always very flexible when it came to my hours- they even let me transfer back to a store near my parents' home for a few weeks during the Christmas holidays! Each Walgreens that I've been to has been very different, ranging from a 15-year-old store that still boasts a separate liquor department, to a 1-year old store that was very sleek and new. There's usually a different clientele and ambiance at each store, but I've always been lucky to find a sincere family dynamic amongst everyone that works at a particular store. Sure, there are some nit-picky managers, some rude/difficult customers, but for the most part, as long as you are sincerely engaged with the customers while you're there and show true work ethic, everyone else will notice and reward you for it. I was most recently promoted to Senior Beauty Advisor, I moved to a different store and was warmly welcomed. The department needed a lot of work, and I feel good that I've been helping turn things around. To be perfectly honest, I don't think the wages are fabulous, but I understand that there's been a lot of cutting back. I was actually already making more as a Beauty Advisor than the starting salary of a Senior Beauty Advisor. Thankfully, my store manager recognized that the added responsibility of managing my own department warranted higher pay, which I received.

Overall, I feel like Walgreens is a friendly, safe environment. On the whole, they take good care of their employees, and as long as you actually give a damn when you come to work, everything else should fall into place :)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 3, 2011
Position
EXA
Work Dates
Apr 2005 - Oct 2011
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, high-pressure,

Review

It is hard to be in retail, but after 19 years of retail I am pleased to say I like what i am doing. The expectations are high especially for EXA, which is basically proving you can run a store yourself before they give you one. I started as a Senior Beauty Advisor making slightly higher than minimum wage. I worked my way up through the company and was recognized for my hard work. Sure there are certain managers that are difficult, but it made me a stronger employee. I am now working hard to get my own store within the next few years. Walgreens has been good to me through all my personal trials and supported me bettering myself.

Pay

Cons: Budgeted hours, employee retention
Pros: Recognition, customer service focused, competitive salary

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 13, 2012
Position
NexGen ESS
Work Dates
Dec 2011 - Jan 2012
Location
Lincolnshire, IL
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, conservative, competitive, entrepreneurial, fast-paced, old-fashioned, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Walgreens is too conservative and too capitalist, and the corporate culture at the Lincolnshire location is one of the worst I have seen in a 10 year IT career.

Its bad enough there are no Casual Fridays for people making less than $50k that other companies offer.

The problem within IT- WAG (I'm using their NYSE stock symbol. WAG is huge now with over 7000+ stores and has in my opinon, lost the mom and pop shop aspect of care, compassion and kindness to its employees and contactors it used to be known for as a small chain decades ago- in favor of ROI only. After 30 years+ as a customer- CVS and other places- will probably get my Rx business today, going with whoever is cheaper in an ROI world. When companies drive down salaries of employees or contractors, so is driven down the products said people buy- and where they buy- from based on cost.)

WAG is more worried about ROI than creating a positive, healthy, or fair- work environment, let alone any attempt to want to create a partnership or loyalty with its contract staff. They play off of 'preferred contracts' and 'preferred vendors' pushing costs down and worker stress to highs- they should never get to that other companies- DON'T DO.

Its the republican/self-serving method and why the occupy movments are happening today. What WAG and other fortune 500s *DO* to the 99%.

One WAG employee berated contractors into thinking they are not going to have time for a lunch break, when it is their right BY LAW to take 30-60 minutes, unpaid.

They also allow new hires to have their names made fun of if a current employee doesn't know- a new hire's name.

They also run their mouth over-sarcastically about drinking and encourage people to drink, off the job site.

Its bad enough the contract company that brought me in- flat out LIED about length of term. 2 years comittment of work for the new hired employee? Yeah right- try 9-12 months. Trying to push 2 years worth of work into a 9-12 month term. They create a hostile work environment- from the top down. I was better off where I was at before coming to WAG- and unfortunately- believed their hype.

Additionally- the project training was very disorganized- expecting new hires to write documentation and basic groundwork from day one- that should have been designed by WAG itself prior.

Each new hire should have been brought into a new store scenario and other aspects that were not provided 'hands on'. 30 people crowded around a server rack where one cannot see what is being deomnstrated- is not the correct way to train. Making training videos for as large of a project as it was- would have been- the right way to do things and definitely- less time consuming.


Bottom line. If you are in IT, want to have some sick day, personal day, and vacation day benefits, healthcare, and a positive even somewhat- less-stressful work enviornment other fields have, look elswehere. WAG's IT will drive a person to drink, and its bad enough- when they ENCOURAGE it.

If you are looking for a team scenario and collaboration where you are treated with some decency, respect and encouragement- definitely- look elsewhere.


Remember WAG:
It is not about ROI for the company and 'do as I say, not as I do'.

But ROI from the employee's perspective and how you treat them, in to make the employee more productive- get it right WAG.


These statements are all factual. Names are withheld to protect the people's identity of those involved, including- my own.

Pay

The only pro was the salary- the only way to get someone that is working is to pay them more than what they were making elsewhere. Sadly I fell for this tactic and now I am out a job I was better off at- before going to WAG.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 10, 2012
Position
service clerk
Work Dates
Mar 2008 - Dec 2011
Location
Houston, TX
Review

Everytime i walk into work i feel like something bad is going to happen, and iam usually correct. First of all there is never any coverage for where i work, if iam scheduled to get off at a ceartain time, there is nobody who shows up to cover me, so then i have to wait and i dont even know if iam getting paid to work a few extra minutes, so its very stressful i dont mind working overtime but what kind of system is this , that you work longer than you have to because of no coverage, and when you finally see your paycheck you notice its less, if iam scheduled till 3:30pm and i have to stay till 4 , i should see that in my paycheck , so that is the problem with working here.

Pay

The only good thing about working at walgreens is that its not like working at a restraunt, where the people are horrible and off the street, so there is peace, but the problem is , my biggest pet peeves is not getting paid for working overtime, that is what bothers me.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 3, 2012
Position
Head Photo Specialist
Work Dates
Oct 2011 - Jul 2012
Work Environment

Hierarchical, strict, cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

The motto of Walgreens should be "feed you to the wolves and see if you come out alive". As Head Photo Specialist, I learned how to operate photo not because of training but by pushing a bunch of buttons and seeing what worked. Most managers aren't trained well in photo either which definitely does not help when I am off or out of town because they will call me and try to get me to come in for a few hours and fix the machine at my own leisure (without pay). Ive gotten yelled at by managers before for taking too long to help customers out with their pictures and not spending enough time helping them with their menial and pointless projects. In other parts of the store we are always either way understocked of hot sale items or way overstocked of items that no one will buy. Instead of placing those overstock items on clearance, they just sit in the stockroom and go outdated and expired. I worked my ass off for the past 8 months and now realize that its just one big cycle and no matter how well you do there really isn't any benefit. I was recently offered the position of STL (store team lead) and turned it down because my supervisor pretty much told me that I would have and increase an hours and no life for a $2 per hour raise!! Definitely not worth it. Always understaffed, way too many tasks to complete in a short period of time, and employees come and go so fast with good reason. Most of my coworkers are great and we have an all together mentality that it is pretty much us against management at all times. Customers are friendly most of the time and understand the issues us part time employees deal with due to lack of poor management.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 23, 2012
Work Dates
Jul 2012 - Jul 2012
Review

Working at Walgreens and being part of the front line staff at least at my store is a nice experience the big problem is the pay its horrible I make 9.45 an hour and I have been there for 6 years. At Walgreens to make a decent living your hoping for management eventually.

Recently their was a two job offerings for an STL I got passed up not once but twice one because of a favoritism at least she had 5 years and two I got passed up from an employee thats probably nearly the exactly the same personality as I am and has only been there for a year and half and got management over me. 6 yrs and my manager tells me he likes me but I'm not ready and I have no leadership skills. Even though I know way more then the person could ever hope too.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 14, 2012
Position
Photo Specialist
Work Dates
Nov 2011 - Aug 2012
Location
Waukesha, WI
Review

Too many of these reviews make me sad and confused... I started off working at a Walgreens in West Bend, WI and I enjoyed it, although the staff wasnt the smartest or the nicest.. But the costumers were great on most occasions and the idea of helping costumers have a good experience was wonderful. Then I moved and transferred to a Walgreens in Waukesha, WI, and it is the best job I have ever had! All of the managers here, including the store manager, knows the photo lab very well. Just before I was transferred, the store lost a lot of employees to promotions and so hired new employees who didnt know much about Photo.. It is frustrating to me to work with people who cant seem to understand what needs to be done and simply just skip doing their tasks!! but we dont have a head photo specialist (HPS) right now as ours got promoted to Shift Lead in another store.. I'm hoping for the position as i believe i deserve to get paid more as I'm the only employee of Photo that does every task plus maintenance!! over all yes there are faults to working for walgreens, but that's with ANY job and if you enjoy costumer service and retail, this is the job for you! and if u dont like the management in your store, transfer cuz not all r the same!!

Pay

I started out at $8.25 an hour as a photo specialist. (more than what most start depending on the store and your experiance..) I am still at $8.25 today.. (only been working for walgreens for about 9 months. you get a 15% discount on purchases of most items in the store.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 15, 2012
Position
Head Photo Specialist
Work Dates
Mar 2011 - Nov 2012
Location
Evansvill, IN
Review

I started out in photo worked hard and quickly made it to head photo specialist was recently up for a stl position but was turned down by the district manager cause i am in school i had to find this out on my own managers i interveiewed with didnot even tell good 5hing i am a fast learner had to learn photo myself cause none of the mamagers know a thing about photo or didnt care enough to show you but let your sales drop off and they ride your ass about it if you cant keep photo caught up stock the shelves cover breaks and the whole time get out standing customer service then they will also get on to you stores are almost always under staffed and sometimes they expect you to do all of this while some how covering the front register and most of the managment are to busy playing in the stockroom or the office to do any thing to help

Pay

Pros flexiable schedule and vacation after a year
Cons pay sucks and no support

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Nov 21, 2012
Position
Beauty Advisor
Work Dates
Jul 2005 - May 2012
Location
Port st Lucie, FL
Review

The pro's of this job are my repeated customers that I see weekly. My dear friends that I've worked with and miss soo much all that time!!! There are many con's most about the managers. They do tend to stay in the stockroom, pharmacy or office to avoid "work". They like to take all the credit when "Company" comes and do alot of panicing, which I never understood, I mean we are all working isn't that what were supposed too be doing??I hate this acting fake crap! When I was STL I kept it real. Theres alot of favoritism and politics involved in management, Im not quite sure if they even need to know how to actually manage a store anymore to get the position these days!!!

Pay

I started at 8.45 hr
Left at 11.13 hr
Not much after 7yrs

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 3, 2013
Work Dates
Jan 2013 - Jan 2013
Work Environment

Team-oriented,

Review

I see all the complaints about Walgreens. I hope nobody takes this wrong, but aren't all jobs like that? What I mean by this is most jobs are drama filled, which is usually caused by women and a side note I am a woman too, (go out and work with a bunch of guys and see how much drama is in the room very little), people playing favorites, and the pay rate is something everyone gripes about. It is kinda one of those things ok say you get paid nine dollars an hour well next you want ten and so and so on. Give an inch and take a mile. No job is perfect there is always going to be ups and downs. No job is perfect.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 17, 2013
Position
Head Photo Specialist
Work Dates
Dec 2005 - Oct 2012
Location
Centerville, OH
Work Environment

Strict, fast-paced, disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

I had the distinct pleasure of cleaning up after the Head Photo Specialist for four years, before getting promoted to such a position after he transferred to another location. The Store Manager was aware of this, and did nothing to stop it; they do not promote based on experience, but who is the best at bending the truth and sucking up.

I became Head Photo when there was simply no one else left. I was then cut from 40 to 35 hours overnight--and sometimes 32--meaning that when I did actually get the position, I found myself making less money than I was before I was promoted. I was also told that I needed to "adjust" my spending habits accordingly, as those who do not live from paycheck-to-paycheck seem to have no concept of how devastating such a cut can be.

In my lab it wasn't uncommon to be slammed with business, and so there was a good chance you would have to do a dozen different things all at once, and all at the same time. Sometimes this would go on from the second your feet hit the ground until the moment you left; sometimes you would have to work as fast as you possibly could to allow yourself a five second break to run to the restroom. If you paged for help, it simply wouldn't come.

Sometimes you would be given a list of impossible and unobtainable goals and/or jobs. The Manager and EXA would both accept no excuse if you didn't get everything done they told you to, failing to note that if you have an outrageously busy day in the lab, it is impossible to step away for any amount of time on the floor. They also were training me to check in vendors, which was strictly a Manager job. They also disliked being paged out of the office for any reason; they basically want Head Photo to run everything, but without the advanced pay.

There's no support or help for photo, and so you aren't given the proper amount of time to maintain the machines. They also won't back you up when there's a very straightforward question of copyrights and the laws, and what you can and cannot do.

Breaks are a joke, they simply don't exist--the only people who take them are the front end cashiers, and you have to make up for the lost time from their breaks, by running back-and-forth between your job and theirs. Lunch breaks either come two hours into your shift, or two hours before leaving--although there are plenty of times in which you'll get paged even when you're off the clock, and plenty of times in which you find yourself taking lunch five hours later than you would have liked to.

You will get yelled at and severely reprimanded if you achieve a single minute of overtime--or even if you clock in one minute early. There's ridiculous goals and statements you have to make to each and every customer--you have to push and really push suggestive sell items, flu shots, and the Benefits program.

And so the only good thing I can say is this: it offered me a better job than I had at the time I'd originally started. And it allowed me to meet some of my very best friends. But over the years, what was once a nice and pleasant environment to work in, became entirely too stressful for such a simple job.

Pay

I started out as a third shift clerk, making $8.00 an hour. Overnight my position was terminated due to lack of hours, and so I transferred to another store. My ending pay was $10.38 an hour. I had three weeks vacation built up, although they were ready to reconfigure that when I left. You also got six sick days a year--although you were severely reprimanded if you ever used them. They offered a few discounts on things like phone services, and you got a commission with suggestive sells--although it was mostly just a few cents and nothing more. They also had 401k, which was great--but I wouldn't be surprised if they got rid of that, too.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 30, 2013
Position
Photo Specialist
Work Dates
May 2010 - Jan 2013
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Open-door, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule, disorganized, political, high-pressure,

Review

I started working at Walgreens right after High School to make some money. I worked my ass off to show that I wouldn't let my managers down. I started at the front then moved to floor then to photo. Making those transitions were easy, why, because there was no transition at all. All of the positions were one and the same except for photo. Photo was just added on to what was needed to be done. I found myself getting stressed over the littlest things because management wanted it a certain way. I was underpaid, overworked, and was getting my hours cut in a blink of an eye. The summer of 2012 I left for military training and just got back into working for my old store (the reason being that I joined the national guard for school). I came back working my ass off but also came back with a "yeah, whatever" attitude towards management. My training that I left to get helped me out now to work at Walgreens. (In order to work at Walgreens you need to work your ass off but with a non carrying attitude toward your management). Why, because management and their list is ridiculous. I'm presuming a promotion to Head Photo Specialist because the current Head is leaving for her maturity leave (more work, a little raise, and completely undertstaffed, that's what I'll be inheriting). Before I left, photo had about 6 employees, but only 3 were able to really work photo. Now only 4 employees work at photo, with 2 who know how to work it. My current third shift squad sucks compared to what I had before. Management only knows how to work the floor and their mouths to please customers. There is no backup for photo, only thoses that work their ass off to understand, but we are very few. Let me rephrase that, there is no backup anywhere in the store. For me the reason why I loathe this company is because it does not give its employees any real benifits or anything to fall back on inside the company.

Pay

Started off with $8.25 with a .25 cent raise every 6 months, reached $8.75 before getting coded for photo with starting pay at $9. Currently getting paid $9.

Pros: Flexible Schedules
Cons: Over Stressed and the rest of the Overs. Living pay check to pay check.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 22, 2013
Position
front end sales, photo, cosmetics
Work Dates
Jan 2006 - Feb 2013
Location
Northwest Panhandle, FL
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Walgreens was a good co. to work for back in the day. When they actually cared about customers and their employees. Now its all about the ALL MIGHTY DOLLAR. More work, work , and more work but no raises. You bring issues to our boss and you can bet you bottom dollar, that your hours will be cut by 8-10 hrs. That how he deals with the open door policy. Being in a click is big at this store, and if you ain't in it, you get nothing.

It seems Walgreens is under the assumption that it "is the only thing that matters". Well I have to beg to differ, my son comes before anything. Suppose to change your life around because the truck changed days, I don't think so.

Pay

Pros------- are my "usual customers",
Cons------ Unfair, Pay, unflexible

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 23, 2013
Work Dates
Sep 2007 - Feb 2013
Location
Waukee, IA
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I was having a problem with a store manager until i moved to this location. It all depends on the store manager and the managers you have. I have not had a problem seens I transferred to this Walgreens. I love the company and everything they stand for. I'm sorry for the people who didn't have a good experiences. I would hope you can understand it wasn't the company its the manager running the store everyone is different.

Pay

The higher up you go as normal the more pay you get. Wont lie the good money is in managers and pharmacy if you get the chance to make it there.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 27, 2013
Position
Corporate
Work Dates
Dec 2006 - Feb 2013
Work Environment

Hierarchical, cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

I've worked at WAG Corp for 6 years and they play a lot of favorites and do a lot of manipulating. You work as hard as you can, do whatever they want, and it's never enough. When I started things were awesome. The job, the environment, pay, benefits, etc. Maybe three years ago things started going down hill and most of my co-corkers are jumping ship. The same is happening for store employees. It's terrible. WAG used to care about it's employees. Now they care only about money.. money.. money. They work you to the bone and then cut back.. more and more.

Pay

Health insurance alone is ridiculous. No bonuses for the peones, but if we work hard enough our supervisors get a bonus for OUR good work.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 18, 2013
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - Apr 2013
Location
Smyrna, TN
Work Environment

Casual, creative, open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

I really love working here. Granted I just started... But so far so good. Minimum wage in my state is 7.25 an hour. I make 8.00 an this is my first job. I'm very thankful for this job because most kids my age (if even employed) are flipping burgers or car hopping.

My managers are really nice. And they are very understanding.

I work in Cosmetics and it's simple and doable. Not too complex. Its routine. It's the same thing every weekend. (Take down, put up) A monkey could do it.

Pay

Pros: Great work environment, great pay, great hours.
Cons: N/a

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 22, 2013
Position
certified pharmacy tech
Work Dates
Feb 2006 - Apr 2013
Location
Savannah, GA
Work Environment

Disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

Started working for this company when it was "the" pharmacy retail wise . They paid for me to be certified etc. Up until the past year thibhs were fine then one day out of the blue my hours began to cut. Now, every 2 weeks the company decides to do budget cuts instead of quarterly budget reviews . Since march 2013 every 2-3 weeks my hours have been slashed . Today I walked Into work and.Learned my hours are cut alll the way down to 8 hours a week. Another walgreens.in my area employs techs who are.not ptcb certified and in Georgia is NOT LEGAL to be un ptcb certified after 6 months of employment and these.employees have been there for years. I'm not in the so called " clique" in my district who get away with company policies of co-workers dating.other coworkers st the same store . In facta.store manager got one.of.his employees pregnant and he gets a promotio.n because the big wigs in Charleston don't.know about it . I've gone to my.boss whose a pharmacist but the people running the district could care less about the pharmacy and promoting their buddies who are NOT QUALIFIED for any management position . It's sad what has happenedto a.once respectable.company to work.for . If.your a. Ptcb certified tech looking.for a Job Walgreen is not a company.to work.for also.if your a. PharmD you are treated.like a slave and.have notech help .

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 24, 2013
Position
cosmetics/front
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - Apr 2013
Location
Okc, OK
Work Environment

Casual,

Review

I quit my last job at fast food to work for walgreens because the cosmetics mgmt wanted me there badly. I was getting 8 per hr there. After starting walgreens i was so happy, so much less stress. They where never able to tell me how much i was going to be paid. I figured that out myself from my first paycheck. 7.50. Getting 24 hours a week. Thats 360 before taxes. I am an adult, with a baby on the way and many bills to pay. This is a nightmare.

Pay

Pros..... less stress
cons..... with this pay ill be homeless in no time

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 2, 2013
Position
Photo tech
Work Dates
Sep 2011 - May 2013
Location
Lombard, IL
Review

The pay kind of sucks, yes. But I was promoted to an STL the second I hit a year. My manager has always worked perfectly with my schedule and has given me the best raises the company will allow. It's not a life long career unless you plan to move all the way up in the company, but its a great part time or second job. I would definitely sugguest working for Walgreens, its a great company.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 24, 2013
Position
service clerk
Work Dates
May 2013 - May 2013
Location
Orlando, FL
Review

Worked there for 6 years. Still a low pay. No future. No opportunity to move up even when you do your job perfectly

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 25, 2013
Position
Sfl
Work Dates
Jun 2005 - May 2013
Work Environment

Open-door,

Review

I have worked for Walgreens for 8 years I started out at $7.75 as a photo tech 2 years later I was promoted to sims coordinator by then I was at 9 an hour a few years later I became team lead and was at 11.75 these gaps in-between include my 25 10 cents I got each year I was here one year I'd get 50 cents one year maybe 25 or just 10 I got my last year raise last year put me at 12.01 an hour and I'm now shift lead I didn't get any raise for this pay stayed the same when I became stl I took on the role as an acting manager on duty and was only given $1 pay increase not knowing that a mgt was making 15 or more an hour I would of left then they screwed me I have been working so hard to become mgt so I could make more money as a single mom I need it but now its not going to happen as mgts are no more and I was told I scored to low on my last performance review to qualify for asmt which doesn't come with pay increase but gets me closer to asm so that I can make more i feel stuck I'm struggling to keep my home after takes and insurance I don't bring home much and my mortgage is half of it I don't qualify for any assistance bc I gross over the income limit but they don't count the nearly 300 I pay for health coverage Walgreens insurance sucks and deductible is to high I can't pay doc bills there's no extra cash so I have thousands in collections messing with my credit I feel depressed and sad I can't give my kids what they need I can barely feed them I want to go to school for Lpn and say **** Walgreens but I have to stay at full time to try and keep my home I have worked so hard for my kids deserve a home things got hard when both my kids were diagnosed with ADHD and every 3 months 2 doc apmts costing 200 on my part insurance pays 60 for both I don't have the 200 thus adding to my debt.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 28, 2013
Position
Photo Tec
Work Dates
May 2011 - May 2013
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Review

I love walgreens in special my 2 store and executive manager they always help me and try to do the best for all. We are more like a family but is so true is more money for management or pharmacy. That's why people move maybe to another job.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 28, 2013
Position
Photo Tec
Work Dates
May 2011 - May 2013
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Work Environment

Creative, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, flexible schedule,

Review

I love walgreens in special my 2 store and executive manager they always help me and try to do the best for all. We are more like a family but is so true is more money for management or pharmacy. That's why people move maybe to another job.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 29, 2013
Position
Senior Certified Pharmacy Tech
Work Dates
Oct 2005 - May 2013
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

Walgreens has always been good to me. I started working at Walgreens in October 2005... I left Kmart after being a pharmacy assistant with them for 3 years (and never passing $7.00/hour)... Walgreens hired me right off the bat (not yet certified) at $8.75... Pretty good in 2005. I got the results of the PTCB I took that September in November and got a nice raise up to $10.00... I then was promoted to senior tech in August of 2007... I can't remember exactly how much I made but I left Walgreens in November 2011 after finding work (still pharmacy related) at am insurance company. When I left, I was making $15.12/hour plus a senior tech bonus. The senior tech bonus has come and gone, but you have to remember the type of economy that exists today... When I wanted to come back part time, Walgreens welcomed me with open arms. Things may not seem as fair as they did years ago, and maybe sometimes it doesn't seem like it makes sense, but I have no doubt that Walgreens cares about me as an employee. I will always be proud to say I work for them.

Pay

Started at 8.75/hour, now making $15.21/hour. I briefly worked for CVS for 3 months (before trying to go back to Walgreens) and their salary was nowhere near comparable!!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 2, 2013
Position
asmt
Work Dates
Dec 2004 - Dec 2012
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, entrepreneurial, flexible schedule,

Review

Walgreens has been good to me, Work hard,do your job,show up everyday,treat customers well, work with honesty and respect for customers and co workers. There will be days or managers or customers that get on your nerves, get over it and do your job.

Pay

8.00 hr to 18.00 hr

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 2, 2013
Position
checkout clerk
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - Jul 2013
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, team-oriented, flexible schedule, unprofessional,

Review

Pros - I was hired, easy mindless tasks, good way to get experience to use to get a better paying long term job

Cons - Low pay, no raises, closing includes cleaning the bathrooms and emptying trash from outside, no reason to stay long term so no reason to invest personally or care all that much.

Pay

I started at min wage plus 25 cents. I am still there and have no idea if/when I could get a raise. I have no idea what I need to do to get a raise or be "promoted." I can communicate in 3 languages pretty well, but there is no extra pay so I only speak English at work. Vacation time is 0. Bonuses? You mean those nickles we get when someone buys a candy? We have a dress code but no uniform so we have to buy our own work clothes.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 5, 2013
Work Dates
Aug 2007 - Jul 2013
Location
Point Pleasant , NJ
Work Environment

Fast-paced, disorganized, political, high-pressure, bureaucratic, unprofessional,

Review

I hate Walgreens as a company but like most of the people I work with. I work harder than majority of the people I work with and get treated like crap. I had to drive my brother (who I was taking care of because he had just gotten out of the hospital do to a car accident) to the hospital because his stitches tore out of his head and he was bleeding all over and was written up for calling out later than i should have and am not able to be promoted to STL (non management manager... basically more work and significantly less pay than the old MGT position) because of it when I called out at 8:15 and the store doesn't open till 8 and with the severity of the situation AND the fact that I told the STORE MANAGER at the time that I was going to have to take care of my brother, I may be late some days and was given the OK by the STORE MANAGER I was still written up.
That to the side, my friend that I met at my store applied to be asmt and because corporate and the big wigs like to play favorites people who do not deserve the position (For instance a store managers gf who works at the same store as the store manager and is friends with the district manager) got the position.
In conclusion, if you want a job with crap pay, annoying W drama, get walked all over and treated like garbage Walgreens is the place for you.
Side note most of the non mgt employees I have met and dealt with are cool people but lazy

Pay

$8.5
$10.31

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 10, 2013
Position
Part-time beauty advisor
Work Dates
Sep 2012 - Jul 2013
Location
Touristy gulf beach area, FL
Work Environment

Open-door, conservative, fast-paced, high-pressure,

Review

Was looking for part time work, i have 20 years of retail experience. Took the job because my manager pointed out that the turn-over rate is low...5 employees have been here more than 10 years. The work is crazy hard, mostly because we are always understaffed. Corporate expects the store to run on 3 employees, not including Pharmacy. When someone calls out the workload doubles. Pharmacy runs on 2 employees at all times. If they are busy then the manager on duty or the photo tech has to run back there to help out. I have been there for one year now with no raise ($8/ hr). Our main cashier only earns $10.70/hr, even though she's been here for 20 years. Lower management positions start around $11, but floor people will always stay low. The health insurance is unaffordable. For a single person its around $160/ month which isn't too bad but a full-time cashier only brings home $1000 a month so they can't afford it if they live alone. For a family the premium jumps to around $700/month which is most of the cashier's pay! Day shift is crazy busy, evenings are more relaxed.

Pay

Pros....you can earn small commissions for sales (candy up front, beauty products in Cosmetics).
Cons....typical cons for any retail environment. Plus very small staff so more responsibilty than at a larger retailer.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 14, 2013
Position
Service Clerk
Work Dates
Apr 2013 - Jul 2013
Location
Clearwater, FL
Review

I just started here at 8 an hr. My Managers are all nice and so are my other employees, though all older than me. Work is not that bad and helping people in retail feels pretty nice, though I see some of my other co-workers are a little unapreciated a little bit, feel kind of bad. They dont play favourites and reat everybody the same.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 23, 2013
Position
Beauty Advisor soon to be Pharmacy Tech
Work Dates
May 2012 - Jul 2013
Location
Pueblo, CO
Review

I started over a year ago with a pay about 50 cents above min wage. After a couple months I got coded in Cosmetics and I absolutely love it. My coworkers are amazing and my managers were. They just recently flipped around the managers at all the store in my area. Not a fan of the new ones yet. Before the old ones left they asked me if I wanted to be in pharmacy. I really want more hours since they are cutting the hours like crazy so I accepted. They constantly tell me how good I am at my job ad how great of an asset I am to the team. I enjoy my job and feel very appreciated. The pharmacy techs are very welcoming to me but I was pretty friendly wit them anyway. Even the people who are in their own area of the store away from me are amazing to me. It's a great environment and much better than a large retail store. I love the small store feel. It does suck when someone calls out though. People who keep complaining about the company need to work at a different location. And if the boss reprimands you for bringing your concerns to him, call the 800 number. It's there for a reason and it's against company policy for him to punish you. He could get in serious trouble.

Pay

Pros- Great environment, great people to work with, flexible hours, room for advancement
Cons- If you have a family to support, not the best unless it's a 2nd job

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 24, 2013
Position
greeter
Work Dates
Sep 2009 - Aug 2013
Review

I been working walgreens for about 4 years now. Im a greeter and I started at $12.55 a hour im now at $14 a hour. Cool place to work at but it all depends on the store manager.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 30, 2013
Work Dates
Aug 2013 - Aug 2013
Review

I've only worked at walgreens for about 2 months, & already got a raise. Just depends on how you work and who you work for. Everyone in our store is full time. They don't hire part time, which is good because you work with the same group of people every day. And most of the people have been there for about 10 years, so it's nice to know that they don't fire people too often. I work on the floor and in pharmacy. It's a good job, and I don't see why people complain so much ab it.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 3, 2013
Position
Beauty Advisor
Work Dates
Sep 2013 - Oct 2013
Location
Amarillo, TX
Work Environment

Casual, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I worked at Walgreen 3 yr ago when I was 18 now I'm 21. Back then I worked as service clerk and only got paid $8.25 and was unappreciated. Now I work at a 24 hr one and work solely in cosmetics and I love it!!! My managers have 5 min meetings with us and hand out cards with things they appreciate or regonized us for, I currently get paid $8.25 an hr and work over 40hrs a week we have 6 workers on floor plus pharmacy and management so we r never understaff. I get flexible scheduling anytime and once a month our managers buy us lunch. Walgreens is great whatever they r doing now is working!

Pay

Awesome
Con work too many hrs
Pro get about $600 checks :-)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 2, 2014
Position
pharmacy technician
Work Dates
May 2003 - Mar 2014
Work Environment

Open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule, high-pressure, bureaucratic,

Review

Pros: There are a lot of good people working for this company; The stores are clean, organized, and mostly uniform; This company is on the leading edge of community pharmacy; Employee discount; They offer an "open door" policy instead of organized unions, and this tends to be sufficient for complaints or grievances.
Cons: This company's changed a lot over the past few years - the management structure now pays many under-trained people too little for titles like "shift lead" and "assistant store manager". Corporate emphasizes numeric data way more than human being wants and needs, leaving big gaps between the employee budget hours stores actually need to care for customers and what they receive. Also, paid time off is now accrued as time goes on, instead of given to you all at once. Lots of acronyms and other nonsense to memorize: BBBBLOL, the company's core strategies, RAISE, "Be Well".. each with their own points within points. Expect to memorize each one.

Pay

Current: 10.80/hr, opted into profit sharing

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 26, 2014
Position
pharmacy technician
Work Dates
Jun 2014 - Jun 2014
Location
Independence, MO
Work Environment

Casual, creative, team-oriented, fast-paced, flexible schedule,

Review

I work in the pharmacy, went to school to be a technician. I had a workbase site I interned at and they hired me on. Then I transferred home to Missouri from Chicago, well there I was going to make 10 and hour. this store I make 11 an hour I do not have my certification yet so just think I have decent pay and pretty good work hours

Pay

They paid for my license to be transferred to this state I got 11 an hour starting off and I have positive review right now, and doing very well.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 7, 2014
Position
Service Clerk
Work Dates
Jul 2014 - Jul 2014
Location
Chiacgo, IL
Review

Pros: Nice co-workers and a good manager. Not a bad place to work for your first job. I hope you don't plan to stay their for too long.

Cons: Bad pay, not good raises, make you work some holidays, if you work night, not much benefits even though they claim it's good, and yes again, bad pay! Not worth it if you plan to work their for more than two years

Pay

Starting $8.25 11 months later $8.25

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 12, 2014
Position
SFL
Work Dates
Jul 2012 - Jul 2014
Location
Madison, WI
Review

What a crime for a wealthy company like walgreens to create the SFL position - SFL's are expected to be managers & run the store doing 99% of the work starting at the high salary of $11/hour. It's insulting & degrading to call these hard-working staff "floor leads!" They are also on-call during non-business hours when a store alarm is triggered. My manager has their cell phone off so walgreens security ends up calling one of the SFL's to come in at 3 am, thanks so much walgreens! No wonder the interviewee for a SFL position walked out the other day when they heard what was expected of them for $11/hour.

The company is a great example of modern greed & fascism!

Pay

Good luck at this company!

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Sep 25, 2014
Position
photo,cos,floor and front register with
Work Dates
Jun 2014 - Sep 2014
Location
Kansas City, MO
Review

I started working there a few months ago for 7.50hr work my ass off work up to three departments a shift, im working 30 to 40 hrs a week, working hard gets you nowhere. Night shift gets you nowhere. I have 3 degrees and have.been in high end sales for years but doesnt matter do not even think of going to work here unless you want to be a slave.

Pay

7.50hr no raises in site

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 3, 2014
Work Dates
Aug 2014 - Dec 2013
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: hmm...uhhh...its money i guess?

Cons: Employees are talking behind everyone's back, laziness, inappropriate gestures, cussing, store is dirty, managers get upset when employees are slow and don't know how to do things......BECAUSE THEY "TEACH" YOU WEEKS AFTER YOU START!!!!!, conveniently tell you things about your pay after they hand you a check

Pay

Start-8.25
Currently-8.25

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 3, 2014
Work Dates
Aug 2014 - Dec 2013
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: hmm...uhhh...its money i guess?

Cons: Employees are talking behind everyone's back, laziness, inappropriate gestures, cussing, store is dirty, managers get upset when employees are slow and don't know how to do things......BECAUSE THEY "TEACH" YOU WEEKS AFTER YOU START!!!!!, conveniently tell you things about your pay after they hand you a check

Pay

Start-8.25
Currently-8.25

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 9, 2014
Position
CphT
Work Dates
Sep 2011 - Dec 2014
Location
Milwaukee, WI
Work Environment

Casual, creative, open-door, competitive, supportive, team-oriented, fast-paced, high-pressure,

Review

I scrolled through a lot of these reviews and they were mostly negative... Mostly complained about pay and upper management. Its Walgreens people it's not a career type workplace unless you are going for management or pharmacist so the pay isn't going to be that great. It's true though if you work for crappy managers or your DM is bad you probably won't get very far in the company. Overall Walgreens as a whole I hate the politics and always pushing to squeeze more money out of our customers but as far as my store goes I love it, I love most of the people and our management isn't that bad. I started out as a cashier at 7.50/hour, I worked my way up to photo after 3 months, got a dollar and a half raise, but I wanted to go farther so I worked my butt off and talked to management and before my one year mark I started working in the pharmacy and got another dollar raise 6 months later I got certified and earned yet another dollar raise (on top of my yearly raises) and now I am in training for senior tech. I have seen our store managers change hands 4 times as assistants at least 10. I have worked for all different people and still had every opportunity to move up.

Pay

Started 7.50 currently 11.25 in just three years with the company and on my way to senior tech with the company. Enrolled in profit sharing about 6 months ago and have about $400 in there.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Dec 24, 2014
Position
shift floor lead
Work Dates
Dec 2014 - Dec 2014
Review

I see so many negative comments about walgreens. I have worked at walgreens for almost a year and a half. We have a tiny store, and I absolutely love it. We are pretty much just a huge family. I guess it all depends on what store you work at though. My manager is amazing .. he makes working there enjoyable. I started off at 7.50 an hour, a month later got a raise to 8 an hour .. six months later got moved up to head photo specialist for 9.75 and then ab three months later got moved up to sfl for 11.50 then got another .25 cent raise. We get yearly raises and its a wonderful environment. As long as you do your job, you can always move up ..

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 1, 2015
Position
Manager
Work Dates
Dec 2014 - Feb 2015
Location
Houston, TX
Work Environment

Cut-throat,

Review

If they don't stop this, it's going to be Eckerd all over again lets see if Boots can save the mess the previous administration created.

Pay

I was making 18.75 per hour and their restructuring took 4.5 dollars per hour away from me. Not to mention employees that had been with the company for over 20 years. They suffered more.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Feb 18, 2015
Position
MGR
Work Dates
Mar 2010 - Feb 2015
Work Environment

Disorganized, unprofessional,

Review

When I started working at Walgreens, I was mostly in photo. I made $7.75 an hour. My manager was a great teacher, fair, and cared about his employees. Within a year, I was making $8.25 an hour. This was my second job, which provided additional income in a much better way than any other retail position. Then, the company started to change. They said they wanted us to be more of a "family." So, they wanted us to take on more responsibilities. That really meant they wanted us to just do more for no extra money. I started doing management jobs without the management pay. My manager started going out into the community more and leaving our store to suffer. His days went from 7:30-5 to 9-4. His salary increased while ours stayed the same.

Now, I'm at a new store. My manager comes late every day and leaves early every day. We are understaffed and lost management, but she refuses to do any extra to help our store. But, she complains about our store suffering. Now, another manager is leaving. We are stuck with the general manager and brand new manger who has no retail management experience. I think she will do a great job, but she's still learning and does't know how to handle situations yet. They are moving a great manager, because she discovered one of our SFL's stole money from the company. They general manager is upset, because this SFL was her pet. Now, she's punishing the assistant manager who actually does far more for the store than she is willing to do. The assistant has been working 6-7 days a week, while the general manager has not put in an extra hour. This store is a reflection on the company. If this is what's going to happen, I don't see myself staying much longer.

Pay

Pro- Good pay for starters. Great benefits if you plan to stay with the company long term.

Cons- High expectations for no pay increase. Forced to be open every day of the year and work all holidays.

Starting Pay: $7.75 (March 2010)
Current Pay: $15.00 (February 2015)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Mar 22, 2015
Work Dates
Dec 2009 - Dec 2014
Work Environment

Disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

I would advise people not to take this job. It is underpaid for all the duties required and the depot is very disorganized. Working here for a few years makes no difference for promotion, if you are liked you are promoted if not then, tough luck! There is never enough time to take a lunch or break because traveling time is not accounted for. The rotations and on call work leaves you answering calls for most of the day and nights on the road instead of with your family or getting any personal things done. Think twice!

Pay

Always getting home late.
Disorganized.
Supervisors talk to field techs like they are children or below them.
Store wiring is all messed up.
Working in the field becomes agitating when dealing with store employees.
Use of ladders to climb 10 feet or higher alone.
Going on roofs to install or repair satellites.


Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 1, 2015
Work Dates
Apr 2015 - Apr 2015
Review

Work x-years wages froze at $12 if I take a sol spot, I lose wages.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Apr 23, 2015
Position
Service Clerk
Work Dates
Mar 2012 - Apr 2015
Location
Schererville, IN
Work Environment

Casual, fast-paced, unprofessional,

Review

The job is horrible. Let me count the ways: Management treats you like a child even though you are older than most of them. Management favors certain workers over others and it's obvious because they get more hours and get all the days off they want. Management expects you to be a plumber and unclog toilets. When on the cash register, you call for assistance and nobody shows up. Management could care less that no other employees help out at the other cash register or that customers are waiting at the register. Managers take their sweet time to pick up cash from your cash drawer. Management is so cheap they won't get basic necessities for the store, like a vaccuum cleaner. Managers let employees talk and text on their phones on the floor. Managers let employees slack off and sit around and talk on the floor or in the office. Managers make you mop when the floor isn't even dirty. I don't mind mopping up a dirty floor, but mopping a clean floor is a waste of time. You are sent out in all kinds of weather (rain/snow, hot/cold) to get ice or propane for customers.
Hard work is not rewarded. Goofing off is rewarded. There is always something coming up that involves giving the store money, like wearing your favorite sports shirt day. Participation isn't mandatory but non-participation in these events is frowned upon. Walgreens sells cigarettes and alcohol, pretending to promote health. They make us suggestive sell candy, another unhealthy thing. Walgreens is almost always busy. There isn't much down time, so be prepared to be constantly doing something. Customers are the same as anywhere else. Many of them are rude and stupid. Thank goodness for the few decent ones who shop in the store. They can appreciate you more than management.
Management gives you a shift past 11:00 or 12:00 pm and expects you to be alert and working the next morning at 7:00 or 8:00 am. The scheduling manager schedules you for almost every single holiday. During the winter holiday season, you must work two out of three holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Day). The scheduling manager often doesn't have enough employees scheduled in the evening so you will be doing almost everything. This means doing the work of at least three people for little pay. Pay starts at not much more than minimum wage even though you have prior retail experience. This is a job only for the desperate or for kids who slack off and want money to do so.
I add: Even management can be treated poorly, with cuts in pay and demotions. Managers aren't told of a transfer until one day prior because corporate thinks they will slack off if they know ahead of time. This is not an environment built on trust. It's not a healthy, happy, or prosperous place for anybody.
All this negativity causes stress, depression, and anxiety. It's horrible to be in a job you hate. Anybody out there reading this, please think twice before applying to Walgreens.

Pay

The only good thing I can say is that they give PTO after your first year. Only a small raise of 20 cents.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
May 26, 2015
Position
Pharmacy Tech, every other position
Work Dates
May 2012 - May 2015
Location
Louisville, KY
Work Environment

Fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure,

Review

As a pharm tech, I watch several pharmacists make dangerous mistakes by placing the prescriptions of two individuals in one bag and closing the bag. After selling the prescriptions to a customer (we don't open bags at the counter) we are punished when the customer brings it back and brings it to the attention of our staff. We technicians are given a "star report" for violating HIPPA, when they are the ones that made the error. We techs are not permitted to check scripts, place them in bags or close bags. There is a lot of back biting that takes place there and I've witnessed the pharmacists make the jobs of those they don't like miserable in an effort to get them to leave. One of our pharmacist asked us directly to write down anything negative another pharmacist says, in an effort to get him to leave and this was done to a Sr. Tech. of over 10 years as well. Very vindictive mentality behind the counter. Also, if we are sick, we are to bring in a note from the physician, and we still get written up, yet a pharmacist is off for 5 days because of the flu, no note was produced and he was not reprimanded as we below him are.

Pay

My starting salary was 7.50 per hour and is now 9.50 per hour. In truth, it isn't worth the hassle. I requested part time due to medical issues and as a punishment, I was told I would be working all evenings and weekends and most holidays. I requested Memorial Day off to visit the grave of my husband (an active duty soldier who died in combat, and was denied) Yet, all of the young people got the day off. There are no bonuses, reimbursements or perks to mention.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jun 7, 2015
Position
Pharmacy Technician
Work Dates
Aug 2013 - May 2015
Location
Chicago, IL
Work Environment

Fast-paced, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Pros: Employee discount

Cons: Upper management doesn't care about employees; all they want is their end of the year bonus check. The raises are EXTREMELY LOW (25 cents if that sometimes) because of this; no matter how well of job you do what ever extra money they give you comes out of their check. They work you like crazy and treat you like crap just because the have authority. Also they try to make it seem like they care about the customers when they really don't. Numbers mean more to them than actual patient/customer care (don't let the commercials fool you). I understand no job is perfect but they really take advantage of their employees. They don't pay enough or give good a enough raise for the amount of stress they bring.

Pay

$10 starting
$10.74 (two years go by)

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jul 15, 2015
Position
manager
Work Dates
Apr 2010 - Jun 2015
Work Environment

Cut-throat, disorganized, high-pressure, unprofessional,

Review

Pros- Employees discounts-Good insurance
Cone-Work all holidays. Pay sucks. Store manager and other managers treat you like you are scum. Everyone is suppose to be a team but only if they like you and you suck up to them. Should like your job and enjoy it but that isn't the way it works.

Pay

Started as cashier for 7.50 hour moved up to manager downsized to shift lead and pay was cut.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 2, 2015
Position
Shift lead
Work Dates
Jun 2015 - Aug 2015
Location
Aliso Viejo, CA
Review

I use to like working here as a cashier but now I'm a shift lead it sucks. They put 16 hrs of work in an 8 hr day. There's just too much to do for 1 person. I can't balance the safe and have gotten a verbal and facing another verbal in 2 days. My blood pressure is going up. Every Sunday there's over 4,000 sale signs to put out and for what, the following Saturday you gotta take them down only to put more back up the next day.

Pay

Don't work here unless you like slavery work.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No