Wis International
Employer Reviews
Interview  
Oct 20, 2011
Position
Inventory Associate
Work Dates
Jan 2011 - Oct 2011
Location
North Richland Hills, TX
Work Environment

Strict, cut-throat, open-door, competitive, fast-paced, flexible schedule, high-pressure,

Review

At first, I loved working at WIS. The pay was decent, there was the option of benefits and the opportunity to grow in the company. We get to go to different locations and inventory all kinds of products. The problem is their goal counts for new employees. It took me months to finally get the appropriate counts that they wanted because of how they were training me. Honestly, if they were teaching me how they wanted things done consistantly and didn't put me on tags that were considered "hard" by even seasoned employees, it wouldn't have been so bad. I wasn't counting fast enough, so the number of jobs I was allowed on decreased. Now I barely make anything at all. While it's a great job with lots of awesome people and interesting experiences, the pay is terrible. I wouldn't suggest this to be anyone's singular source of income.

Pay

Starting pay is $7.75. If you have to help out after the inventory, the pay drops down to $7.25. You also make $7.25 every hour after the first hour you're on the company van, as well as every hour before the last hour on your way back. I don't know anything about vacation time, as far as I know there aren't any bonuses. You get 7-14 dollars for meal reimbursements for overnight trips. They also offer a menial health insurance plan, which is better than nothing.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Aug 9, 2012
Position
Inventory Associate
Work Dates
Apr 2012 - Aug 2012
Location
Nashville, TN
Review

They always short change you your paycheck. I would work 30 hours, but they only pay me for 20 hours. There is no time clock that you punch in and out, so there is no written proof of hours worked, just what they "say" you worked.

There is no formal training, you have to ask other coworkers what to do, from the first day on the job. This obviously pisses off your co workers because they are trying to do their job quickly.

Most of the jobs require you to work at 3 am, and the work is back breaking, a lot of bending and kneeling on the floor. It is physically taxing because you're doing this for 8 hours at 3 am in the morning, and a lot of times you only have 4 hours of time off between jobs.

This job is essentially a joke, slave labor at it's worst.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Jan 12, 2013
Position
Inventory Counter
Work Dates
Jan 2013 - Jan 2013
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Review

Its an excellent job. I get to pick how many hours i want to work, which jobs i want to go to, and its such an easy job, training was almost not needed for me. My coworkers are awesome, the managers are great. This is an excellent job. And its obviously not for everybody. If people knew how to count decent, they would love the job too.

Pay

When i started my first four hours in store were $7.25. After that it went up to $9.00 an hour, if i do a good job, the pay goes up even more. And if we travel the first hour up and pack are unpaid, but the rest is 7.25 an hour, just for riding in the company vehicle. In just 2 days i was able to put in a total of 30 hours. Like i said though, its obviously not for everybody. But if your a hard worker, and love getting paid, this job is for you. If your not a hard worker, safe yourself the time and just get on at a store or something.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No
Oct 28, 2014
Position
inventory associate
Work Dates
Sep 2013 - Oct 2014
Location
Winston salem, AL
Work Environment

Casual, open-door, fast-paced, unprofessional,

Review

Pros. you get to travel alot. there turn over rate is hideous so you meet alot of new people. ate office does raise opportunity every 6 months. most of the people are tolerable to nice. cons. the screw you out of your raise every 6 months. traveling so far gets old quick. the management is far more then a joke. whwhen u ride in a cramped van with 15 other people u regret it. my advice would be clean tolites if you can find any thing else beg dont go wis it wont last and you will hate it with a passion. 15 hr days with ride time you get paid for 9 of them.

Was this Review Helpful? Yes / No